Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of entertaining detail to explore
The 14 pages of this book cover different aspects of life in the Roman Empire, from the city streets, to the baths, to life in the army, and my son's favourite, the Colosseum.

Each page is crammed with interesting and humourous facts about Roman life. The liftable flaps are fun for adults to look at with young children (my son is nearly 5), and the bite size...
Published on 30 Aug. 2009 by fair critic

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
came before estimated delivery date
grate gift for children of all ages
i gave this item as a gift they loved it
Published 14 months ago by nikki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of entertaining detail to explore, 30 Aug. 2009
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
The 14 pages of this book cover different aspects of life in the Roman Empire, from the city streets, to the baths, to life in the army, and my son's favourite, the Colosseum.

Each page is crammed with interesting and humourous facts about Roman life. The liftable flaps are fun for adults to look at with young children (my son is nearly 5), and the bite size chunks of information make learning possible for those with a short attention span! However, due to the complexity, I think the book is really aimed at older children, who would enjoy reading this book by themselves, since there is plenty of detail to explore. I expect we'll have lots of use out of it in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Ruth (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
Bought to introduce young children to the Romans in advance of a trip to Rome. I chose this particular book as we have several in the "Look Inside" Series and they are a great way to engage the interest of younger children. Also the blurb seemed to suggest it was more focused on the actual city of Ancient Rome rather than generic Roman subjects. Unfortunately it was a bit disappointing in that respect. There are generic pages on the army, baths and housing which are covered in all the other Romans books we have looked at. It does relate the gladiator games specifically to the Colosseum but I was disappointed that there was no mention of chariot races/Circus Maximus (maybe a more suitable subject for the Games page than gladiators for younger readers?) or the Panthenon which would have covered two more of the sights of Rome. That said it is a lovely book with wonderful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Oct. 2013
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my five-year-old son, who is obsessed by all things Roman. He found it fascinating, with interesting facts described at his level of understanding, and he loved all the flaps. This remains one of our favourite books for long trips. My only complaint is that the "Port Life" page shows a Roman war galley with a flap that lift to reveal an overseer directing a gang of galley slaves. This is historically inaccurate. On the bright side, it's useful as an example for my son of how you can't necessarily believe everything you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase for my grandson, nearly three, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
My grandson is going to arome on holiday next year so bought this to talk about the city and its history. He loved it! Fascinated by the wonderfully detailed pictures and information he loved the flaps and insisted on having his " big book" read over and over again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book from the See Inside series, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
This covered several key areas of Roman life and really engaged my bright 5 year old. It is perhaps not as detailed as some in the collection (how things work and space) but it really sparked his interest in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant learning tool, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
This book , together with others in the series, is extremely informative and well designed . Our grandson has great fun seeking what is behind each covered tag - a very clever design technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful!, 6 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
My daughter is thrilled with her copy of this book. She had taken it out of the local library many times, and now has her own copy! She adores looking at the detail and reading the captions. She is a history and archaeology nut and she often stays up late, reading in bed - and this book is often found by her bed late at night!
The pictures are wonderful and the flaps are lovely - robust and colourful, with a lovely mix of quirky text and more detail beneath. A good buy for 6-8 year olds. Would also make a lovely present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See inside ancient Rome, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
This was a Chrismas present for my 61/2 year old grandaughter, she loves the series of see inside books. I would give most of the series 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as always Usborne, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
Fantastic as always Usborne. My boy is doing Ancient Rome at school and we have very much enjoyed reading it together. I learnt as much as he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside) (Hardcover)
See Inside Ancient Rome ( Usborne Flap Books)
All the See Inside Books are amazing for any school age child I would recommend them to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

See Inside Ancient Rome (Usborne Flap Books) (Usborne See Inside)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews