Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You live here!, 2 Oct 2005
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As these pages attest, there are a number of fine writers out there providing us non-scientists with insights on nature's mysteries. None, however, quite reached the breadth of view or intensity of feeling imparted by Carl Sagan. His writings explained topics ranging from quantum particles to the extent of the cosmos. Along the way, he addressed evolution, space engineering and countless other facets of science and technology. Even fiction wasn't beyond his grasp.
Pale Blue Dot is a journey in time and space. Beginning with the assertion that we're natural wanderers, being the only species to settle across our world, it continues with a plea to extend further our exploration of space. The early chapters challenge restrictions on our desire to explore and learn. Sagan demonstrates how foolish minds have restrained our quest for knowledge of the cosmos. He then takes us on a tour of the solar system, exhibiting the wonders revealed by the fleet of robot probes. He reminds us of the forces the cosmos can unleash, sometimes right in our neighbourhood. Like many of the rest of us, Sagan was awed by the collision of a comet with the Jovian gas giant. It was a hint of what might lay in store for us if we fail to understand the universe better than we do now. The space probes also returned images of worlds invalidating existing theories of planetary formation. If our own neighbours can present such bizarre structures, what kinds of worlds ride beyond our ken, circling suns we can barely imagine? What Sagan can't portray, he can conjecture. With his firm working scientist's foundation, Sagan's speculations command respectful attention.
This book must be shelved alongside Richard Dawkins THE SELFISH GENE and THE BLIND WATCHMAKER. Together, these three fine works confront the traditional Western view of a universe and the life in it resulting from a Designer. From Dawkins' biological analysis to Sagan's cosmological view, this obstructionist outlook is here rendered groundless. More people must read Pale Blue Dot to gain an idea of who we are and where we stand in the vastness of a nearly limitless universe. Please read this book and convey its ideas to others. There is much to be gained from its imparted wisdom. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and fascinating journey, 7 Dec 2000
Carl Sagan is one of the most brilliant thinkers of our generation and this book is an exclamation mark on a fruitful and alas, too short, career. This book is a sequel to the well-known "cosmos" in which, the author contemplates on the future of humankind on earth and in the farthest regions of space. As always, it is a riveting journey guided by the enthusiastic, humorous and eloquent Sagan who manages to leave the reader with a feeling of cautious optimism despite the many reasons humankind has to worry about its future. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Visionary, 25 Sep 2010
By 
John Dexter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carl Sagan viewed space exploration as both a natural consequence of our nomadic past and an essential constituent of our survival: in Pale Blue Dot, he articulates this vision, making an elegant and compelling argument for a programme of sustained space-exploration in order to cheat the cosmos of humanity's ultimate extinction.

Given Sagan's prodigious output over an all too brief life, recycled material from earlier work is to be expected and the book opens with one of his recurrent themes, revisiting the idea that science continues to diminish humanity's over-inflated sense of importance and plots our species' ignominious ("great" ch.3 pp.20-37) demotion from cosmic "purpose" to universal bit part. Sagan also covers other favourite topics, including global warming and weapons of mass destruction, synthesising these themes into a comprehensive argument that humanity has reached a turning point in its evolution with the ability for self-destruction without, perhaps, the wisdom to prevent it. However, whilst some of the early content may feel familiar, this is not a simple rehashing of old arguments: it is a grand vision of humanity's future and, with his characteristic clarity and restraint, Sagan makes a powerful argument that our innate curiosity will eventually drive us to the stars.

For obvious reasons, the space exploration review appears a little dated but Sagan's intimate involvement with much of America's attempts to explore our solar system and unique ability to collaborate with Soviet scientists makes it a fascinating and insightful read nonetheless. Moreover, the discussion is really a vehicle for Sagan's speculations about the potential for such adventure and he proceeds to indulge his imagination for cosmic housekeeping, boulder hopping and interplanetary squatting! This book can leave no doubt that Sagan was a true visionary and his premature demise is a loss to us all.

Perhaps not quite as good as The Demon-Haunted World, but very, very close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful product, 14 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Pale Blue Dot (Hardcover)
An almost perfect hardback copy of a much loved book imported from America was a real indulgence but well worth it.
Can't say enough positive things about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, came in great condition and on time. A timeless read for anyone interested in Science, astronomy or the work of Carl Sagan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring voyage, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to not put a 5 star for this book. This is confirmed by all the previous reviews.

Carl Sagan truly put ourselves into scale in his magnificient book. The title says it all.
The image of us inhabiting this little pale blue dot seen from voyager is striking and in some sense vertiginous. A reminder of our place in the universe.

To be read by anybody interested in the future of humanity and its place in the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One that got away., 20 April 2012
By 
J. P. Keating - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been searching for a copy of this book for a number of years. I am delighted with its condition and that I finally obtained a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 20 Jan 2012
You cannot read this book without Sagan enthusiasm for cosmology rubbing off on you. A fair amount of the book is concerned with the voyager missions he was involved with in the 1970s. He injects a wonderful human narrative into what is one of the most important (maybe THE most) scientific endeavours in space so far. You will be amazed at the ingenuity of scientists who were first to chart so many new worlds, especially as the mission were undertaken before modern day computing and miniaturisation.

It's wonderful to read about these missions, and I enjoyed looking up some of his unanswered questions on the internet to see which had been answered, although I found it very sad that he died before some missions he writes about, such as Cassini-Huygens, came to fruition.

The book also has a rather spiritual tone. The "pale blue dot" of which the book is named after is a picture of our earth taken from the outskirts of the solar system by the voyager missions. Sagan tells us that this is no distance at all in the scale of universe, and yet from here our planet is barely visible. Sagan elegantly uses this picture to illustrate humanities real place in the universe, putting into perspective our absurd delusions of grandeur and pointless wars. Such revelations may at first seem depressing but Sagan shows us that rather then feel isolated and unimportant we should instead feel embraced and connected to the majesty of cosmos.

Towards end of the book Carl Sagan writes of frailty of our planet. His words are so heart felt and beautiful. You will be inspired and hopefully moved to turn some lights off!

The really great thing about Sagan is he never comes across as arrogant nether do his views ever seek to belittle the less scientifically educated, he was a wonderful ambassador for science and I recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pale Blue Dot (Hardcover)
This is one of the most beautiful books ever written. Although it arrived extremely late, it was well worth the wait. This book should be obligatory in public school as a full substitution of the delusional religious fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pale Blue Dot: Vision of the Human Future in Space
Pale Blue Dot: Vision of the Human Future in Space by Carl Sagan (Hardcover - 4 May 1995)
Used & New from: 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews