Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to learn World History!
Would you like to see your name in hieroglyphics or cuneiform? Would you like to listen to dozens of famous speeches from throughout the 20th century? How about going on a virtual tour of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World? If you have Internet access, you can do this and more with a copy of this book.Web sites to enhance each period of history are listed in the...
Published on 18 Aug 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but the illustrations really bothered me
While this book was fun to read, it bothered me a lot that the illustrations seemed both racist and sexist. In the illustrations of pre-historic and early village life scenes, men were seen hunting or farming and doing all the work, while women were just sitting around being cared for... what about showing them gathering, tending children, and doing the cooking/tent...
Published 16 months ago by MysteryLover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to learn World History!, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Would you like to see your name in hieroglyphics or cuneiform? Would you like to listen to dozens of famous speeches from throughout the 20th century? How about going on a virtual tour of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World? If you have Internet access, you can do this and more with a copy of this book.Web sites to enhance each period of history are listed in the book and can be accessed through the publisher's web site. These are HIGHLY REPUTABLE sites from universities, museums and other instititutions throughout the world. The book is divided into 4 sections: Prehistoric World, Ancient World, Medieval World, and the Last 500 Years. Even without internet access, the book stands on it's own as a thorough reference of history from the Big Bang to the New Millenium. As with all Usborne books, there are fascinating illustrations and photographs to complement the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History, 13 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History (Paperback)
I'm a primary English teacher in Spain that teaches content in english and usually have great dificulty to find suitable matrials for my classes. I'm currently developing with my 10-11 year old pupils a unit on History and I've found this book very useful because of the information and, mainly, because the way that the information is arranged and presented to the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usborne Encyclopaedia of World History, 8 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before sending the kids to the PC for their history homework, direct them to the bookshelf and the Usborne Encyclopaedia of World History. With a massive range of topics, the encyclopaedia will then direct your young historians to the best pages on the web for their project. Detailed illustrations and colour photographs are supplemented with informative and interesting text, encouraging KS3 and KS4 readers to delve deeper into fascinating bygone worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best book, 22 July 2003
This book has the best internet links to other sites. It has good illistrations. The thing i like about it is that is has alot of info on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History (Paperback)
I have bought this to accompany the Science encyclopedia which is in frequent use in our house with kids aged from 7 to 14. They are really informative, easy to get the info you need, but also great coffee table books for mindless browsing. Great buy and even better if you can get a good quality used one...but they are worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but the illustrations really bothered me, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History (Paperback)
While this book was fun to read, it bothered me a lot that the illustrations seemed both racist and sexist. In the illustrations of pre-historic and early village life scenes, men were seen hunting or farming and doing all the work, while women were just sitting around being cared for... what about showing them gathering, tending children, and doing the cooking/tent making etc? The races of the people were oddly drawn... why is everyone is the Middle East and Asia shown as white? It seemed like the book really glossed over slavery in the classical period also... it showed slaves and referred to them, but then referred to "the people" of a society such as ancient Greece in the context only of the wealthy or elite of that society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fascinating!, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History (Paperback)
Such an amazing read! I could spend hours at a time reading through this book, it is amazingly detailed, yet in such an easy to understand way, making our world's history incredibly interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Usborne is a good recommendation in itself, 17 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is not an academic text intended for experienced students of history; it is a general introduction for younger students, although anyone interested in history but not experieced will enjoy it.

Like all the Usborne books in my experience, it is well-produced on good quality paper, each page filled with information, photographs, maps and other stunning lllustrations and having the effect of attracting readers to the pages. It covers an enormous period of time:

Prehistoric World
Ancient World
Medieval World
The Last 500 Years

It also has Internet links, which I have not explored fully, but it does show Usbrone's forward-looking approach to books.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing learning experience, 9 July 2009
By 
Ms A. Breen (Coventry, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History (Paperback)
This book provides a brilliant introduction to history. The chronological order of events really helps to place historical events in context. The text is easy to read and informative. It does not overwhelm the child but provides internet links so that subjects can be studied in more detail when required.

I cannot praise this book highly enough - I have already told several of my friends about it. I have also bought the usborne internet-linked encyclopedias of science, geography, english and maths and they are of an equally high calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Usborne Internet-linked Encyclopedia of World History
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews