Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


295 of 300 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for young girls
I bought this book for my 9yr old daughter who is going through early puberty. Very child-friendly (there aren't many books on this topic that are aimed at the younger end of the puberty age range).It's very well written, nicely laid out so it doesn't look daunting! Easily understood and with good diagrams. It does mention a couple of topics I would have preferred to...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by jaxder

versus
57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
hiya,
I was 9 or 10 when got this book,I got it at a school book fair.
This book is okay but it does not give all the infomation i need(i am now 11 using mums account). If you are 9 or something it would be better for you but if not i would go for GIRLS ONLY! as it is a great book and even has little speech bubbles for people who have wrote in.
but still a...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by A. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

295 of 300 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for young girls, 28 Sep 2006
By 
jaxder (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 9yr old daughter who is going through early puberty. Very child-friendly (there aren't many books on this topic that are aimed at the younger end of the puberty age range).It's very well written, nicely laid out so it doesn't look daunting! Easily understood and with good diagrams. It does mention a couple of topics I would have preferred to leave until later (ie masturbation and sex), but only one or two sentences. It's good for explaining why puberty causes mood swings, spots and sore bits. I have recommended this book to several friends, my daughter loves it and has read it cover to cover several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Nov 2008
By 
A. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
hiya,
I was 9 or 10 when got this book,I got it at a school book fair.
This book is okay but it does not give all the infomation i need(i am now 11 using mums account). If you are 9 or something it would be better for you but if not i would go for GIRLS ONLY! as it is a great book and even has little speech bubbles for people who have wrote in.
but still a good bookxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for pre-teens, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Fisher "Sarah Fish" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
Got this for my 9 year old daughter. Nice format and clear language. Content appropriate for pre-teen, nothing too scary but explains the questions asked at this age well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's Happening To Me., 23 Oct 2008
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I received this book today for my daughter.
I have to say.... I think it is fab.
It's vey well presented and lets the kids know what to expect in their own language and lets them know it's ok not to feel the same way about things as everyone else.
My daughter is 10 and feels shy talking to me about these things especially sex, and while i dont want to her know the full ins and outs (pardon the pun) i would rather she heard it from me, or a book i have given her to what she hears in the school playground. Lets face it, they hear a lot!!!!
The way the actual act of sex is described (I) feel is'nt too indepth especially compared to other books, and again it talks about 'making love' and 'make people feel good AND bad'
The part at the back about the boys surprised me at first, as a bit too much detail, but, after reading it, I think it is about the right
amount, girls need to know that boys have issues too!!!!
Sorry to go on so much but I found this a very hard subject to find the right book on, now i've found it i will be telling anyone who will listen to me LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aimed just right for 8-12 year olds., 24 Sep 2008
I am surprised at a reviewer finding this too explicit as I looked long and hard at many books on this subject and this was the only one with enough detail to explain yet not so much to scare a child. Somebody who finds this too explicit may simply not be ready to cover this subject with their child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend!, 21 July 2011
By 
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
My 8 year old loves this book. Clear and age appropriate information about puberty & sex with good illustrations. We read it together the first time so I could answer any questions that arose, and now she keeps dipping into it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended!, 12 May 2011
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I never leave reviews, but I'll make an exception for this one!
My daughter is just 9, and the first signs of puberty are appearing, so I needed to explain what was happening. She has no previous knowledge of puberty, sex or any related subject.
This book is written in concise and informative sections covering everything you need it to; periods, boobs and bras, hair in new places, sex, emotions, spots, exercise, eating well, keeping clean, and everything else you can think of! I can honestly say that at no point have I felt that anything relevant was overlooked. It also has a section about changes in boys (I think there is a 'boy' version of this book available too).
It's beautifully illustrated in colour throughout, and has easy to understand diagrams where appropriate.
It's taken much of the mystery and fear out of what could have been a scary time for her, and has opened the way for us to have sensible but lighthearted chats about how she will change in the coming years. I must admit that broaching the subject with her was a terrifying thought, but this book has got the ball rolling.
It's appropriate for approximately age 9 - 12 (although would probably be OK for slightly younger/older girls too), and is written in a way that is easy to read and in language she understands - proper names and scientific terms are all explained too.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough, and as my daughter has read it 3 times in the few days since she received it, I guess she'd recommend it highly too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for girls aged 8 - 14 easy to read a chance for the girls to understand what's going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply aa interesting little book., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I just loved reading it to my child. The text was very clear and concise and not much explanation needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but covers a little too much, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 8 year old. She is really too young to be going through this but having an end-of-August birthday she is mixing with girls practically a year older than she is and some of them are starting to (mainly emotionally - blowing hot and cold, moody etc), so I felt it would be useful to introduce her to what is going on with them, and I felt this takes the pressure off the realisation of what will be happening to her as it is impersonal to her at the moment. I was primarily looking for a book which just addressed the issues of emotional changes, boobs and hair and this seemed like the best book for that. On receiving the book however, I did feel that it covers issues that I would rather leave until she is probably about 12-13 (particularly sex and drugs). My solution on giving this book to my daughter was to place a marker at the point I felt it was suitable for her to stop reading and explain that I don't feel she needs to know what is beyond the marker but its fine to look and ask questions about it.

I do feel this book is suitable for my requirements in helping my daughter and its quite nice for her to have a book which will be relevant for the next few years, covering the whole spectrum of pubescent issues. This morning, for example, I was told off for not having breakfast with her as "my special book says you will feel sluggish"!

The good points about this book are:
1. The lay-out is very appealing to younger children with child-like font, cartoons, nice colours etc
2. Good, sensible tips about managing the effects of puberty (eg trim bushy pubic hair if it ets embarrassing when swimming and ideas of how to manage unexpected periods)
3. It addresses hygiene and health issues - diet, dental advice, exercise and rest and hygiene very well - 10 pages worth.

My downsides are:
1. Lack of alternatives: There is no alternative advice to shaving excess hair (underarms and legs) and it states "Most girls feel happier using sanitary towels when they first start their periods". Do they? I didn't! I think assumptions should be avoided in personal educational books like this!
2. I would have prefered to keep masterbation, orgasms, drugs (no matter how brief the mention) and the section on boys seperate for a few years - particularly as boys go through puberty slightly later - it is irrelevant to my daughter's need to know about her own body's changes.

Overall, I am happy with the book and despite fretting that I was imposing too much on my daughter, too young, I am really happy that I have done it and my daughter now refers to it as "my special book". In my opinion I feel this book should be aimed at age 9 on or where, like our situation, the social circle is around the age of 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition)  (Facts of Life)
What's Happening to Me? (Girls Edition) (Facts of Life) by Susan Meredith (Paperback - 31 Mar 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews