Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


312 of 320 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for young girls
I bought this book for my 9yr old daughter who is going through early puberty. Very child-friendly (there aren't many books on this topic that are aimed at the younger end of the puberty age range).It's very well written, nicely laid out so it doesn't look daunting! Easily understood and with good diagrams. It does mention a couple of topics I would have preferred to...
Published on 28 Sept. 2006 by jaxder

versus
86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
hiya,
I was 9 or 10 when got this book,I got it at a school book fair.
This book is okay but it does not give all the infomation i need(i am now 11 using mums account). If you are 9 or something it would be better for you but if not i would go for GIRLS ONLY! as it is a great book and even has little speech bubbles for people who have wrote in.
but still a...
Published on 13 Nov. 2008 by A. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

312 of 320 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for young girls, 28 Sept. 2006
By 
jaxder (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 9yr old daughter who is going through early puberty. Very child-friendly (there aren't many books on this topic that are aimed at the younger end of the puberty age range).It's very well written, nicely laid out so it doesn't look daunting! Easily understood and with good diagrams. It does mention a couple of topics I would have preferred to leave until later (ie masturbation and sex), but only one or two sentences. It's good for explaining why puberty causes mood swings, spots and sore bits. I have recommended this book to several friends, my daughter loves it and has read it cover to cover several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Nov. 2008
By 
A. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
hiya,
I was 9 or 10 when got this book,I got it at a school book fair.
This book is okay but it does not give all the infomation i need(i am now 11 using mums account). If you are 9 or something it would be better for you but if not i would go for GIRLS ONLY! as it is a great book and even has little speech bubbles for people who have wrote in.
but still a good bookxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for girls aged 8 - 14 easy to read a chance for the girls to understand what's going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aimed just right for 8-12 year olds., 24 Sept. 2008
I am surprised at a reviewer finding this too explicit as I looked long and hard at many books on this subject and this was the only one with enough detail to explain yet not so much to scare a child. Somebody who finds this too explicit may simply not be ready to cover this subject with their child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's Happening To Me., 23 Oct. 2008
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I received this book today for my daughter.
I have to say.... I think it is fab.
It's vey well presented and lets the kids know what to expect in their own language and lets them know it's ok not to feel the same way about things as everyone else.
My daughter is 10 and feels shy talking to me about these things especially sex, and while i dont want to her know the full ins and outs (pardon the pun) i would rather she heard it from me, or a book i have given her to what she hears in the school playground. Lets face it, they hear a lot!!!!
The way the actual act of sex is described (I) feel is'nt too indepth especially compared to other books, and again it talks about 'making love' and 'make people feel good AND bad'
The part at the back about the boys surprised me at first, as a bit too much detail, but, after reading it, I think it is about the right
amount, girls need to know that boys have issues too!!!!
Sorry to go on so much but I found this a very hard subject to find the right book on, now i've found it i will be telling anyone who will listen to me LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be a set of cards, 5 Sept. 2012
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
This book should be a series of cards in a box. I bought it for my 9 year old as she's starting to change shape and smell a bit and I wanted to provide some explanation but I think the stuff about masturbation is a bit much. If you had each section as a card in a box you could give out a bit at a time, ie. when you think your child is ready. The explanations are good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It proved useful and allowed her the chance to read through in ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
Bought for my (then 11 year old) daughter who was needing some information but wasn't one to ask questions freely so after discussion with a colleague bought this as a way to enlighten and answer a few of her questions. It proved useful and allowed her the chance to read through in her own time, without embarassment with me, and then promptly passed it on to her younger sister a few years later.
For any parent unsure how to broach the subject of puberty, sex education, emotions or anything involved in the changes their girls will go through I recommend this as a good starter. It certainly helped to illustrate that this is a completly natural process and not one to be ashamed or scarred of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's happening to me?, 4 Jun. 2010
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I had already bought the book 'The Little Book of Growing Up' which I found absolutely fantastic and wanted to move on to a book which dealt with other issues in a little more detail. When the book arrived I read it fully before giving it to my daughter who is 10. I am now returning the book as I really dont feel my daughter needs to know about feeling sexually attracted to other people, masturbation and orgasms at this early stage...(however short the sentences regarding these issues were...they were still addressed!)
I am a young Mum and no prude at all. I am also a nurse working with school age children but I am quite concerned about some points raised. It is a shame as the rest of the book is very well done with excellent diagrams. The points raised about health and body image are also very well explained.I fully understand that these particular issues will arise eventually and I will then have to deal with them...but I feel I myself will perhaps be able to explain them in a more delicate way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just the right amount of info for young ones., 23 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
Easy to understand,with the right amount of information. I was worried to share this with my 10 year old,but need not have been.She found it easy to read and picks it up regularly if worried about anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for pre-teens, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Fisher "Sarah Fish" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
Got this for my 9 year old daughter. Nice format and clear language. Content appropriate for pre-teen, nothing too scary but explains the questions asked at this age well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition)  (Facts of Life)
What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) by Susan Meredith (Paperback - 31 Mar. 2006)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews