Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in a quiet English village
This is the second in the series of Mitchell and Markby Village Whodunnits - the first, Say It With Poison, was a good murder mystery and an enjoyable read.

In this book, Meredith Mitchell has received a Foreign Service posting at home, and has rented a relative's cottage in a place called "Pook's Common" while she is posted in Britain. While there, she meets...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Keen Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Agatha Christie-ish who-dunnit
This is the second in the Mitchell & Markby novels and I'm sure they improved as time went on. The first two were quite basic (a lot of the writing seemed to be written by a school-girl) and actually had very little plot. The author's heroines seem to be marked by an incredible indecisiveness about their relationships.

Having said that, they were pleasant...
Published on 25 July 2010 by Mr. Leonard F. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Agatha Christie-ish who-dunnit, 25 July 2010
By 
Mr. Leonard F. Clark "Len CLark" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) (Paperback)
This is the second in the Mitchell & Markby novels and I'm sure they improved as time went on. The first two were quite basic (a lot of the writing seemed to be written by a school-girl) and actually had very little plot. The author's heroines seem to be marked by an incredible indecisiveness about their relationships.

Having said that, they were pleasant enough reads and 3 stars may be a bit harsh (but I was worried that 4 would imply it was better than I thought it was).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in a quiet English village, 21 July 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) (Paperback)
This is the second in the series of Mitchell and Markby Village Whodunnits - the first, Say It With Poison, was a good murder mystery and an enjoyable read.

In this book, Meredith Mitchell has received a Foreign Service posting at home, and has rented a relative's cottage in a place called "Pook's Common" while she is posted in Britain. While there, she meets up with some of the local residents, and there is a terrible tragedy at the Boxing Day Hunt. Or is it an accident? Are some of the residents hiding something? Or is there all something they're missing? Meredith meets up again with Inspector Alan Markby, and their `relationship' seems to be going nowhere; Meredith values her independence and isn't sure of Markby's intentions; Markby is dedicated to his work.

These are great stories; I like the way that we see the action in the story not just from Meredith and Alan's perspective, but from the perspective of others in the book; some fleeting, some integral to the story. It allows the reader to really get `inside' the story, and to see motivation and action from many angles. The writing is witty and engaging, the characters are well rounded and the reader is left wanting to know more about what might happen in the future to them; at least we get to read more of Meredith and Alan in their next mystery story. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story with plenty of twists and turns. Really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another engrossing and well-plotted story, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) (Paperback)
It's a few weeks since I read it so the details of the plot have been forgotten, but the books in this series have all been interesting and well written. Good, reliable whodunnit stuff. It would have had 5 stars if the actual Headline copy hadn't been so tiny and cheap-looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good Ann Grainger book, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) (Paperback)
Love Ann Grainger books, this one is terrific, but have not finished it yet (lots of other books to read!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loved it loved it loved it, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes murder mysteries. Got to say I loved this read. Love ann granger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of my favourites, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read Mitchell and Markby books in the past and although they are easy reads have found the pace to be good. This one, perhaps because it's an earlier offering, was very drawn out and plodding. And the 'will they, won't they' of the two protagonists' relationship became quite tedious! Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first book I had read from this author and I found it really addictive. A really good tale. Very cleverly woven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold charmer, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) (Paperback)
The whole of the Mitchell and Markby series is worthy. Cotswold-central and with the relationship of Mitchell and Markby all important AG packs a very good story of murder amidst the gentle scenery of such a wonderful part of England. Yes they are formulaic but there's little wrong with that when they are such a satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recently discovered the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger. Now avidly acquiring all in series. The interplay between Mitchell and Markby and the clashes and stresses of their own lives nicely balance the intelligent plots. Would recommend to any who like the classic English detective story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit)
A Season for Murder (A Mitchell & Markby Village Whodunnit) by Ann Granger (Paperback - 6 Feb 1992)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews