Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A read-and-read-again book, 5 Dec 2001
By A Customer
My 18-month old daughter loves this book. She loves to lift the flaps on every page, which are just the right size for her chubby hands. She loves the characters and points excitedly at Sam sheep and his friends 'dog', 'cat' and 'bear'. But her absolute favourite is the small yellow duck who appears on every page, hiding behind the bed or the lamp-post, and she screams whenever she finds him! As for the storyline, it's a simple tale of Sam Sheep's adventure on a night when he can't sleep. The illustrations are detailed and imaginative and the rhyming lilt in which it's written is very pleasing. Definitely a book that is best read aloud.
My daughter wholeheartedly recommends this book. And so do I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Sheep Can't Sleep, 26 April 2003
By 
Christine Liddell (Dumbarton, Dunbartonshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
This delightful book receives the thumbs up from my two year old son. Sam Sheep wakes up all his friends to help him off to sleep. As they hold a party Sam's fast asleep on the chair.
The colourful pictures and rhythmic words marry together to create a lovely bed time story. A treat for children and parents alike.
Having borrowed it from the library, we now want to buy our own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Sam Sheep!, 9 April 2008
A phonics reader, with fold out flap facility about a sheep who is having trouble getting to sleep!

A colourful cover opens to 16 high quality shiny pages, in the popular 2-page spread format with endearing illustrations throughout and 2 sturdy fold-out flap opportunities. Numbered pages.
This particular story has an added dimension in the black and white pages simulating night-time.

Simple text with plenty of repetition of words and a rhyming element, e.g.:

'Sam Sheep can't sleep.
Sam Sheep gets up.
Sam Sheep wakes up Pup.
Pup barks, "It's late. It's dark."
"Go to sleep, Sam Sheep!"
I can't sleep," says Sam Sheep.
"I need to see Fat Cat.".........'

...and off Sam goes to seek the advice of Fat Cat who is on her sleeping mat in the park.....then Ted in his red bed.........etc, and by the time all the friends have got involved, I wonder if you can guess what Sam Sheep is doing?

From Usborne Publishing, this super book is part of a series of 12.
This delightful educational series is further enhanced by the little yellow duck 'hiding' on each page - younger children love to find him on every turn!
Also, the books have a familiar feel, with the presence of characters from the other titles in the series, further aiding recognition skills and confidence building.

The inside cover page describes 'About Phonics' in relation to this specific title and the inside back cover has the list of words used in the text, broken down into their phonemes.

From the back cover:

'Created in consultation with a language expert, this book is part of an engaging phonics-based series, especially written to help your child learn to read.
Not only is the story great fun, it also takes into account recent research on the most effective ways of teaching reading.
Stephen Cartwright's delightful illustrations complement the text and are designed to stimulate further interest. Fold out pages add to the enjoyment.......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baaaarilliant!, 13 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
These animal-based phonics readers are all absolutely superb; simple but entertaining stories, great illustrations and imaginative wordplay. Excellent for beginner readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens Must have, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
I bought this for my grandson and he absolutely loves it. The story is great for little ones and the pictures are bright and colourful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
My 22 month old son loves this book at bedtime & so do I! Lovely story & illustrations. Will probably order more from the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phonics Readers, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
Sam Sheep was bought for our four-year-old grandson, Sam, who loves it. He likes books, especially rhyming stories, so this has become his favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They really work, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Lynsey B (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
I have a 5/6 yr old son and he is finding these just the right pitch for his reading level (not one of the best but not the worst either). He really gets on well with the way they are laid out and the books really mix up the phonic sounds (oi, ea, ar, etc.) Would highly recommend for reception/yr1 children who need a bit more than just the one book they bring home from school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice for Beginners !, 28 Nov 2012
By 
L. Cavalcanti (Rome , Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
My daughter has started big school three months ago and is on her first steps of reading . She has loved this book because she knows most sounds in it and has confidence to read most of it on her own . When I ordered I had expected more of a book concentrated only on the phonics , where the lines didn't make so much sense and the story didn't flow . But it was a nice surprise to get nice illustrations and a proper story book instead of one with loose sentences. . A lot of "ee" practicing, ( words need , week , sheep , asleep , see, street ) . Trickiest words and sounds that might need some help : jiggle , fright, down, yawn . I would recommend it to any 4-5 year old starting school now .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical of insomniacs - wakes everyone up because he can't sleep, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) (Paperback)
Not only do I love these books, but more important my grand daughter loves them too and knows the titles that we have bought and the ones we still have to purchase. The flash cards that go with this series are also favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers)
Sam Sheep Can't Sleep (Phonics Readers) (Usborne Phonics Readers) by Phil Roxbee Cox (Paperback - 25 Aug 2006)
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews