Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fun-filled guide to your body.
This book is well up to the usual Usborne standard:enjoyable,educational and reaching kids through all learning channnels(VAK).My kids chuckled,gasped and "oo-ed" as the information was revealed in a down-to-earth and easily-understood fashion.The little on was fascinated by haw his insides dealt with food and the older one had her embarrassing questions about...
Published on 2 Nov 2000

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK in general - but missing one vital bit of information !
In general this is a good and useful book for discussing how various bits of the body work with your children. A little bit too complex for my 3 year old (probably more appropriate for a 5 year old) but we just missed out some of the more difficult bits & she really liked it. But . . . I can't believe that a book entitled 'How are babies made' doesn't explain how the...
Published on 5 May 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK in general - but missing one vital bit of information !, 5 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
In general this is a good and useful book for discussing how various bits of the body work with your children. A little bit too complex for my 3 year old (probably more appropriate for a 5 year old) but we just missed out some of the more difficult bits & she really liked it. But . . . I can't believe that a book entitled 'How are babies made' doesn't explain how the sperm gets to the egg. Its such a major omission that it really spoiled the book for me. There's no need to be this coy, I would have thought that anyone buying a book with this title would have expected a proper explanation & pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fun-filled guide to your body., 2 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
This book is well up to the usual Usborne standard:enjoyable,educational and reaching kids through all learning channnels(VAK).My kids chuckled,gasped and "oo-ed" as the information was revealed in a down-to-earth and easily-understood fashion.The little on was fascinated by haw his insides dealt with food and the older one had her embarrassing questions about sex answered(without too much embarrassment from Mum!).They both said they knew everything about the five senses "coz we did it in school"...but were surprised and delighted by the under-the- flap stuff.The only problem was the unanswered question "Yes,but how does it get to the egg?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 28 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
Excellent set of three flippy-flappy books for young children, written with skill and sensitivity.

"What happens to your food?" went down best, from the importance of choosing food to the inevitable messy outcome.

"How are babies made" went down well too, and enough was explained here without too much embarrassment to child or parent behind those flaps. Phew!

"How do your senses work?" was great fun - and explores touch, sight, sound, smell, and the other one in an amusing fashion.

A great set of books, heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Making babies shouldn't be a dirty secret... this is prudish!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
I was very disappointed in this book. We got it for our three year old son who asks a lot of questions and we thought he would be fascinated in the science of the body. The format is great and the illustrations and flaps are good... but for goodness sake..... a pretty essential pair of flaps are missing from the section about making babies!

I don't know if it's the author or the editor that's responsible, but someone is living in the wrong decade. There is no mention or illustration of female or male genitals, and no mention or illustration of sex. There is just a drawing of a sperm and an egg. To a child that is completely obscure and ridiculous.

This book was a birthday present for our son, which I'd have been loathe to hand him. It suggests that there is something wrong with these bits of our bodies, that they shouldn't be talked about and understood and that they are something to be ashamed of. Shame on you, Usborne for publishing it like this.

Thankfully my parents had kept my early 1980s copy of 'The Body Book' by Clare Rayner, bought for me when I was the same age. You can still find old copies on Amazon or elsewhere, and I suggest you go for this book instead. I read it so many times as a kid, and was fascinated by it. And it contains proper pictures of a penis 'standing to attention' (erect... I always had a good giggle at this) and a couple making love. I'd recommend other parents buy this other body book instead.

Children in the 1970s were being told the whole story. This book is a big leap backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good book but needed an innocent explanation without spoiling a ..., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
I live quite a way from my daughter and grandson and a 7 year old asking where babies come from..... for once I am thankful I live far away oops x child friendly but when he read it, he still said 'it did not say how it happened' x So... a good book but needed an innocent explanation without spoiling a child's innocence xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
A really well written book that has my five year old entranced. The quizzes at the end of each section are good fun for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flip flap Body Book, 18 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Rosemary Aswhworth (Bolton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
Excellent for the very young who are getting curious about what goes on inside them!
The flaps are always a big hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
What Happens to Your Food? (Flip Flap)

Our 3 year old is fascinated by this book which we read most days, predictably she tends to be hooked on the making of poo, but also likes the how your tongue tastes things and the baby growing in the mummy....I think this book will continue to inform for future years as well - as language and illustrations will be acceptable for 4-5 year olds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a frined of mine, i bought it for my 4 year old, she really likes it and loves the pictures, slightly embarassing at the making babies section but other than that would definatley recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for 6 year old readers, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flip Flap Body Book: "What Happens to Your Food?", "How are Babies Made?", "How Do Your Senses Work?" (Paperback)
Well written informative little book which is pitched at reading standard of 6 year olds and above. Our granddaughter aged just six loves it and has managed to read out loud almost the whole book at one reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews