Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2012
So you work hard teaching your 4 year old to read and fill his book case with the usual suspects. On a high shelf you put some more advanced books for when he is older. You long for the day he actually starts picking up books without being asked and reads on his own. Finally, aged almost 5 years old he starts reading books on his own. Time and time again he goes to his book case looking for books - well actually one book, up on a high shelf. Yes it is Beowulf! "Look at the monsters daddy, her head has been chopped off, that's funny!" Still if it makes him want to read books and it doesn't seem to give him nightmares. I must say it is a beautifully presented book but my wife is not very happy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I bought enough books for the small class groups at the 'Short Stay School' I teach at, for the students to have a book each and follow the story as I read aloud. The students' ages range between 9 and 13 years and all enjoyed the story. I also bought a DVD Beowulf animation and several other written versions of the ancient Beowulf story. The initial shared story has stimulated some good quality written work and Art work and added further interest to the Anglo-Saxon History project. Therefore these Usborne books provided an excellent starting point for futher learning opportunities and the resulting work.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I actually came across this one when searching for a gift for my son's friend, a girl who loves dragons. I love Beowulf, and was excited to find an Usborne version of the story. I thought they did a good job with making the story accessible to kids, while remaining true to the Beowulf story.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
I used this with my year 4 class when studying Vikings and Saxons; the children loved it and produced some amazing writing! The illustrations are fantastic too!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
another great version of this story. I collect different versions for my primary school children. The illustrations are rich and engaging and the text of a high quality; good language choice yet accessible. Good price, good quality hardback book from Usborne. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Usborne Young Reading is an outstanding series of condensed versions of classic works of children's and adult literature, along with a few non-fiction titles. We have about a dozen of these now as my daughter is getting through about one a week. They are intended for children who are beginning to read alone but they are equally suited to an earlier stage with a child reading aloud to an adult. As well as being exciting stories with lovely illustrations, there is a high level of consistency in reading standard within each of the three levels - not just text size and word count but most importantly difficulty of individual words (which is where most "reading books" fall down). There are also speech bubbles in some of the illustrations, often amusing ones, which go down very well. Different titles also introduce a good variety of non-English names, acronyms, abbreviations, dates etc. I cannot recommend this series highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This book is beautifully illustrated and the story is very interesting and easy.
Kids just in love with this book, even the older ones.

Great to read and even good book to give as a present to any child!

Recommend it!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I used this in school, it is a lovely simple text with great illustrations, it's a nice way for children to access the story of Beowulf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This book was purchased for use in our Primary School. It is an excellent resource for staff and children to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
A great version of the poem in fantastic condition. Many thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse