Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beowulf
I used this with my year 4 class when studying Vikings and Saxons; the children loved it and produced some amazing writing! The illustrations are fantastic too!
Published on 13 July 2011 by ham1shpr1ngl3

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as big as you think
I don't' know why but I expected the book to be at least A4 size but it's actually on paperback size - other than that can't really complain.
Published 14 months ago by Judith Stenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beowulf, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
I used this with my year 4 class when studying Vikings and Saxons; the children loved it and produced some amazing writing! The illustrations are fantastic too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good kids' version of Beowulf, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
I actually came across this one when searching for a gift for my son's friend, a girl who loves dragons. I love Beowulf, and was excited to find an Usborne version of the story. I thought they did a good job with making the story accessible to kids, while remaining true to the Beowulf story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to Beowulf, 6 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
I bought enough books for the small class groups at the 'Short Stay School' I teach at, for the students to have a book each and follow the story as I read aloud. The students' ages range between 9 and 13 years and all enjoyed the story. I also bought a DVD Beowulf animation and several other written versions of the ancient Beowulf story. The initial shared story has stimulated some good quality written work and Art work and added further interest to the Anglo-Saxon History project. Therefore these Usborne books provided an excellent starting point for futher learning opportunities and the resulting work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's funny daddy!, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
So you work hard teaching your 4 year old to read and fill his book case with the usual suspects. On a high shelf you put some more advanced books for when he is older. You long for the day he actually starts picking up books without being asked and reads on his own. Finally, aged almost 5 years old he starts reading books on his own. Time and time again he goes to his book case looking for books - well actually one book, up on a high shelf. Yes it is Beowulf! "Look at the monsters daddy, her head has been chopped off, that's funny!" Still if it makes him want to read books and it doesn't seem to give him nightmares. I must say it is a beautifully presented book but my wife is not very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great version, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
another great version of this story. I collect different versions for my primary school children. The illustrations are rich and engaging and the text of a high quality; good language choice yet accessible. Good price, good quality hardback book from Usborne. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
This book was purchased for use in our Primary School. It is an excellent resource for staff and children to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully illustrated and the story is very interesting and easy.
Kids just in love with this book, even the older ones.

Great to read and even good book to give as a present to any child!

Recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
I used this in school, it is a lovely simple text with great illustrations, it's a nice way for children to access the story of Beowulf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 6 star reading series, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
Usborne Young Reading is an outstanding series of condensed versions of classic works of children's and adult literature, along with a few non-fiction titles. We have about a dozen of these now as my daughter is getting through about one a week. They are intended for children who are beginning to read alone but they are equally suited to an earlier stage with a child reading aloud to an adult. As well as being exciting stories with lovely illustrations, there is a high level of consistency in reading standard within each of the three levels - not just text size and word count but most importantly difficulty of individual words (which is where most "reading books" fall down). There are also speech bubbles in some of the illustrations, often amusing ones, which go down very well. Different titles also introduce a good variety of non-English names, acronyms, abbreviations, dates etc. I cannot recommend this series highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PROBABLY THE BEST BOOK OF ITS CLASS ON BEOWULF, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) (Hardcover)
Trying to find a book for my 7 year old son on the subject Beowulf that was age appropriate was difficult.

Some books were much to young and there were others where the 'content' was a little too old for him. My son is a fairly accomplished reader and had no problem reading this book and we have since read it together on may occasions.

What makes this book standout is not only the quality of the writing aimed at children but above all the high quality of the illustrations.

It is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3))
Beowulf (Young Reading (Series 3)) by Rob Lloyd Jones (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 2,499.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews