Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of you are right !
There seems to be a needless dispute going on here.

This book is both a helpful guide to both the hazards of etiquette for those of us baffled by place settings and such AND it is a work of comic genius describing, with the barest flicker of irony though the author clearly subscribes to them, the more lunatic codes of a pampered class.

I have always...
Published on 18 Oct. 2006 by Doods

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
From £300 for a paperback is this a joke?
Published 6 months ago by Cnnryng


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of you are right !, 18 Oct. 2006
By 
There seems to be a needless dispute going on here.

This book is both a helpful guide to both the hazards of etiquette for those of us baffled by place settings and such AND it is a work of comic genius describing, with the barest flicker of irony though the author clearly subscribes to them, the more lunatic codes of a pampered class.

I have always felt that manners are to do with courtesy and making your fellow man or woman feel at ease, whereas etiquette is more to do with putting the other person on the back foot, but this volume will help you with both : alerting you to the needs and perceptions of others as well as protecting the unwary from seemingly impenetrable social obstacles.

If you are one of those people who keep small volumes in their smallest room then this is far more valuable and browseable than most of the "novelty" books you will end up getting as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, covers all aspects of manners., 9 Sept. 2001
This is a great book that will keep you in good company, every little detail is covered right down to what colour ink you should use in your pen, types if papper and its weight, to how to eat grapes. It is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Doing Things Right Matter, 15 Aug. 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When faced with an impending problem of how to eats some garden peas, I knew just where to turn! Seriously though, this is a jolly interesting read and is a book that is bound to prove its worth somewhere along the line.
I bought it because I had borrowed a copy when I had a rather tricky letter to write and it came up trumps then. You look a bit of a chump if you leave it on your coffee table by mistake though!
Its good fun testing 'posh' people too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GUIDE! not etched in stone from the Almighty!, 16 May 2006
By 
An insight to proper conduct, unfortunately lacking in certain circles these days with the loss of discipline in schools and many parents happy to allow their offspring to run riot wherever they go.

There are many 'common sense' subjects which one would expect people to know but if you have NEVER been informed of the situation you may not have an understanding. Many areas are covered, some with a humourous slant on occasion, but I feel certain reviewers are taking it too seriously.

This is a GUIDE to modern etiquette and i dont expect many readers will have housemaids, butlers, etc, neither do I anticipate persons demonstrating formal event protocol down the local Mcdonalds; (why anyone would want to dine there is beyond me anyway).

These seems to be far too much emphasis on the 'PC' flooded tripe that is constantly rammed down our throats, and this book will be frowned upon by the brainwashed, as the staff are referred to as 'servants', also there is an emphasis on 'HE' as the main desision maker in society which they will find sexist. But WHO CARES!!! Lighten up and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most certainly "the indespensible handbook" on the subject, 26 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
The ultimate guide to social behaviour. Current, informative and highly readable. Covers any situation that merits serious consideration in relation to modern manners and etiquette. Do yourself a favour and get a copy for your bookcase - you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Fabulous Book, 19 Oct. 1999
Contrary to previous reviews of this book, I found it both informative and amusing. I suspect that there is some tongue-in-cheek writing here - especially regarding men in fancy dress and the preparation of wearing high heeled shoes. I have also found this tombe to be a useful reference guide, especially concerning the eating of certain fruits and vegetables at the dining table. Knowledge no self-respecting person should be without.
This book is, as far as I'm concerned, a must for both comedic value as well as a useful reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars irreverent but correct, 19 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
I found it most amusing...and informative. Although Mr. Morgan is somewhat irreverent in some passages, the book is accurate and useful for teaching proper form. I highly recommend it...and it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book and an excellent addition to anybody's home library., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only just begun to read the book and I am incredibly intrigued and I am hooked! I was so lucky to have been able to purchase this book at the price I did. Definitely worth the money spent though. It really is an eye opener and provides a feast of food for thought. It Will definitely be a wonderful talking point and reference book for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 21 Dec. 2014
From £300 for a paperback is this a joke?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does not cover all I had expected of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debrett's New Guide to Etiquette and Modern Manners (Debrett's guides)
Used & New from: £14.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews