Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class book
I bought his simple book for basic information to start my class on the Ancient greeks. It was perfect! The pictures and text are clear and simple for younger children to understand. The children used this throughout the topic to help with independent writing and art work.Super buy!
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by Murray

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but some factual errors
Beautifully illustrated and easy to follow... but some serious factual errors, even for a book aimed at younger readers... after all it does purport to be a history book.

E.G. The back cover claims the Ancient Greeks held the first (classical) Olympic games in Athens! Presumably the one at Olympia was a coincidence. Given that last year (2012) we were saturated...
Published 23 months ago by Rob Preston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but some factual errors, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Beautifully illustrated and easy to follow... but some serious factual errors, even for a book aimed at younger readers... after all it does purport to be a history book.

E.G. The back cover claims the Ancient Greeks held the first (classical) Olympic games in Athens! Presumably the one at Olympia was a coincidence. Given that last year (2012) we were saturated with the Modern Games and it's origins, everywhere, I found it disappointing that the book could be so innacurate while providing some wonderfully accurate detail elsewhere.

Lets put it down to bad editing and enjoy the glorious artwork. Without the errors it would be five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class book, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
I bought his simple book for basic information to start my class on the Ancient greeks. It was perfect! The pictures and text are clear and simple for younger children to understand. The children used this throughout the topic to help with independent writing and art work.Super buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
It is very basic. I bought it for a project for my 11 years old son, but it is too simple for him. Good for ages 8 to 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ancient greeks, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Ordrerd this to help with my son's school work. it arrived promptly and he has enjoyed it although I would say it was a bit basic, probably more suited to younger learners. it is however a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Am quite disappointed with this as well as the other titles in the series. There just isn't very much information in the books. They are very limited. THere are probably only about 20 pages in the book. i would much rather spend more money and get something more worthwhile. The illustrations aren't bad but you really would need to get another more comprehensive book in order to learn anything of value. I had bought this hoping to spend a long time with my niece looking through it and discussing the different chapters, copying drawings and that kind of thing but you could look through it all in 5 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Bought for a 7 year old for a school project - perfect, easy to read and great pictures. Fast delivery, will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my son loved this, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
My son is venturing into chapter books and he picked this one out. Each chapter kind of 'stands alone' so it encourages him to read without feeling overwhelmed. Very nice illustrations too! I like this whole series for him as they have more advanced language for those who are more capable, but who are perhaps a bit young or intimidated by pages totally full of words. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Greeks (Usborne Begginers), 23 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. C. B. Mclaglen "beatrice allen" (Huddersfield, Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
A lovely book for all ages who are interested in the Greek culture as all the drawings are from the real items of pottery, sculpture and paintings. The patterns are beautiful and will give many an hour of enjoyment and knowledge to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Great book just as described. Handy for boosting the learning in school. Good pictures and set out in an interesting way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
This book is easy to use for information as a school project and is very easy for young people to dip in and out off for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners)
Ancient Greeks (Usborne Beginners) by Stephanie Turnbull (Hardcover - 26 Jan 2007)
£4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews