Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making Arabic child's play
The Usborne First Thousand Words in Arabic book is big, colourful and contains loads of pictures and words; I didn't count them but I assume 1000. It looks like a children's book but so what? It is a long time since I left school but, as a novice learning Arabic, I find it invaluable.

There are 50 pages of pictures with accompanying Arabic words and their...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by P. Harkins

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware
I bought this book for my children whom I am teaching Arabic. It's not bad, the concept is great but a number of unnecessary blunders have ruined it from being an essential and worthwhile buy. To proceed, there is a number of spelling mistakes in the Arabic script, likewise marred by a more voluminous amount of wrong and confusing transliterations into the Latin...
Published on 16 Nov. 2009 by CO


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
A good place to start for basic arabic vocabulary. Pictures are clear and easy to identify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Thousand Words In Arabic, 30 Sept. 2010
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
I soo love this book! Its perfect for beginners as you're just learning nouns. The drawings are very attractive too which makes it fun to learn.
And certainly there are no mistakes because my friend who is a native arabic speaker was impressed even with my pronunciation. She understood everything.
So thanks a lot ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New vocabulary, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
Whilst this book is aimed at kids, it suits my purpose of learning vocabulary. It is not always clear exactly what the object is though and could be more than one in some instances. Might be a good idea to also have the English equivalent as well just to be completely clear. Easy to understand in the main though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars also very good for multilingual children as all "items" on pages can ..., 7 Oct. 2014
lovely book for children 2,5 years upwards..also very good for multilingual children as all "items" on pages can be gone through in different languages to grow their vocabulary before children can read. Book consists of sections dedicated to different subjects, e.g. "At a doctor" and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pictures - excellent pronunciation guide, 11 May 2015
By 
Ann Taylor (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully illustrated book with all the elements I remember from the English and French 1,000 words. My Arabic speaking Son-in-law is also very impressed with it and says the English script pronunciation guide is spot on! He reckons if I learn ll the words I will be able to speak Arabic, no problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great starter book!, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
good fun book meant for kids but I am an adult learner and find it useful for the most part.

Only drawback is there are no english written words next to the pictures and a couple of the items are ambiguous, but it is a quick and easy way to pick up vocab. Not bad as a starter book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This range of books comes in the exact same format for many different languages and they are geat., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
All my family members use this book. We take it wherever we go. We also have the French version as we are trying to learn/improve French at the same and because the format is the same for each language it is very easy to compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for home learning, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
What can I say it a Arabic text book. It has lots of varying scenarios which are easy to follow and expand on. Most importantly it contains pictures and the most commonly used words to embed the knowledge into those young minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Arabic language source for students of Arabic, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic unnassuming book and is excellent value for money. As a student of Arabic, this book is invaluable in its way of categorising all your subject related words into individual, easily accessible, visual pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My toddler absolutely loves this book she ponders over the pictures for ages. Loads of vocabulary. Only downside is it doesn't have the English translation at the bottom of each word like the 'First Hundred Words in Arabic'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words)
First 1000 Words in Arabic (Usborne First 1000 Words) by Heather Amery (Paperback - 13 Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews