Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book from my childhood! Educational
This is an excellent introduction to the world of Norse Myth! I grew up with this, and its really stuck in my head. The briliiant illustrations throughout really helped the stories to gel. There is a good introduction to the history of the region, its status in Europe and its ancient religions. The stories are broken down into the mythological 9 worlds, then the creation...
Published on 23 April 2008 by grr

versus
2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goes on and on and on......
I am into mythology and had loads of books on it as a kid but over the years and moving etc I got rid of them. I wanted to get some more so thought this book would do as it's an idiots guide sort of. It was BORING. The Norse Gods were a bunch of kids fighting amongst themselves, jealous of what the others had. There are so many names to remember and to be honest the more...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by Samantha Burt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book from my childhood! Educational, 23 April 2008
This review is from: Norse Myths and Legends (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to the world of Norse Myth! I grew up with this, and its really stuck in my head. The briliiant illustrations throughout really helped the stories to gel. There is a good introduction to the history of the region, its status in Europe and its ancient religions. The stories are broken down into the mythological 9 worlds, then the creation myths, then all the adventures of the gods. There are plenty of myths with Thor, Odin, Loki and Heimdall. Plus all the creatures like giants, dwarves and monsters like the mighty wolf, Fenrir, and the sea serpent, Jormugand. And theres the norse variation on the legend of the Nibbelungs ( like from Wagners operas!) with Sigmund and the gold and the curse. All cracking stories! And theres an informative glossary to boot! Great! Try the Greek Myths book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all major norse myths covered, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Norse Myths and Legends (Paperback)
excellent all round refrence on all major norse myths.easy read,cover aimed at younger market.an excellent first book on norse mythology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What started me off..., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norse Myths and Legends (Paperback)
One of two books that got me into mythology. Great illustrations, as well as good retelling.
Definitely one to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent children's book, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norse Myths and Legends (Paperback)
A superb book, i brought this for my girlfriend's kids and they love it. It is very well illustrated and introduces all the major characters in norse mythology very well. The stories are good, just a little short is the only critiscism, but an excellent starting book that will help bring the more detailed story books to life if you wish to read further with your children. Wonderful stories and very good for the imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goes on and on and on......, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norse Myths and Legends (Paperback)
I am into mythology and had loads of books on it as a kid but over the years and moving etc I got rid of them. I wanted to get some more so thought this book would do as it's an idiots guide sort of. It was BORING. The Norse Gods were a bunch of kids fighting amongst themselves, jealous of what the others had. There are so many names to remember and to be honest the more I read, the more it did my head in. I am by no means an idiot but this book isn't much fun. The pictures are good though. The books I had as a kid were much better but I can't remember what the hell they were called !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Norse Myths and Legends
Norse Myths and Legends by Anne Millard (Paperback - 24 Nov 2006)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews