Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Kids and Adults Alike
Bought this and the Italian version for the kids and they love it. I even found it useful for building general vocabulary. The kids love looking at the pictures and finding hidden items. You have to use a bit of pursuasion to get them interested in the corresponding French names, but once they get going it's fine.

My 8 year old daughter reads this every...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Simon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than I expected
I didn't expect it to be quite so small so was disappointed that it doesn't do justice to the lovely pictures
Published 9 months ago by Amey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Kids and Adults Alike, 5 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
Bought this and the Italian version for the kids and they love it. I even found it useful for building general vocabulary. The kids love looking at the pictures and finding hidden items. You have to use a bit of pursuasion to get them interested in the corresponding French names, but once they get going it's fine.

My 8 year old daughter reads this every night before she goes to sleep and has picked up lots of words beyond what they're teaching at school.

Well worth a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, sceptical at first, not just for kids., 1 Feb 2002
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
I thought that i would give this book a go, if for no other reason than i had heard alot about the associative method in linguistics. Despite having to listen to endless, very funny ridicule from friends, i'm a 1000 words more verbose than before and i think that learning a language, before grasping the basics, is pointlessly difficult. Great fun and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine introduction, 28 Aug 2009
By 
C. Lawrence (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
Great for supporting those just learning french at school. Each page pictures a scene (a garden, beach, farm etc) and the french translation of every day words on the scene are framed around the page. This could do with a spot of updating (not quite sure we need every day words for a fun fair etc) but is colourful and informative. Some disappointments in that they only provide numbers up to 20 and we have days of weeks and the seasons, but strangely no months of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini book Maxi pleasure, 21 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a delightful little book. Will definately appeal to children. I am an adult learning French and have found it very useful for learning related groups such as clothing,colours,rooms in the house etc. The book is also small enough to carry about without takeing any space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book for French beginners. The vocabulary is set out in various scenarios eg. in the garden, at the playground, in the park. Each page is full of amusing cartoons which should hold the attention of any child. I found myself remembering long-forgotten French words, and even learning some new ones! My own son loved the English version when he was learning to talk thirty years ago, and I have bought this book in readiness for my granddaughter when she is old enough to start learning French (just in case it is unavailable then!) Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for young and old, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
Lovely book to help children and adults improve their french. This book is suitable for old children but it is helping me improve my vocabulary so I can teach my children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mk, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
just what you need to learn the words for everyday objects - it is the only way to learn and it is broken down into the environments that each word is applicable to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now to learn French better!, 30 Aug 2013
By 
G. Macpherson (France - not bi-lingual yet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
It may be second hand but my 'First thousand Words' arrived when it was expected, in very good condition, nicely packed. It's just what I hoped it would be - large, busy pictures that encourage discussion with a teacher on 'what's happening?' The pupil is aided by labelled icons around the margins of the page giving the French word for the mini-picture. I'm delighted with the book and hope there's a Second Thousand .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Learning., 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usborne's "First Thousand Words" series are great teaching aids especially for working with children. Whatever the language, the pictures are the same, and the family illustrated are a slightly caricatured version of an "Anglo-Saxon" style family. If you want insights into the landscape or culture of the target language country, these books are useless. But if you want to practise and learn vocabulary, especially if you are teaching somebody whose mother tongue you do not know, then these books are ideal. Every page has a picture full of colour, action and incident, with lots of humour. For the little ones, there is the fun of looking for the "little yellow duck" who is featured in each scene. (In the kitchen scene, he is to be found revolving behind the porthole of the washing machine, poor thing !) They are great for practising such questions and answers as "What colour is ....?", "How many ...can you see?", "What is X doing?", "What is Y going to do?" etc. etc. I must confess that I prefer the larger edition; the mini edition is rather small to appreciate all the detail in the pictures, perhaps, though far more convenient to carry about.
Adolescents would probably be snooty about these books as being too childish, but for younger children and for adults, these books are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For French learning, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Usborne First Thousand Words in French (Paperback)
This book has been of great fun to me and my family in the course of learning French. It receives my highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Usborne First Thousand Words in French
The Usborne First Thousand Words in French by Heather Amery (Paperback - 8 Dec 1995)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews