Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Based on the novel by Charles Dickens.'
This is a 'series three' book, in the 'Usborne Young Reading' scheme - for readers who are ready for longer stories.

'Orphaned Oliver lives in a cold, grim workhouse, until the day he dares to ask for more. Escaping to London, Oliver finds new friends and thinks he has a home at last.
But his troubles are only just beginning.....'

64 high...
Published on 17 Dec 2007 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I did not like it. but maybe it is me
I did not like it . but maybe it is me ,
Published 1 month ago by ahmed sabry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Based on the novel by Charles Dickens.', 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
This is a 'series three' book, in the 'Usborne Young Reading' scheme - for readers who are ready for longer stories.

'Orphaned Oliver lives in a cold, grim workhouse, until the day he dares to ask for more. Escaping to London, Oliver finds new friends and thinks he has a home at last.
But his troubles are only just beginning.....'

64 high quality shiny pages, split over chapters:

1. Nobody's baby
2. More means less
3. Running away
4. New friends
5. Betrayed
6. A robbery
7. The secret of the locket

finishing with a one-page summary of Charles Dickens.

Clear, easy to read text with super colour illustrations throughout.

The opening text:

"Take...care.....of....him."
The young mother's whisper was as soft as the swirling snow outside; her face was as white as the sheet that covered her. Feebly she touched her newborn son, breathed a last sigh, and closed her eyes......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Review by Class 3 at Grampian Primary School, 9 Dec 2008
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
In Class 3, we really enjoyed reading Oliver Twist in our literacy lessons.
Mr Brownlow is our favourite character because he is a forgiving man. We think it was really kind of him to give Oliver another chance.
The last part of the book is our favourite part because it is very dramatic and exciting.
We think this would be a good book for any child to read, but especially for 7-8 year olds to read either on their own or with a grown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back for extra helpings, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
The Usborne Young Reading series offers a marvellous gateway into the classics for children too young to cope with the full texts. "Oliver Twist" is a perfect example of the clever abridging and editing that the series employs in reducing a long, wordy novel to its essentials without losing the tension or characters that made the books classics in the first place.

My daughter (aged 5) was given this book for Christmas because of her love of the musical "Oliver!" and, because she was already familiar with the plot, it has made an excellent bedtime story for her and one that she has requested again and again. It does take a few sittings for me to read it to her from cover to cover, however, as she insists on inserting the songs from the musical at the appropriate intervals.

For a child coming to the story cold, 5 may be a little young for this particular story but it would certainly appeal as a tale to 7 year olds and the more proficient at reading could enjoy reading it in this version for themselves. The illustrations are attractive and detailed and the book is careful in its portrayal of the more violent or distressing scenes of the original - Fagin's fate, in particular, is not included and Nancy's is sensitively amended. A great introduction to Dickens for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 4 July 2012
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
My 5 year old chose this, and despite being very reticent (Bill Sykes exit being rather grim) I went with it, and am I glad I did? You bet! Dickens' story has been brilliantly adapted for a young audience and it rattles along with poor old Oliver going from bad to good to worse to terrible to - hooray! a very happy end. We have had great conversations about the cruel Mr Bumble, greedy Fagin, and vicious Sykes. Great characters that really capture the imagination. We have hoovered up all the other classic adaptations that Usbourne has to offer now I love reading them to her. Such great stories - this being our favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
This is a really useful, simple to read text with wonderful illustrations. Used with 10-11 year olds but it is also suitable for younger children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resoucrce for young children, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a teacher for my primary class. It is perfect for a precis of the original classic. I also bought the one by Gill Taverner but this had important parts of the story missing. This is much better and you can work with it and one of the many films. Well illustarted too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
Lovely layout and graphics. Enjoyed by pupils in my class. This shortened version was ideal for the children in my class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for younger or more reluctant readers, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
It is full of super illustrations and easy text retelling of this classic novel. Great for introducing youngsters to the classics. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Twist, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
I like this book I read it every night it is eye caching.

Will Oliver find a home ? And what happens next ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) (Hardcover)
THis is a lovely book for children to read as this gets them reading the classic books and they enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three)
Oliver Twist (Usborne Young Reading) (Young Reading Series Three) by Mary Sebag-Montefiore (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2006)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews