Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orthodox Jewish culture mixed with murder in L.A
This was the first Faye Kellerman book that i have read and have already rushed out and bought 3 more. She writes with the easiest of style and devolpes wonderful characters in Decker and his fiancee Rina.
The case he investigates in this book about multiple murders on a honey farm does not dominate the book but adds an fascinating backdrop to getting to know Decker...
Published on 26 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An average story line with a hard to follow mix of characters.
This is my first Kellerman book and will probably be my last.

It wasnt amazingly bad but it certainly wasnt anything special either. The characters are slightly boring, especially the lead character: Decker. I found I could care less about him coming to terms with becoming an orthadox Jew, if i wanted a book telling me about every single part of a day in the...
Published on 4 May 2008 by molko


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orthodox Jewish culture mixed with murder in L.A, 26 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
This was the first Faye Kellerman book that i have read and have already rushed out and bought 3 more. She writes with the easiest of style and devolpes wonderful characters in Decker and his fiancee Rina.
The case he investigates in this book about multiple murders on a honey farm does not dominate the book but adds an fascinating backdrop to getting to know Decker and his relationship with Rina. Kellerman also gets the relationship between Decker and his partner Marge just right.
Decker is an amicable detective who has converted to the Orthodox Jewish religion and how he handles this coupled with modern day detective work in L.A makes for perfect reading !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Toddler Leads To A Gruesome Discovery & Investigation, 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
Milk and Honey," the third in the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus novels, proves to be as good a read as "Day of Atonement," my first venture into Faye Kellerman's excellent mystery/sleuth series. This is a stand-alone novel, and one can easily get to know the cast of characters and their history without having read the prior books. Ms. Kellerman's Decker/Lazarus novels are a terrific change of pace from my usual fiction reading. Although these have their share of violence, gruesomeness and unsavory individuals, the ethnic/cultural aspect of the stories and the sheer humanity of the characters are refreshing.
Peter Decker, a detective with the Los Angeles police, is still courting Rina Lazarus, an Orthodoz Jewish widow and the mother of two small sons. Raised a Baptist, Peter is studying with Rabbi Aaron Schulman to become a Jew, but at times has doubts about the course he has chosen. He and Rina are very much in love. Apart from her beauty, outside and in, Decker is drawn to her total lack of guile. Rina, who in no way wants to pressure him, needs to find out how committed her finance is to their relationship and to becoming an observant religious man. She has taken her boys back east, to visit with her ex in-laws in Brooklyn.
Late one night, thinking of Rina thousands of miles away, Peter is unable to sleep and takes a drive into the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains. He finds an adorable toddler wandering around by herself in the early morning hours. After checking with people in the near-by housing complex, he determines the child to be lost or abandoned. When he gets her into the light, Decker discovers she is wearing blood-soaked pajamas and is covered in bee stings. He is concerned that something has happened to the little girl's parent(s) or guardian, since the blood does not seem to be her own. He feels for the bewildered child and is determined to find her family. His partner, Marge Dunn, places their small charge in foster care while they look for the relatives. Their search is relatively short, but what they find will lead them into a long and horrific investigation concerning a family feud turned violent, an overabundance of passion and death. No spoilers here!!
Meanwhile, Abel Atwater. an old buddy from his Vietnam War days appears in need of help. Atwater lost a leg and some of his sanity in the war. Now it appears he has been charged with the rape and mutilation of a prostitute. He swears he is innocent. Peter has some doubts.
The author deftly handles the workings of various intense personal relationships and solving multiple crimes with apparent ease. As with the other Kellerman book I read, her characters are her strength. They are truly three-dimensional and their dialogue is extremely realistic - at times just plain funny, at others quite moving. Her mysteries are solid. No loose threads are left behind. I plan on reading more of this excellent author's work and highly recommend it to others.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A intriguing story about family, love and murder..., 19 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
Kellerman yet again creates an exciting novel about jealousy and betrayal and highlights the complications of family and love.
Detective Decker is once again on the case, a young child is found wandering the streets alone at night as he traces her parents a series of dark secrets are unravelled and a multiple homicide is discovered.
A satisfying read which is difficult to put down, and the narrative fills you with suspense from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read about Peter Decker, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Kindle Edition)
I love Faye Kellerman's character, Peter Decker and have read every one of the books in the series. This is another cracker. One word of warning - this story is set early on in Decker's career and relationship with Rina. I was confused for a short while because of this as I have "grown up" alongside these characters and charted the chronological development of their relationship. Brilliant, well- crafted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it before, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Irene Forshaw "magpie" (Newcastle upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
I found quite quickly I had read this one before but obviously quite some time ago. It is a hazard when you get on a bit. However I enjoyed it very much AGAIN. I think her writing is far superior to her husband's. She writes with greater depth and consideration. I find his work too 'sensationalising'. Perhaps just a matter of taste?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Milk & Honey, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Kindle Edition)
always enjoy Faye Kellerman books,She writes about both sexes, and makes all of them interesting people, in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Faye Kellerman, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Kindle Edition)
Faye Kellerman is just about my favorite writer of this genre. She has a great gift of grabbing you from page one. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Milk and Honey, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
Despite starting very strongly with the 'The Ritual Bath', three books in and Kellerman is struggling. There's a very dull murder mystery, which plods on and on. Most wearing of all is the treatment of the regular characters. Great emphasis on Decker, his religious conversion is interesting but there's far too much angst. Then there's Rina. I found it distasteful that having already been the potential target of a rapist in the first book, yet again Rina is threatened with rape. Alongside, Kellerman goes to great lengths to show us that while Rina is a committed Orthodox Jew, she is sex personified. There are endless descriptions of how alluring and desirable Rina is, especially with her dress code. I don't understand what Kellerman is getting at. She seems to have a thing about Rina being forbidden fruit, while still being the little woman at home.

All in all, I didn't enjoy this, a dull story with some very bizarre sexual politics. I might read the next one but wouldn't recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An average story line with a hard to follow mix of characters., 4 May 2008
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
This is my first Kellerman book and will probably be my last.

It wasnt amazingly bad but it certainly wasnt anything special either. The characters are slightly boring, especially the lead character: Decker. I found I could care less about him coming to terms with becoming an orthadox Jew, if i wanted a book telling me about every single part of a day in the life of an orthadox Jew I would have gone looking for one. Unfortunately thats not what I wanted, and unfortunately thats what I got.

Now I'm all for a book being educational as well as gripping, and interesting and so on and so forth but I feel the amount of time dwelling on the subject of the Jewish prayers etc. was pointless and unnecessary.
However the fact that a couple of the characters were Jewish seems to be all the book really had goin for it as far as originality goes.
The storyline was ok, mediocre at best, it could have been better but I feel Kellerman just didnt do it justice. But, hey, who says a story needs an exceptional story line to be enjoyable?

The substandard storyline could have been overlooked if it had some decent characters but I found the majority of them annoying. And on top of that unnecessary. There were far too many of them who simply added nothing to the story line but to confuse the reader. And I found Deckers constant outbursts extremely annoying. It's as if two seperate people were writing about Decker, his personality was all over the place.

This story really is average at best, theres some gruesome bits and some good thrills but it's really not worth wading through the 400+ pages to find. And I doubt i'll be attempting another Faye Kellerman book any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Kellerman?! Great read & many more to go!!, 10 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Paperback)
I had not read any Faye Kellerman books before this one and typically I chose in haste to read one 'out of published order'. But this didn't matter - there was enough information without boring me to catch up on the past, whilst also focusing on the main plot of the book.
With Jonathan Kellerman books I can picture the scenes easily and with Faye's book I could also do the same. The story had me locked in so much so that I'm on-line ordering some more books as I've finished this within a matter of days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milk and Honey
Milk and Honey by Faye Kellerman (Paperback - 21 Jun 1990)
7.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews