Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2002
Everyone remembers Vinnie Jones as the lad squezing Gazza's gibblets, however his autobiography shines a light on the tough past of one of England's brightest stars. Taking account his humble origins and traveling just prior to the filming of "Mean Machine," Vinnie: My Life is an insightful read that contains all of Vinnie's humor and emotion. Besides being a striking book, Vinnie's ability to narrate his life is remarkably brilliant. A very fluid read from beginning to end, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
This book is so good for so many reason. Funny, true, moving and "its been emotional". It describes Jones' childhood through his painful eyes up to the point where he starts his film career. It is very honest about a lot of things and it made me respect Jones as a person and as a player. If you dont like football you should consider reading it as Jones has to overcome a lot of hurdles in his life and he was still portrayed as a monster by the media, which is unjust, he is just a man trying to make the most of a life that was a bit cruel. He's a sensitive man as well which may suprise a lot of people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2001
The more I read this book, the more tears comes out of my eyes. The author describes his childhood and professional career in a vividly, emotional,triumphing detail. He demystifies the exaggerated image that the media has put upon him when he was a professional soccer player. He's only human. If others were in his predicament, they would have the same reaction. It's an entertainingly humorous book to read. I pick up this book and don't want to put it down. I have not finish reading this book and already I can't wait for his next book...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
From a broken home right through to Hollywood,this book offers a great insight into what the boy Jones is all about.

Jones pulls no punches and tells it as it is and you can really feel the pain he suffered from his parents divorce,his determination to succeed in whatever he set out to do,the elation of winning the F.A Cup in 1988,so well written it felt like you were there with him,his upset at his constant bad press finishing with him swapping the football pitch for the big screen.

Jones has always tried to keep his feet on the floor and still keeps in touch with all his mates from Bedmond,although he does like to remind you of how well he has done,how much he has earned and how many famous friends he has.

All in all,a very good read about a tough nut with a soft centre,someone that if you were in the trenches,you would want right alongside you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
Everyone remembers Vinnie Jones as the lad squezing Gazza's gibblets, however his autobiography shines a light on the tough past of one of England's brightest stars. Taking account his humble origins and traveling just prior to the filming of "Mean Machine," Vinnie: My Life is an insightful read that contains all of Vinnie's humor and emotion. Besides being a striking book, Vinnie's ability to narrate his life is remarkably brilliant. A very fluid read from beginning to end, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2000
A back street boy from a broken home, a hod-carrier who became the Captain Of Wales, a loving husband who has experienced more tears than laughs. The countryman who became a film star (see lock stock and two smoking barrels also 10/10) and a book where he has no fear of expressing himself. Vinnis Jones may come accross as a hard man but after reading this book, your views will change forever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2000
Here soccers hardest man will give you insight in what it means to be a footballer. What it means, emotionally and more, to be redcarded and then to be given abuse from all angels. And belive me when I say after reading this you'll thing twice before, again, constanly give abuse to anybody. It's a really good read for all us football fans out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This is one if not the best autobiographies that I have ever read! The emotions running through it are amazing. What you saw on the football pitch is only a fraction of what the man really is! He really opens his whole sole for everyone to see. If you only ever read one autobiography make it this one it really is amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Interesting about the Crazy Gang. I now know why he likes countryside pursuits eg shooting and fishing. A legend at Wimbledon FC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2005
this book is amazing! i could not put it down! vinnie has had an amazing life! get this book now!!!!
Georgie 13
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.