Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly intense, exciting thriller.It lives up to the title.
This book is a great success! It begins with the murder of the heroine's best friend and family, only she was not found, and is left alive. On a strange whim she hides in the back of the killer's portable home, and things quickly hot up. As always Koontz's killer is intricate and complex.His thoughts leave you chilled, and although when summed up the plot appears...
Published on 13 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum!
Well, first I will say that I did enjoy the book. It was a compelling read. However, I have to agree with some other reviewers that it needs cutting.

There is a scene in which our heroine is trying to free herself from being chained to a table and it goes on for 50 pages. Very poor and just plain dull. Also, there are some major points of implausibility...
Published on 7 April 2012 by worldofjimbob


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly intense, exciting thriller.It lives up to the title., 13 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Intensity (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a great success! It begins with the murder of the heroine's best friend and family, only she was not found, and is left alive. On a strange whim she hides in the back of the killer's portable home, and things quickly hot up. As always Koontz's killer is intricate and complex.His thoughts leave you chilled, and although when summed up the plot appears farfetched, when read you can't help but believe it. The many twists leave you amazed at koontz's sheer genius! The ending is especially poignant, but I didn't know whether to feel happy or sad. A real thriller, and a fantasic read. You really enter the head of the insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 8 Sep 2006
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
This is by far one of Koontz' best best books! It is very intense, fast-paced and exciting. The action starts only about 15 pages into the book and doesn't let up until the very end. It has an origional storyline of the main charactor, Chyna (pronounced like the country), being trapped in a motor-home with a serial killer. She is trapped with him from the majority of the book and it is actually quite scary in places which is unusual for a Koontz book.

A good fast-paced read for any fans of Koontz or of the thriller genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for long journeys, 17 July 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
This was the first Dean Koontz novel I ever read. He writes with style and imagination, and he maintains an electrifying emotional and narrative pace throughout the book: this is page-turning fiction at its dynamic best.
Is this a thriller or is this horror? It was filmed in the USA as a fairly bland thriller which stayed close to the book in most of its aspects. It has, however, recently been transformed into an excellent French horror film, "Haute Tension" ('High Tension' in the States, 'Switchblade Romance' in the UK), which had added a whole new dimension to the tale, albeit diverging somewhat from the book towards the end.
A young woman is unwilling witness to the slaughter of her friend's family and pursues the murderer by stowing away in the man's mobile home. Koontz manages the story, which is basically one of hide-and-seek, with professional exactitude. He knows every inch of the settings he uses, has worked out to the precise second whether someone could hide here, move there, hide there, move again.
It is a very well handled novel, both from the perspective of his narrative story-telling skill and from that of the artistry of resolving a plot. It's a big enough book, but its subject is claustrophobic - escape in tight spaces and close quarters. Well handled, tense, gripping, and an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything comes to him who waits....................................., 29 Nov 2009
By 
R. Faulkner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
I simply can not agree with those reviewers who give this novel five stars whilst saying it is "fast paced" because if it is anything, it is most definitely NOT fast paced. You have to wait for it. God, do you have to wait. Too long I'm afraid...I mean, from page 70 to around page 210 you could cut two thirds of Koontz' narrative without losing one shred of the story or the tension or the "Intensity" of the plot. I've said this before of Koontz...he has verbal diaorrhea when it comes to describing the background, the weather, the setting, the character's clothes, whilst all the time his readers are tearing their hair out and shouting at the printed page: "For God's sake, Dean, GET ON WITH IT!!!!!"
Honestly, I was driven to distraction during those pages, almost throwing the damn book away in utter frustration, because I wanted to know what happened, and he simply wouldn't tell me.
Why then, have I given him four stars, and why would I recommend this novel to anyone over the age of 16 as an absolutely compulsory read?
Because it is absolutely brilliant, that's why.
Absolutely, utterly brilliant.
Oh yes, you have to wait for it, and if I was to recommend this to someone unfamiliar with Koontz' style, I would suggest simply scanning pages 70 to 210 to get the drift, because I couldn't possibly expect anyone to plough through that quagmire of narrative self-flagelation and stay sane. Dean, this book should have been 369 pages long, not 469. Why did you make us suffer so much? But you just have to read it. I can't tell you how much, because the depth and length and breadth and height of the tension he creates is quite mind-boggling, once you get there.
As I said, quite brilliant.
Too long, but brilliant.
And worth the wait.
Oh yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mind-boggling!!, 30 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
I was reccomended this book by a friend as I needed a book for my flight to Florida which was on the Saturday. She gave the book to me on the Monday however by the Thursday I had finished it leaving me with not only no book to read on my hols it also left me with a blood-curdling chill that I certainly will not forget in a hurry. How many authors do you know who "get in there" from page 1. Well this book is exactly like that and believe me when I say there is no way you will leave this book half unread as I'm sure so many people do with other books. An excellent book where you cannot wait to turn the page to see what will happen next but at the same time do not want the book to ever end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all! Deeply intense!, 11 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
This is definetly a Koontz book that shouldn't be missed!
This was the third Koontz book I read and I must say that only two of his many terrifying and blood-curdling book's have surpassed it ('Fear Nothing' and it's sequel 'Seize the Night').
This book tells the story of a brave and powerful young woman (Chyna Shepherd) who confronts an evil psychopath and goes head to head with him in a battle of good versus plain old insanity! This book has a powerful beginning and a heart-wrenching and even more powerful ending.
This book is one of the many must reads from Mr Koontz and what could've been a too cliched storyline turned out to be very original and very thought-provoking.
This book is very compelling and disturbing and should not be missed.
If you are a Koontz fan, then you should definetly not pass up the oppitunity to read this book a first, second, third,.... etc. time! Very excellent stuff!
Another one of those original horror classic's from Mr Koontz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from beginning to end, 12 Aug 2007
By 
M. Spicer "honda-mel" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
A really fast paced gripping read. I love Dean Koontz and this is him at his best. Highly recommended for any Koontz fan and if you've never read a Koontz book before, beware as this book might get you hooked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing., 5 May 2002
By 
GemmaA (Lawrenceville, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
I've read many of Koontz's novels, but this book is by far his best. Staying away from his usual theme of the supernatural, this book touches something far more eerie; the human psyche and how this motivates and dictates our actions.
I read this weighty novel in just over 24 hrs, quite a feat, only because I could not put it down.
Usually when a heroine ends up tracking a killer you feel the need to snort with a derisory 'as if', but in Intensity you can understand Chyna's need to follow this twisted and ultimately insane individual.
Intoxicating, and superbly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nervey, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
This for me is by far the best Koontz read since the heady days of Lightning and Midnight.It has all the nerve twisting you need and cracking pace from page one to the final showdown after an intense stunning frantic 500 pages. The author is by far the best of the current horror writers at building the tempo and suspense without getting bogged down. Stephen King and others like to give you too much character background and plot which tends to dampen the said pace and tension.
The brief backbone of this gripping tale centers around two characters. One is Laura Templeton,a young bronzed Californian girl who witnesses the savage murder of her friend and family whilst holidying in their ranch in the hills. After the traumatic killing the girl makes a brave and life changing decision to hideaway in the killers mobile home to make sure that she cant commit this atrocity ever again.
Edgar Vess is the killer and other main player in the book from start to finish as the two pit their wits, seen and unseen. She witnesses early on in the pursuit whilst closeted in the back of the metallic van the evil that runs through the veins of this cold-blooded killer. This strengthens her will more and more to stop the serial killer as the two race across America from coast to coast.
The reasons why she didn't call the police early on are neatly explained and of course ad to the tease of this excellent book the unfolds like. Just as plot-busting mobile phones (He's behind you) are not allowed in modern day Hollywood, police very rarely featurein Koontz books. This book also has a clever twist in that department and not until the end do you understand why the authorities are not coming to stop the murdering Edgler Vess, and why he had been allowed to continue the cull of Americans so young and old.
It's a roller coaster all the way through and you will miss a breath for every heart beat as the static electricity in the writing builds and builds. A lot of Koontz books stay with two factions who are pitted against each other early on. In this case there are only two enemies and the author does brilliantly to keep up the action. Get it now if you want to be taken to the edge, its an ideal taste of Americas biggest selling horror suspense writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about a non-stop rollercoaster ride to hell!, 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Intensity (Paperback)
This book compares to the best rollercoaster you've ever been on. Koontz builds the tension up until you can't stand it anymore then suddenly pushes you over the edge so you feel like you're doing 200mph on a vertical track straight down into the mind of a psycho, then you discover there's no brakes! Definitely white knuckle stuff with a brilliant twist at the end. One of my Favourite Koontz books. The Master of Horror at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intensity
Intensity by Dean Koontz (Paperback - 10 Oct 1996)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews