Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 11 Jun 2011
Bought for an 8-year-old doing a school project on this hugely difficult and complex topic. Usborne have done a remarkable job in making sense of the subject and we found the book informative, moving and accessible. It is packed with photographs and diagrams which help to explain practical concepts such as trench warfare as well as making clear the human cost of the conflict.
It's an unpatronising read and I confess that I learned a great deal from it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Usborne Introduction to the First World War : In Association with the Imperial War Museum, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My children are studying the First World War as part of their history curriculum at school and this book is a fantastic introduction to the subject.We also have the Usborne Second World War book too. I can't highly recommend them enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War 1 - at last I understand it!, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. E. A. Nicholson "Bag Lady" (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again, Usborne has done it! I bought this book for my husband as we had both said we'd never really understood the first world war. This book explains the war in an accessible way for all ages; my husband is really impressed with the way it is written and illustrated. Would highly recommend this book for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW1 for KS2, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great information at the correct level for the children to appreciate. Used to gain info for introducing history topic of WW1 to Y5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Education, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The First World War (Usborne True Stories) (Paperback)
Part of an Usborne True Stories collection, this is an excellent introduction to World War for children aged around 7+. Short chapters recount such key events as the Somme, the Christmas truce and football match between German and British soldiers and how the Great War led to another war soon afterwards. The author Paul Dowsell has also recently written two excellent novels for children aged 10+, Auslander and Sektion 20, so you can appreciate how well written these true stories are.

There are very useful links to other sources of information on this period in history including other non-fiction, films and poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son is 6 years old and very interested in both WW. This book explained very well in detail what happened! Would definitely recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book good and it is very good for people who like real stories
And that's why I gave it 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Boo, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. Bought it for my husband and ended up reading it myself too as it describes the wars in easy language with lots of big photos and images which really takes you into the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good report on this book, 28 Nov 2012
By 
B. Knights "TH Butterfly" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This looks a very good book to introduce our grandson to the subject. Also we found we knew less about the first world war than the second so have enjoyed reading it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource for children, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent resource. This book covers the challenges and the strife of war in an accessable way accompanied with fantastic pictures. I, as an adult, was engrossed and found it a great help to introducing my 8 year old to the subject. The weblinks are much apreciated too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First World War (Usborne True Stories)
The First World War (Usborne True Stories) by Henry Brook (Paperback - 27 July 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews