Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin
Bought the book for my grand daughter so she knew the story before we went to see the pantomime. Its a really nice book with good pictures.
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by D. R. Allott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very magical!!
I know it is difficult to make a story work when it's a "read it yourself book" but, although it started off ok, everything was so flat with no interesting or vivid descriptions. The ending made Aladdin seem like some thug who just went around killing people. Pictures ok but very disappointing.
Published 24 months ago by robandsal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin, 24 Dec 2011
By 
D. R. Allott (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
Bought the book for my grand daughter so she knew the story before we went to see the pantomime. Its a really nice book with good pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin, retold, 18 May 2008
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
for the 'Usborne Young Reading' series of books, which combines good stories with easy reading text.

This particular book is from SERIES ONE.

'Aladdin and his Magical Lamp comes from a collection of Arabian stories known as The Thousand and One Nights.
In early tellings of the story, the wicked magician isn't named.
But in the first Aladdin pantomime he's called Abanazar, so that's the name we've used here.'

From the back cover:

'When Aladdin meets his long-lost uncle, he finds a magic lamp that changes his life. Inside is a genie with the power to grant wishes.
But can even the genie help Aladdin win the Sultan's daughter?
And is his long-lost uncle all that he seems......'

48 high quality shiny pages, split over chapters:

1. A magic uncle
2. Two genies
3. The Sultan's daughter
4. The wrong husband
5. Aladdin gets married
6. Abanazar returns
7. The evil brother

Numbered pages.
Beautifully illustrated throughout further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions. Complete with bright purple ribbon bookmark to keep the place!
Clear easy-to-follow-text with some speech bubbles.

Example of text:

'There was once a lazy boy named Aladdin. His Dad, who had to run the family business alone, died of worry. Aladdin's mother was in despair.
One day, Aladdin was messing around as usual when a man came up to him.
"Aladdin!" he cried.
"It's me, Uncle Abanazar, your father's long-lost brother!"
That evening Aladdin's new uncle invited himself to supper.
When he heard that Aladdin didn't have a job, he bought him a fancy store to run.
Aladdin and his mother were very happy.
Neither of them guessed that Abanazar was really a wicked magician..........'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very magical!!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
I know it is difficult to make a story work when it's a "read it yourself book" but, although it started off ok, everything was so flat with no interesting or vivid descriptions. The ending made Aladdin seem like some thug who just went around killing people. Pictures ok but very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lovely quality and beautiful illustrations, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is now a favourite bedtime book. My son loves it and always asks to have it read to him - even though he is scared of the genie! The Usborne Young Reading series is great and this book is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Review by Alice Crean age 9, 15 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
Aladdin and his Magical Lamp by Katie Daynes (Usborne Young Reader)
Aladdin was a lazy boy and then someone called Abanazar came and he said he was his Dad's long lost brother but he wasn't, but to make it believable he bought a fancy store to run. Then one day Abanazar took Aladdin on a walk and told him to go down into a trap door and get a lamp. He gave him a special ring to protect him. There are 2 genies in the story, a sultan and a princess. He falls in love with the princess, Abanazar causes lots of trouble and in the end Aladdin marries the princess.
I liked the two genies and the genie in the ring because I don't think anyone's ever done a genie in a ring. I thought it was a funny story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for children learning to read alone, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
My 5 year old son loved this book. He read it to me and then to himself....more than once! Definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) (Hardcover)
Good book and prompt postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1)
Aladdin and His Magical Lamp (Young Reading Series 1) by Katie Daynes (Hardcover - 31 May 2007)
£4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews