Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2002
A great book about the murder of a nurse colleague of Hester in the Crimean War. The suspense is kept until we know the terrible end. The murderer is above suspicion and the motive once again is related to the apparently innate hypocritical nature of victorian society. The drama of women's lives, poor or rich, and the cruel indifference towards their plight makes this book an extremely moving and powerful indictment perhaps even for our day.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I am about half way through this novel. It is fascinating at the historical level. I am learning more about the experiences of Florence Nightingale's nurses, about nursing in England at the time, and about how society continues to operate with stringent strictures between social classes. As well, the crime is interesting and, at this point, seems to have no solution. I like that. Anne Perry writes well and I recommend this novel both as a William Monk story and as good historical crime fiction.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Really enjoyed this book. I don't know how this author never figured in my personal library before, but so far I am enjoying all of her books. She writes very well and creates great images of your imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
I've got quite addicted to these stories, and wondering when eventually Monk and Hester admit they are perfect for each other. I have to keep reading till then, at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
A very enjoyable book. The plot and characters were constructed with thought and intelligence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Intriguing murder mystery in a bygone era, which captivates the reader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Another excellent Ann Perry book, awaiting the next, love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
Monk and Hester investigate when a nurse is strangled at the local hospital.

A boring read. The book rambles in places while in others fairly gallops to the next part. Perry has developed a knack for overstatement and also for writing some very clunky prose which continually slows down the characters. The murder mystery is also a mess. Hester conveniently forgets a conversation which throws a different light on the investigation and pursues a line which she must know is untrue but this discrepancy is never explained. Perhaps Perry herself forgot she'd written that section or hoped the reader wouldn't notice.

I felt slightly insulted by this book. There's a hastiness to the whole thing, a good edit would have helped. Perry has nothing new to say about either her characters or the situations they find themselves in.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Excellent as a,ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Enjoyed it very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.