Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A First Reading Book For Young Children
I must admit after reading the first two reviews of this edition of Black Beauty I was expecting a longer version of the book. This is a very highly abridged version of the story only really suitable for children who have just learnt to read very simple stories independently. The photo does not show it says 'Usborne Young Reading' whereas on the actual book this is...
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by debbie8355

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too easy to read
I bought this book for my 6 year old, and while she is a good reader I didn't imagine how fast she'd go through it: the book was read in 10 minutes! In my opinion it is way too abridged to be a good version and if I had known I would definitely have gone for a different version.
Published on 2 May 2010 by Mel D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A First Reading Book For Young Children, 11 Nov 2008
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
I must admit after reading the first two reviews of this edition of Black Beauty I was expecting a longer version of the book. This is a very highly abridged version of the story only really suitable for children who have just learnt to read very simple stories independently. The photo does not show it says 'Usborne Young Reading' whereas on the actual book this is prominent on the front cover above 'Black Beauty'. It's 64 pages long and very heavy on illustrations with each page having approximately 30 words per page (similar editions to the reading books my 6 year old brings home from school).

No mention of fires or anything in depth or troubling is mentioned. It's a very santised, emotionless version of the classic story. It's more like 'there once was a horse and these were its owners'.

Excellent if you just want an introduction to the basic story of Black Beauty with some lovely illustrations. I would think anyone over 6/7 would be too old for this edition though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good introduction to Black Beauty, 6 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
I loved reading Black Beauty when I was young, although I did find it harrowing. So lately when I saw a beautifully illustrated unabridged version I had to stop myself buying it for my 5 year old as I know it would be too much for her, and I wanted her love the story like I did.
A friend of mine sent my daughter this abridged version. I thought she mightn't like it as there are no fairies, little girls, ballerinas or princes.
Just goes to show how wrong we can be. She really really enjoys having it read to her. I have lost count of the times we've read it. It is sanitised compared to the long version, but still manages to convey the barbarity of the treatment of horses, cruelty, death and ultimately a happy ending. It is not the usual sugar coated story I am so used to reading to my daughter. Even tho it is so abridged, I still sometimes nearly shed a tear while I am reading it. It's not the book I fell in love with all those years ago, but it's a good stepping stone towards the full story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too easy to read, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 6 year old, and while she is a good reader I didn't imagine how fast she'd go through it: the book was read in 10 minutes! In my opinion it is way too abridged to be a good version and if I had known I would definitely have gone for a different version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
A good little book. My grandaughter is reading quite well so we thought that starting her off on what we call classics we help her understand more which it did. Once she had started it we had trouble taking it off her until she had finished it. It obviously did go in because she can recall most of what she read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, 16 Jan 2014
By 
J. W. Fewtrell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 7 year old grandaughter to read to her little brother, who is crazy about horses. Lovely illustrations, and about the right level for both of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice child's gift, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. S. A. Orlinski (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
Bought this with 2 other books for a child. Nicely bound etc and child friendly. I didn't read them but type clear and good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real beauty, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 6 year old Granddaughter. She absolutely loves it as it is so easy to read and beautifully illustrated so she can be sure of following and understanding the story. Retains the essence of the original although of course heavily abridged to suit young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the very young, 8 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
This book did for horses what Charles Dickens managed for workhouses, boarding schools and several other of the less laudable Victorian institutions. Like Dickens, it has survived the test of time and remains on most “Children's Classic” lists. Although there are plenty of horsy adventures for the hero, Sewell manages to avoid almost all of the traps of anthropomorphism and sickening sentimentality that infest most kids' books that touch upon matters equine. This book should however come with a warning: it can be quite brutal, as was the Victorian's treatment of working horses and, when I first read it as a child of six I found it harrowing and desperately upsetting (although it does have a reasonably happy ending). At 44, I still can't read it without a tear and a lumpy throat so this is probably not one for the nursery bookshelf; however, it remains on my list of essential reading for children. My eight-year-old son is studying Victorian history as his school project and has put down Harry Potter in favour of this; trying to prevent my six-year-old, horse-mad daughter from picking it up may prove problematical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
top book for my 7yr old daughter who is crazy about animals. great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) (Hardcover)
excellent introduction to the book for young readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions)
Black Beauty (Young Reading Gift Editions) by Alan Marks (Hardcover - 25 Nov 2005)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews