Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Like the "1001 bugs to spot" from this series I think this book is superb. It is not a storybook so don't buy it if you're looking for salty sea-dog pirate stories.

Each page has an incredibly detailed picture of some aspect of pirate life that little boys may imagine to be true. It's all highly jolly, friendly and sanitised which seems to be the way pirates...
Published on 8 Nov. 2007 by Dr. H. Payne

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the pirate obsessed
The "1001 things to spot" series by Usborne has been a huge hit in our family with both our boys (aged 7 and 4). Each book in the series has a number of pages with things to look for in the pictures. They keep kids entertained for hours and are also great for teaching counting and for building vocabulary. The variation in the pictures sparks lots of discussion about what...
Published on 8 Mar. 2008 by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the pirate obsessed, 8 Mar. 2008
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
The "1001 things to spot" series by Usborne has been a huge hit in our family with both our boys (aged 7 and 4). Each book in the series has a number of pages with things to look for in the pictures. They keep kids entertained for hours and are also great for teaching counting and for building vocabulary. The variation in the pictures sparks lots of discussion about what country this town may be in, or which era this "long ago" image may be from.

Having said that, "1001 Pirate Things" was a disappointment to me. Unlike many of the other books in the series, each page features a very similar illustration (invariably a marginally different pirate ship) and it feels very repetitive. Both my sons got bored with this book and so did I. I know that there are boys out there who totally obsess on pirates and it would be wonderful for them. But unless your child fits that description, I would try one of the other books in the series instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
Like the "1001 bugs to spot" from this series I think this book is superb. It is not a storybook so don't buy it if you're looking for salty sea-dog pirate stories.

Each page has an incredibly detailed picture of some aspect of pirate life that little boys may imagine to be true. It's all highly jolly, friendly and sanitised which seems to be the way pirates are presented these days. For example, there's the pirates having a party on their ship, pirate school, pirate races etc. Around the edge of the picture certain items from the main picture are illustrated with a number next to them indicating how many you are to hunt for within the picture.

These books are a real hit with my little boy. They help no end with practising simple counting (up to 10) but also with the ability to resume counting after you've been distracted by something interesting elsewhere in the picture. My little boy is developing quite successful visual scanning strategies through using these stories too.

He loves them, they're educational. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little pirate, 23 July 2012
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
I have always been a big fan of Usborne books and this did not disappoint. Bought for sons 4th birthday and he loves it. You have to search for a certain amount of items on each page. As he's only just turned four, he tends to just count what he sees rather than finding an exact amount. He will get the hang of that later on. This is fine as his counting is still improving. Other times he just enjoys flicking through looking at the pictures. As with all Usborne books - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A huge hit for my 4 year old, 13 Aug. 2009
By 
Jo (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
This book has been read by my 4 year old son every day since his birthday 3 months ago. It is one of the first books he has enjoyed looking at on his own and will sit for ages counting and looking. I will definitely be buying more in the series. Great for car journeys too. A must for any little boy who wants to be a pirate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book to share with young children., 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
I bought it to use with my reception class (4-5 yr olds)and they loved it. The pictures are completely engaging and there is something new to find every time you open the book. The children enjoyed finding all the items listed and the pictures inspired independent story telling. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
My son loves this great 1001 Pirate Things to spot books. It's got lots of fun things to spot and is great for helping them learn to count in a fun way. Fab illustrations too. We have a few of the range and they are all great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Book, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant as the kids and adults can do this book together, so you will have many hours of fun trying to spot all the different pirates in the book and means you can spend quality time with the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
Emily (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
Brilliant for learning to count and for passing the time - especially on long journeys. We have given it to all four years we know! So much to look on each picture - the others in the series are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well made book. brain teasers for kids that they truly enjoy, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
Perfect road trip book...keeps kids thinking for hours. Teaches new, sometimes more obscure vocabulary, too (like parts of a ship - no other explicit examples come to mind at the moment). Great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pirate book, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot) (Hardcover)
Good book to keep child occupied and can be done with the help and participation of the parent - plenty in the pictures to talk about as well as finding the pirates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1001 Pirate Things to Spot (1001 Things to Spot) (Usborne 1001 Things to Spot)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews