Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 star reading series, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
Usborne Young Reading is an outstanding series of condensed versions of classic works of children's and adult literature, along with a few non-fiction titles. We have about a dozen of these now as my daughter is getting through about one a week. They are intended for children who are beginning to read alone but they are equally suited to an earlier stage with a child reading aloud to an adult. As well as being exciting stories with lovely illustrations, there is a high level of consistency in reading standard within each of the three levels - not just text size and word count but most importantly difficulty of individual words (which is where most "reading books" fall down). There are also speech bubbles in some of the illustrations, often amusing ones, which go down very well. Different titles also introduce a good variety of non-English names, acronyms, abbreviations, dates etc. I cannot recommend this series highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great short book, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
Great short book of a fab story. Will definitely be buying a longer version, my 6 year old enjoyed the story very much and was excited that he could try and read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Ms Behavin "Ms B" (SW London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
Got this for my 6 year old who adores these books. He really enjoyed the story of Phileas Fogg's travels and Fogg not knowing Inspector Fix was trying to arrest him! He also reckoned he could get around the world in one day because he'd be in an super jet plane and not on an elephant, camel or boat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
This is a great book. My year 3 class love listening to the usborne classic stories and I enjoy reading them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, 24 Sep 2011
By 
K. Rugg "chaperon rouge" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
As a child I must have read every single Jules Verne in French, my first language. I am so eager to share them with my son. As well as being great adventures they are full of information and facts.
I still have my first Atlas which is criss crossed with the lines I drew following the journeys of JVs characters.
Jules Verne turned scientific discovery into adventure with the help of some great characters.
The usborne young reader books are of course very abridged (60ish pages)but are a great introduction to some great stories.
They are very well presented with good art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grown up reading for little improvers, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
I am not a big fan of revised versions of classic books but I have to admit that I have bought a few from this series and they have given my daughter - a fast improving new reader - a great incentive to indulge her love of books. They are quite manageable for her age (5) and ability and will hopefully inspire her to read the originals when she is older. She likes the fact that these books are in chapters with plenty of illustrations, so she doesn't feel overwhelmed or obliged to read the whole book in one sitting. Her older sister - a competent free reader at 7 years old has also been enjoying these books when she fancies a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book with good price n fast delivery, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
I think this is one of the must-read books for children as it takes the children to different countries with their own imagination. Very educational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Around the World in 80 Days, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
Arrived as described. In good condition.Useful teaching resource.Will be using it as part of my literacy planning during the next term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, easy to read for students and they enjoyed the pictures inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2))
Around the World in Eighty Days (Young Reading (Series 2)) by Jules Verne (Hardcover - 25 Jun 2004)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews