Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick, easy to read and very entertaining novella.
I found this short book in the local library, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The principal character's midlife crisis, and his ensuing discovery that his golf has magically turned from Sunday-afternoon-ish to senior-tour-Jack-Nicklaus-eat-your-heart-out is magically funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Total different from what might be expected of James...
Published on 6 Sep 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice read
`Miracle on the 17th Green' is very different from Patterson's usual crime thriller novels. It is about a 50 year old man named Travis who is a advertising copywriter who absolutely hates his job, his wife appears to not love him anymore and it seems that nothing really seems to be going his way. That is until one Christmas morning when Travis has a quick round of golf...
Published on 27 May 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick, easy to read and very entertaining novella., 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I found this short book in the local library, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The principal character's midlife crisis, and his ensuing discovery that his golf has magically turned from Sunday-afternoon-ish to senior-tour-Jack-Nicklaus-eat-your-heart-out is magically funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Total different from what might be expected of James Patterson, I could not put this book down. I could imagine my golfing father dreaming the same dream, wishing himself post retirement on the senior tour, hitting everything straight down the fairway. I am not a golfer, and I don't think being a golfer is a prerequisite for enjoying this book, although an interest in the sport probably is. On second thoughts, probably and interest in mid-life crises is enough. This is only a very short book, in small format, but that's what makes it so enjoyable. You could probably read the whole thing in a reasonable length train commute to and from work. It left me with a chuckle in my heart, and a real gladness that I had discovered it. I'm sure it will do the same for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice read, 27 May 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
`Miracle on the 17th Green' is very different from Patterson's usual crime thriller novels. It is about a 50 year old man named Travis who is a advertising copywriter who absolutely hates his job, his wife appears to not love him anymore and it seems that nothing really seems to be going his way. That is until one Christmas morning when Travis has a quick round of golf and plays his best game ever. He then returns to work after Christmas and is fired due to job cuts. With nothing to lose, Travis tries out for the Senior PGA Tour, something that he has been dreaming about his whole life.

Other than some crazy golf or a few goes at the driving range, I know nothing about golf whatsoever, so a lot of the golfing jargon is foreign to me. Luckily this book is very short, enjoyable and heart-warming but it just feels like with this kind of book there isn't enough tragedy to make the feel-good parts of seem worthwhile, as when reading this it just came across as a guy who was ok at golf, had a few problems at home then made it big in the pro tournaments. The end. It was a nice story with some likeable characters and it did keep me interested throughout (although I did skim-read most of the golf-talking bits), so much so that I finished it in just an hour and a half.

If you're after a happy and fast-paced short story, with hardly any depth, than this is a fairly decent read, but is very forgettable and not one that I'm likely to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting read., 12 Oct 2004
By 
Kenny (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a heart warming, pleasant, even inspirational read which has transformed the dire reputation of golfers in my household! My copy has now passed through at least a dozen pairs of hands, including my wife and some of her friends. Everyone has enjoyed it greatly and subsequently suggested it to others. At 150 pages, it can be read in one sitting and, despite the subject matter, requires no prior knowledge of golf. The content, tone and pace of this novella may come as a surprise to hardened James Patterson fans and it should provide a gentle and enjoyable insight into the game for golf widows and widowers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Miracle on the 17th green, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was very enjoyable, it lead you to think how much in a rut we all get ourselves into and it was fun too. Its just a shoert story compared to his others but the type you can read on a long journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
verygood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good short storey, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very romantic love/golf storey. Most golfers should enjoy this one, that could keep you in the dream from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One prolifik Wright, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle on the 17th Green (Hardcover)
So do you like a good thriller to read. ??? Then Listen to us we have some forty or more novels from this author James Patterson
everyone a winner. The price is always right useing book suppliers on Amazon do observe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars miracle on the 17th green, 1 Oct 2013
Inspiring reader. Go for your goals. Improved my confidence towards family,work and of course my golf. If you put the work in you will reep the benefits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL OF US, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It should happen to all of us.As members of a golf club we have all probably hit every shot on every hole perfect ,then a perfect putt ahh bliss .Now the hard part is getting them in the same round .Oh well maybe next round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle on the 17th Green
Miracle on the 17th Green by Peter De Jonge (Hardcover - 12 Nov 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews