Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for adults who need a quick reference guide
A great little book to keep on your shelf, colleagues will laugh a bit when they see it but answers your grammar based queries with ease and in a simplistic understandable way. Somebody should have bought this for me when I was a child!
Published on 23 Nov. 2008 by Chris Lambell

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars grammar explained
The content is, as you would expect from Usborne, very well done, BUT----too much crammed onto each page, page size too small. The same content , more spaced out, would have been really good. As it is, it needs a lot of adult input, and lots of extracting material and re-presenting it more clearly. I would only use this as a teaching aid and as back-up to workbooks which...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Ms. C. A. Oladipo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars grammar explained, 12 May 2011
By 
Ms. C. A. Oladipo "callyO" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
The content is, as you would expect from Usborne, very well done, BUT----too much crammed onto each page, page size too small. The same content , more spaced out, would have been really good. As it is, it needs a lot of adult input, and lots of extracting material and re-presenting it more clearly. I would only use this as a teaching aid and as back-up to workbooks which are more accessible for children to use independently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for adults who need a quick reference guide, 23 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
A great little book to keep on your shelf, colleagues will laugh a bit when they see it but answers your grammar based queries with ease and in a simplistic understandable way. Somebody should have bought this for me when I was a child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help for Kids, 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
My son was having a little bit of trouble with his grammar at school. I bought him this book and it has helped him no end. A great help and a great buy for all those kids (and adults!!) in the same boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent should have one., 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
If you buy one book to help your child with English, it should be this one. Clear easy to understand. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
have used for a youngster who needed help for common entrance, very lively fun book with good exercises. would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Help for parents who can't remember what adverbs are!!!, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
Did we really have 'auxiliary' verbs when we were at school? I certainly don't remember learning about 'predicates'! Bought this little book on recommendation from a friend who was also struggling to help her Year Six daughter with the grammar element of this year's SATs tests. It's really simple to use and clearly laid out and has been an education for our whole household!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic Little Book!, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who wants to start writing but lacks confidence in their grammatical ability. OK so not much use if you're wanting to get a double first in English Language at Oxbridge but for us lesser mortals it sets out the rules in an easy to understand format. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and user friendly, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
Perfect for brushing up on all the basics of English grammar. Suitable for a range of ages with appealing illustrations that make what could be a dry and dusty subject into a much more interesting topic. Handy to have by you if teaching in primary school (or even lower secondary).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
I just wanted something straight forward, without going into degree level grammar, because I was studying Greek and it had been a long time since I'd done any grammar and struggled with definitions. The book was so good my friend borrowed it and I never got it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and efficient, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Grammar (English Guides) (Paperback)
I'm using this grammar book for my English class (Germany). The students understand it without difficulty. The only flaw I was able to find is that the pages are too cramped and thus cannot be copied in whole. Instead I have to rearrange them manually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Grammar (English Guides)
English Grammar (English Guides) by C. Watson (Paperback - 25 July 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews