Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple ideas to inspire young minds!
I am utterly delighted with this book. It contains such good, simple science experiment ideas. The experiments generally rely on bits and bobs most people will have lying around at home, and all the clever science is explained as part of the experiment. I would have loved this book as a child, and I can't wait to try the experiments. My little boy is just shy of two...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by Pompom

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same again?
Buy their 100 things to do, all the things in this are included in both books, will have to give this one away having bought both...
Published on 2 Sep 2011 by P. Wills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple ideas to inspire young minds!, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
I am utterly delighted with this book. It contains such good, simple science experiment ideas. The experiments generally rely on bits and bobs most people will have lying around at home, and all the clever science is explained as part of the experiment. I would have loved this book as a child, and I can't wait to try the experiments. My little boy is just shy of two and admittedly is a bit young for it, but I'm looking forward to when we can do these experiements together. I would have said that the book is good for primary school children (with supervision), but I cannot see why younger secondary school children would not enjoy it too.

A few examples of the experiments in the book are:

Catch the birdie - a simple spinner disc toy - a cage on one disc and bird on the other - when spun it looks as if the bird is in the cage.
Cooking in the sun - line a bowl with foil and put a marshmallow in it to 'cook' on a hot day.
Separating the ink colours in felt tip pens.
Jumping pepper - Putting pepper in a shallow plastic box and creating static electricity with a woolen jumper and seeing how the pepper responds.
Elastic band paddle boat.
Butterfly feeder.
Seeing DNA - extracting DNA from an onion - you'll need surgical spirit though.
Making butter.
Seeing how ants work together with a piec of fruit.
Growing crystals.

Actually some of the experiments would be fun for adults too. Really very impressed, cannot recommend this highly enough. I'll be buying some more as presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of experiments to keep kids entertained...and learning!, 7 Sep 2010
By 
A. Milne "themilnes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
My little boys and I love this book! At first I was a little dubious as the book itself is fairly small and I wondered how on earth they could have crammed 50 interesting and meaningful science projects in here. However, I was proved wrong. Whilst the "science things to make and do" in this book are not ground breaking, they are very interesting for young children and are usually performed with things that are easily available within the home.

Most of the experiments/activities are quite short and so are well within the attention span of little ones which is great. There's nothing worse than starting out on an interesting project, only to find that it takes too long and the kids have all wandered off halfway through!! As I already mentioned, most of the things to do are pretty simple, but they do introduce a lot of very interesting scientific topics - just a few of which are: sound vibrations; magnetism; static electricity; friction and gravity. Obviously, depending upon the age of the child and how interested they are in what you are doing, you can then go off and explore these topics further. A few of these little experiments have really gripped my sons' imaginations and we've found ourselves delving a bit deeper into those topics. I would imagine that this book is ideal for children from about 4 to 10 years of age.

The book itself is ringbound with a very tough cover and thick pages - so should stand up well to being used by children.

So, if you secretly fancy making a hovering butterfly, a foaming monster or a pinhole projector - amongst lots of other things - then this could well be the book for you. It provides something a little bit different to do on those, (many), rainy days and there's a good chance that the kids will be learning, as well as having fun. What more could you want?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same again?, 2 Sep 2011
By 
P. Wills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
Buy their 100 things to do, all the things in this are included in both books, will have to give this one away having bought both...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun activities that are easy to implement, 9 May 2013
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
I would say this is aimed for children ages 3-7

pros : engagingly illustrated, sturdy, a wide variety of activities (indoor, outdoor, very basic to complicated, using different techniques and materials...), clearly explained, almost all material are things found around the house and often allows you to reuse empty bottles or food containers, the child can flip through the book and choose an activity (more motivation and empowering), some nice activities I hadn't thought of, often simple for the adult to implement, fun for both adults and kids,

cons : doesn't list necessary material so you had better read through the activites carefully beforehand bcs it's easy to overlook something (and when doing this with little kids, that can turn into a major setback), about 1/3 activites are things we know how to make without help (mixing oil and vinegar, making a paper air plane, observing bugs, observing ants, shadow puppets...), it's a fun alternative to arts and crafts or baking but I wouldn't say it's a great learning tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 6 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
Bought for nephew as birthday gift, he loves it and is very excited to work his way through these. Some he can do on his own and some with parental supervision so encourages independence and team work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what I was expecting, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
It is perfect if you want some new ideas to keep children occupied and at the same time teach them a bit of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
Amazing book full of idea's which don't need you to spend a fortune getting extra things to complete. So many good things to try!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for all, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
What a great way to learn. Mixes science with fun and it wasn't out of the wrapping for 5 minutes before they were into the first 'experiment'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, compact introduction to 'sciency things', 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
I bought 2 copies of this book: one for a 9yr old who isn't studying science in school yet and my 6 year old who's experience with science is so far limited to variations on the baking soda and vinegar 'explosion'.
Both kids are delighted with the book. There's enough variety in it to provide interest but almost everything is simple enough and child-friendly enough to do with a pre-schooler present (I have a 3 year old who's very interested in it all) and manageable for someone who's never studied any science subject.

Pros:
1. The compact design and ring-bound pages make it easy to store and use and great to keep beside you as you work (bigger books take up too much space in the work area).
2. Colourful step by step illustrations help engage kids and keep you on track while helping.
3. The variety of activities is great - introducing things like magnetism, hydro power, wind power, studying our environment/nature, optical illusion, sound vibrations, memory, crystal formation, DNA, light, how our brains read, etc. Some of the activities are ideal for 'demonstration' for smaller kids while others are very 'hands-on'.
4. Each activity has a 'what's happening' explanation of the science to help us science-ignorant parents help our kids understand and to encourage questions/learning.
5. Just about everything you need for these activities will already be in your home except for a VERY strong magnet and a magnifying glass (I got one of those big colourful kids ones and it was a huge hit!).

Cons
1. The compact design means smaller text so if you've got sight problems you might want a larger book.
2. The step by step is clear but without a separate list of what's needed, you do have to read through each activity carefully before gathering the necessary materials.
3. As already said by other reviewers, there are other similar books with more activities in them so if you feel your child/you will want to do more or have more choice, this may not be the book for you.
4. If your child is already studying science, the activities in this book may be a little too basic for him/her

Overall, this was exactly the book I hoped it would be and my 6 year old is giddy with excitement over every activity in it (we've tried several since Christmas and he's reviewed the book many many times!). The 9 year old is suddenly very keen on science as a result of receiving the book too.
As a first introduction to science I think it's pretty great and small enough that the information isn't overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) (Spiral-bound)
We have been working our way through this book. It's worth looking through & starting to put some items by for when needed. It's proved popular with my 6.5 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f3f63c)

This product

50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities)
50 Science Things to Make and Do (Usborne Activities) by Georgina Andrews (Spiral-bound - 25 July 2008)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews