Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely book, great for bedtime stories
Got this for reading to my 4 year old, but some of the language was a little too advanced at first, so I just changed some of the wording when reading aloud. The stories are quite long, ideal for bedtime stories and the illustrations are beautiful, but there are a few too many pages with text only, so probably not that entertaining for younger kids. Will definitely buy...
Published on 24 July 2011 by Claire Singleton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Padded plastic covers
very disappointed that the 'hard cover' is padded plastic - fine for a very small child but not suitable for a book that I hope will be read for many years.
Published 9 months ago by Katherine Ashe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely book, great for bedtime stories, 24 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Got this for reading to my 4 year old, but some of the language was a little too advanced at first, so I just changed some of the wording when reading aloud. The stories are quite long, ideal for bedtime stories and the illustrations are beautiful, but there are a few too many pages with text only, so probably not that entertaining for younger kids. Will definitely buy other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top buy, 22 July 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Illustrated Grimms Fairy Tales

This was a great purchase. Perfect for my 7 year old son. Lovely illustrations with some old favourites and new stories mixed in. More suitable for the over 5's as some of the stories are a little frightening. Very pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story book, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is the best book I have ever bought for my daughter. I thought the stories might have been a bit long for my four year old but on the contrary she loves each and every one of the stories which include for example hansel and gretel, twelve dancing princesses, little red riding hood and Tom Thumb. As an added bonus it looks really great on her bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice retellings for the small ones, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This book is lavishly illustrated with clear, bright pictures that appeal to children from an early age. The stories are light revisions of Grimm tales, suited for small children, with the worst of the gore taken out. I have read these for my 3.5 year old daughter, and she loves them - just enough drama and action and still the good end happily as should be. Higly recommended, even for those who are not native English speakers - I translate into Norwegian when reading aloud, and the stories are well written and easily read even for the young learner of English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Another super book bought as a christening gift fr a little girl. She will love it . Illustrations again are wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my granddaughter who loves it. Beautifully illustrated, durable cover. Favourite stories told with all their old magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my nephew for his baby shower as his mum wanted us to get our favourite fairy stories book from our childhood this was my all time favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read for your kids, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Suzie Bohm (NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
It's a real classic with all of the well known Grimm tales in it and nicely illustrated. Not just nice for your kids, but also a nice way to remember your own childhood. Super!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good present, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Brought as a present for a colleague leaving to have her first baby instead of the normal baby grows etc. A slightly padded book with beautiful illustrated pages. She loved it and although not for use straight away, she seemed pleased with the ideal of the toddler on her lap and reading them a bedtime story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if somewhat darker stories for children, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Grimm's Fairy Tales (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Clothbound Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I grew up on Grimms fairy tales and this book of multiple tales is outstanding. Perfect sized book and such beautiful artwork that brings everything to life. Darker stories than may be for some parents tastes for their little ones, but there are lessons in each and every story. From the feel of the cover, drawings and quality of the text this is a must buy and I would highly recommend for anyone that is a fan. I would probably only say your child may not be too interested until they are at least 2 years old as there is a lot of text to read to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews