Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book
A really good book, intelligently written, nicely plotted with enough twists and good characters to keep you moving through it. perfect for a rainy afternoon. BUT I REALLY recommend that you read 'Those who serve' first. Two characters from that are continued in this one and while it won't spoil this one if you read without having read the first - it will spoil the first...
Published on 6 Dec. 2000 by L. Day

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old,same old
The first book I read of Marcia Willet was fine-I could suspend disbelief for a couple of hours at least.Howver having read more of her novels,by the time I got to Thea's Parrot,I could have written the characters and plot myself.Take some jolly nice naval officers who live away,giving opportunity for affairs, then add a pinch of nice,well meaning women who all live in...
Published on 1 Nov. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 6 Dec. 2000
By 
L. Day "Bookworm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
A really good book, intelligently written, nicely plotted with enough twists and good characters to keep you moving through it. perfect for a rainy afternoon. BUT I REALLY recommend that you read 'Those who serve' first. Two characters from that are continued in this one and while it won't spoil this one if you read without having read the first - it will spoil the first one if you try and read it later after this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Rosamunde Pilcher, 11 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
Although it can stand as a story by itself, this novel is best read as a follow up to "Those who Serve". Characters from the previous novel join some great new ones to tie up a few loose ends which had been left dangling before. The story flows well, although sometimes a great number of years can pass without the reader knowing it, which can make the storyline seem a bit thin in places.
Despite this, it's still a marvellous story and the characters grow to seem like real friends. I was quite sorry to come to the end of the book and look forward to reading her next novel.
If you like Rosamunde Pilcher, you'll probably find Marcia Willett's books less coincidental and convenient, with much more realistic characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and unexpected, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
This was the first book I had read in a while. Throughly Fantastic. The twists and turns were remarkable, however, never confusing. When the book finished I was left wanting more. Extremely easy to read with a wonderful yet simple storyline. How so much was packed into one book amazed me. I had never heard of this author and fancied a change however I shall now seek out their work. It was throughly enjoyable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same old,same old, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
The first book I read of Marcia Willet was fine-I could suspend disbelief for a couple of hours at least.Howver having read more of her novels,by the time I got to Thea's Parrot,I could have written the characters and plot myself.Take some jolly nice naval officers who live away,giving opportunity for affairs, then add a pinch of nice,well meaning women who all live in Devon longhouses or Georgian splendour and stir.Every character is one dimensional,so although the author tells us about their affars or grief or jealousy,it's difficult to empathise .The plot is predictable.As in all her novels, the men fall in love with the nice women immediately and "all's well that ends well".
Read any one of her books then leave the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very gentle read, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
It's inevitable that Marcia Willett should be compared with Rosamund Pilcher and they do share the same genre, yet MW has a style and insight of her own. Poignant at times yet the outcome is satisfying. This is a book to read when you want something undemanding, not too light, but satisfying. It is not chick lit. Her characters are typically MC, many appear in several of her stories and this is comforting to pick them up again in a new context. The style of prose is worthy, nothing coarse, heaven forfend,and there is a definite plot. MW does not aim to shock but to soothe and she achieves this wonderfully well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Paperback)
Thea inherits a parrot who helps her become more independent. George falls in love. Minor characters from the previous novel by this author are included, which is a little confusing for someone who hasn’t read it, but enjoyable for those who have. Good character studies on the whole, and clever plotting.

Previously read in 2000 but mostly forgotten, other than one or two rather dramatic parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book twice now and enjoyed it. I was given Thea's Parrot as part of a set of books by Marcia Willett, I think there were six in all, which follows the lives of several characters and this book starts the series. I have read all six books twice now and are well written. There is also a book called "A Week in Winter", and one called "Second Chance", which stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Kindle Edition)
Delighted with this, its one I couldn't find at the library & a lovely good feeling read.. Cracking price, good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing title., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Kindle Edition)
I have read many books by this author and as always she always delivers a very good novel.
Easy reading but no less enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thea's Parrot (Kindle Edition)
A really good read, could not put it down, depicting a time when family values were important and had their own rewards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thea's Parrot
Thea's Parrot by Marcia Willett (Paperback - 7 Dec. 1995)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews