Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and cute, 17 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
As someone returning to German and trying to brush up on lost vocabulary I am finding this useful, even though it's clearly a kid's book. It's just more fun to sit browsing through this of an evening, rather than scrolling through long lists of vocab. More useful, I would imagine, in a classroom situation, as the large pictures would surely make for great Q and A sessions... direct the postman to the post office.... tell the little girl where her dog is.... describe what's under the window etc etc etc... The illustrations are very sweet too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn those articles., 25 Dec 2000
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is like a mini version of The Oxford-Duden Pictorial German-English Dictionary.
Only this one shows the big picture. It has an index of words and more words that at not pictured. It even comes with an Easy Pronunciation Guide. The pictures are cute and colorful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great visual aide!, 14 Dec 2008
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
This book is great for two reasons:

1) The article is included with each word, making it easier to remember (e.g. "die Leiter")

2) The pictures help you put the words in context - it's how we learn naturally! I am learning quickly from this book - I try to do a double-page spread each evening in bed, then I test myself by looking at the central picture and trying to name the things in it. I also find it useful because I can try to describe out loud in German what is going on in the each picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for mastering the der's, die's & das's in German, 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
The book's a great way to learn. The genders are listed alongside every noun helping to build the foundations of learning German, without you even realising.
Although the cartoon pictures and hidden duck on every page may be aimed at a younger audience, I believe it has a lot to offer GCSE and A-level pupils too.
I'm graduating from Uni this year - I only wish I'd discovered it sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for starters, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Anitha Babu "A. Babu" (München) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
I am one other person thriving to learn German, and was completley clueless where to start. Had to do a lot of research on which book to buy. I am a consultant and have very limited time to invest on studying. I was looking for a book that is fun to learn and just needs little time everyday. And this book is jus perfect. It has all i was looking for. Everyday you sincerely invest 10min, am sure you will pick up the basics. I wont say you will learn and master german, but you will definitely pick up the essentials which ofcourse you have to put into practice a lot.I am highly satisfied with my choice and will definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for to learn german with limited time investment everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful aid, 15 Feb 2012
By 
A. McGrath - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
I'm finding this book very useful, as one of the biggest problems when learning a language is finding out the names of objects, how to describe them, pronounce them and a list of common verbs, in a way that is easy to remember. This book does it very well. The online pronunciation guide is great but would have been better had they included it on a DVD or CD (even if this meant at a little extra cost). Although it may seem like a child's book its format is used in other far more expensive language methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German First Thousand Wods, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
This is a great book if you you are learning German, it is easy to attach everyday items with the German equivalent, bought the English version for my German friend who is learning English and also have the French version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firsrt 1000 words in German, 8 Nov 2010
By 
J. Carter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
Primarily aimed at children, it is full of brightly coloured pictures along with the corresponding German word. As you progress, some of the words get more difficult but that adds to the fun of it all - to look back and review your progress. It has been a long time, 30 years+ since I passed my GCE and my daughter have made an evening game of one page and I'm not sure who enjoys it more. The author has split the activities into seperate sections to make life easier and it works for Poppy and I. A great teaching aid, she could almost sit the GCSE now,a year before time, because of this book alone. Had I seen a copy in the local Waterstones (OOPS) I would have purchased it immediately. It has also switched my brain on again and we have 'subject' evenings to see if we can converse for an hour from one of the subject pages. Its great positive is that it is pictures and words not just lists of words and their grammatical use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, colourful!, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Cat (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
This is very similar to a book I had as a child, when I was learning English (my first language). It is excellently laid out, beautifully illustrated and logically composed. I find it a joy to look through and its nature is well suited to my preferred method of learning a foreign language - through the eyes of a child, so to speak. It is very different from a lot of the other language books aimed at adult learners, which are often quite heavy to read, meaning progress can be slow. Obviously this is great for those who have a good photographic memory as the pictures are accompanied clearly by their names and genders. The book is usefully separated into vocab clusters, for example words relating to the living room are grouped around a picture of the living room, sports and hobbies likewise. This is the kind of book you can dip in and out of, flick to the bits relevant to your learning and pick things up as you go along, which gives you a sense of progress and achievement. There are lots of engaging scenarios (story boards) to put what you've learnt to use and a few grammatical pointers to clarify. I think the most important thing about learning a language is to find the method best suited to you, and I certainly would recommend this is you don't have the inclination to plough through a typically academic language text book, which can for some be dry, tedious and discouraging. Suitable for all levels and is a great companion to the Usborne Learning German book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for learning German!, 19 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) (Paperback)
This book is absolutely ideal for either adults learning German or for young children.

It starts off with an introduction to masculine, feminine and neuter words (Der, Die, Das), uses of capital letters, and weird letters and signs (e.g. ß and the umlaut). Furthermore, it even goes on to supplying you with a link to a website for listening to the pronunciations of the 1000 German words in the book, print out some German picture puzzles for free, and find links to other useful websites about Germany and the German language.

But what about the content of the actual book?
The book itself consists of double-page pictures to show practical scenarios and then identify everything in the scenario, so you can learn the German words for everyday things, such as in the hospital (Das Krankenhaus), at the airport (Der Flughafen), or on the street (Die Straße).

In addition to the many scenarios offered, you can also learn the names for activities, like running (rennen), singing (singen), sleeping (schlafen), waiting (warten), drinking (trinken), etc.

Opposites are covered, e.g. small (klein) and big (groß), days of the week and times of the day, special occasions, e.g. a wedding (die Hochzeit), the weather, the seasons, pets, animals, a wide variety of sport from das Kricket to das Sumo, colours, shapes, numbers, and less common scenarios, such as the fair (Der Jahrmarkt) and the circus (Der Zirkus).

To complete the book, on the back pages there is also a comprehensive A-Z word list, just in case you have difficulty finding a particular word, understanding its translation, or need a bit more practice with pronunciation.

My opinion? BUY THIS BOOK.
It's definitely essential for learning the German language.

Oh, and if you're learning any other languages, this exact book is also available in other languages, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words)
First Thousand Words in German (Usborne First Thousand Words) by Heather Amery (Paperback - 8 Dec 1995)
£6.43
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews