Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for my 3 year old
My three year old is obsessed with dinosaurs and I wanted to buy a book that actually teaches him some facts about them. This was the perfect solution. I had to read it several times in a row immediately after receiving it - he loved it. I was worried some of the facts might be a bit over his head, but they're written in such a way that is easy for a child to...
Published 11 months ago by JoCal

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long long ago.....
Usborne books can usually be relied upon to deliver, but this one is a little disappointing. It is sold as a book for children who are beginning to read on their own, andthe language is appropriate, but the amount of text could be off-putting to an absolute beginner. Most of our favourit dinosaurs are there, as well as many less well-known ones. Illustrations are a bit...
Published on 13 Sept. 2008 by LG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long long ago....., 13 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Usborne books can usually be relied upon to deliver, but this one is a little disappointing. It is sold as a book for children who are beginning to read on their own, andthe language is appropriate, but the amount of text could be off-putting to an absolute beginner. Most of our favourit dinosaurs are there, as well as many less well-known ones. Illustrations are a bit fanciful - Apatosaurus with purple, blue and green markings; Allosaurus with "go faster" stripes and Stegosaurus with a "sunburst" underbelly. The book rightly points out that no-one really knows what colour they were, so the illustrations might be correct. However, they conflict with conventional representations (for example in the BBC "waling with Dinosaurs" series) and this may cause confusion. Packed with useful, easily digested information, but probably not a good first book for young enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for my 3 year old, 28 May 2014
By 
JoCal (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
My three year old is obsessed with dinosaurs and I wanted to buy a book that actually teaches him some facts about them. This was the perfect solution. I had to read it several times in a row immediately after receiving it - he loved it. I was worried some of the facts might be a bit over his head, but they're written in such a way that is easy for a child to understand. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD LITTLE BOOKS - GOOD INFO / PICS, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
LOVELY LITTLE BOOK FOR 3 YEAR OLD GIR WHO LOVES ALL THINGS DINOSAUR !! - I DIDN'T LIKE THE SCARY T-REX ON THE FRONT BUT SHE DID ! - AND THE OTHER PICS ARE GOOD - SHE WILL BE ABLE TO READ MORE AS SHE GETS OLDER SO WILL BE KEPT FOR LONG TIME AND PASSED DOWN TO LITTLEBROTHER - GOOD LITTLE BOOK FOR A GOOD LITTLE PRICE !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for new dinosaurs fanatics!, 1 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
I found this book really great for my 2 year old son. There is enough text to keep him entertained, and not too much to bore him. The pictures are nice and colourful too, though he didn't recognise the multi-coloured T Rex at first. This book enables him to add a little more to the dinosaurs he is learning about; i.e. whether they are carnivorous, speedy, big or small.

This is well worth the money for those just starting to learn about dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
we are currently studying dinosaurs in our class and this book is great to read to the children and for them to read themselves it is clear and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colouful Pictures, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Fairly good book. My two year old son appears to like it and it does have some nice colourful pictures of dinosaurs inside. As other posters have commented, the colours of the dinosaurs are not conventional but I don't suppose that matters too much. I was slightly disappointed in that the pictures inside the book are no where near as good as the front cover, which is a shame. Also the book is smaller than I thought it was going to be but that is my fault as I could probably have found this out if I had looked into it a bit more closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
Excellent for beginner readers. Simply set out with clear information for 6+. Used it in class for quick facts and the kids loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
my daughter is obsessed with dinosaurs and was extremely happy when i got her this book. Great read and lots of facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 11 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Le Matthews (Skelmersdale, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
This book is alright, but I found it had a lot of pictures of dinosaurs that it didn't bother to name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) (Hardcover)
this book is great, bought it for 3yr old as he collects dinosaurs, has all names, hes very inquisitive, asks questions,
i would definatly recomend, a good starter for information, colourful pictures,
am going get him some more from collection, theres load for children and very educational,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners)
Dinosaurs (Usborne Beginners) by Stephanie Turnbull (Hardcover - 30 Jun. 2006)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews