Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best travel book ever?
In April of 2007, I spent a fortnight in the UK, including a week in Scotland. The best part of the vacation was three days spent on Islay, which is a gorgeous island with great whisky and a rich history. I've never been a big fan of travel books, but luckily stumbled on Jefford's study of Islay and read it cover to cover. Jefford is a terrific writer and researcher,...
Published on 27 July 2008 by Jeff Frane

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
making people write long reviews on ggod they receive is in my opinion expecting a lot. surely just a simple word comment is enough??
Published 18 months ago by Ms. Julie A. Renyard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best travel book ever?, 27 July 2008
By 
Jeff Frane "jefffrane" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
In April of 2007, I spent a fortnight in the UK, including a week in Scotland. The best part of the vacation was three days spent on Islay, which is a gorgeous island with great whisky and a rich history. I've never been a big fan of travel books, but luckily stumbled on Jefford's study of Islay and read it cover to cover. Jefford is a terrific writer and researcher, weaving the geology, history and culture of the island in the warp of beautifully-sourced studies of each of the island's distilleries. It's simply a terrific book that anyone traveling to Islay (or wishing to) should read before their trip. Oh, and Islay is a fantastic place to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel to Scotland without leaving your chair!, 27 Nov 2005
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
As a single malt enthusiast and someone who spent every school holiday in Scotland as a child, I was pleasantly surprised to find a whisky book that wasn't just a list ot tasting notes but gave some insight into the history and environments of the distilleries, and goes some way to show how each whisky can have such individual characteristics though all be made from malted barley.
This book (accompanied by a dram or three of the whiskies described therein!) somehow manages to transport the reader to Islay and its distilleries from the comfort of your cosy armchair, perfect for a reading buy the fire on a winters day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable when travelling to Islay, 11 April 2008
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
I bought the book, because I plan to go to the island in a few months.
Of course you try to educate yourself about the place you go to.
I've seldom come across a book that touches all sides of the "Queen" of the Hebrides : History, weather, people, landscape and above all the whiskies.
Very knowledgeable about the distilleries (how did he get those inside stories)?
I think I'm better prepared now to travel to Islay. A truly wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get me to Islay...now!, 25 July 2005
By 
Frankie (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
What an absolute joy to read! From the opening chapter, as the author takes us flying from Glasgow to Islay, you feel that you are going to be in inspiring and enthusiastic company. Surely this is what travel writing should be all about?
At all levels the book is satisfying, whether or not you are a whisky fan or a Hebridean island traveller. Being both, I was predisposed to enjoy the book, though was surprised at just how much I did.
Andrew has an engaging and obvious enthusiasm for this unique island, which comes across on nearly every page. Each of Islay's seven current distilleries are dedicated a chapter each, but the book is much more than whisky. History, nature, peat, shipwrecks and even the weather are discussed and enthused over, with such relish that I even found myself (absurdly) becoming nostalgic for those notorious wet, grey Scottish seasons.
His research has been excellent. As well as fascinating and informative, it is often amusing and quite touching. The book would surely inspire even an ardent teetotaller to have at least a taste at the various Islay malts; and inspire any rain- soaked visitors to give this beautiful Scottish island another chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it over and over, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
This book has benn on the desk next to my bed since I got it a year ago. A fantastic presentation of Islay, the history both of the island and of each one of the distilleries and of Whisky i general. I have learned a lot about the poduction process, what influence on the nose and the taste, and what several well known personalities feel about Islay Whisky.

Good buy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Memorable Book about Islay and whisky, 18 May 2011
By 
Jonathan D. Stubbs "JStubbs.com" (LuleŚ, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
Whisky aficionados who enjoy reading about the beverage they are consuming may want to consider adding this work to their library. Why?

For starters, author Andrew Jefford offers some good background information about whisky distillation. His description of wash and spirit still design is relatively brief yet quite informative. I learned more with his words than from many of the other, more expensive, books in my library. While knowing the ingredients and brewing process is pretty basic, the narrative is interesting and refreshing. Then, he covers distillation in a way that other whisky writers just don't quite match.

Turning to the core of the book - about Islay. Quite impressive! He's sandwiched descriptions of each distillery in between background material about Islay. About as close as one can get without actually going!

The descriptions of each distillery were quite thorough with both history and information on the style used by each. Jefford helps the reader to understand that whisky is an art rather than science. There is so much that we don't understand about what goes into a memorable whisky - and Jefford helps us to understand why through his descriptions of each operation. The water is often cited by distillers - not necessarily according to what he writes. The amount of peat, the grain and so on all may or may not be a factor and this book gives a good feel for that reality. At the end of each distillery's chapter is a list of hard facts - quite useful when making comparisons or considering whether to purchase a particular whisky. Also interesting is that he is able to be critical about a distillery without being negative - if the reader isn't reflective some good points might even be overlooked.

The chapters about Islay's people, history and geography are valuable - whether one does or doesn't visit this unique part of Scotland.

My greatest complaint is the book's lack of a detailed map or maps. Fortunately, my copy of the Islay Ordnance Survey map (#60) made up for that lack. Without the detailed ordnance map the oh-so-many different places that Jefford mentions/describes can get jumbled in the mind. I recommend having a copy of the ordnance map if you like detail.

One last thought, I usually inhale books at the rate of several a week. It was impossible with this one - it took me about three weeks to get through "Peat Smoke and Spirit". I didn't mind and never felt like giving up. It was just that there is so much to digest. I'm not complaining - to me that's the sign of an excellent work. I must confess that I skipped over some of his vocabulary - usually I run to my dictionaries. He seems to be using colloquialisms that have yet to find their way into dictionaries - well, ok - that's his style.

So thank you very much Andrew Jefford, you've brought me almost as much pleasure as has a glass of Ardbeg distilled in the `60s! I recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Insight Into The World Of Whisky, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
This book is a real mine of information for all those interested in Islay and Islay Whiskies. The image on the front cover is from the Number 1 vaults at Bowmore ([...]) looking over Loch Indaal to Bruichladdich both fine Malts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is in here, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Wim Jacobs "ishpuini" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
Do you love Islay whisky and want to know more about the distilleries and the context of the island? This is the book to read. A lot of information, well researched with lots of details, so not a quick read. Good thing it's very well written.

Every distillery open at the time of writing is reviewed in detail. The chapters on the distilleries are intersected with chapters on all others aspects of the island, making for anything but a monotonous reading experience.

I read the book after a two day visit to Islay, visiting 4 distilleries in that short time. It felt like repeating the visit but staying much longer. After the last page I felt I knew the place like home...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for friend, 9 Mar 2013
By 
S. MOORE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
Bought as present for friend who is going to Islay this summer. She is very happy says it is a good read and very informative. Will be trying a few drams out when she gets there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY MALT WHISKY DRINKER, 19 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies (Paperback)
I bought this book for my HUsband as part of his Christmas and as we had been to Islay last year and visited all the distilleries there he thoroughly enjoyed reading a more indepth look at them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies
Peat Smoke and Spirit: A Portrait of Islay and Its Whiskies by Andrew Jefford (Paperback - 6 Jun 2005)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews