Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great fun and a good start
Salvete

I must say that this little booklet delivers more than I thought.

I was worried to find another boring to death Latin textbook that will cram your head with grammar and will give you almost nothing else..

Well, good news.. This one does not ! AT LAST a book promoting living latin.. a latin colloquial enough to be able to use...
Published on 16 Oct 2006 by Bernard M. Abel

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the fun factor
This book is a good way of inspiring interest in the Latin language - especially for younger children. However, it's not much use as a structured way of learning Latin and of very limited value as a preparation for reading ancient texts.
Published on 10 July 2008 by Aquila


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the fun factor, 10 July 2008
By 
Aquila (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
This book is a good way of inspiring interest in the Latin language - especially for younger children. However, it's not much use as a structured way of learning Latin and of very limited value as a preparation for reading ancient texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Latin for Beginners, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Michael J. Connor "Dry Fly" (Co. Clare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Like most people of my age, Latin was a compulsory subject for state exams. I last closed my Longmans Latin Grammar summer 1956, and forgot about the subject. As time passed I regretted that I did not continue to read latin. The book Latin for Beginners takes a different approach to that taken in the schools of my time; instead of learning off declensions and conjugations etc., to the point of boredom, it gets straight away into everyday language so that if one wanted to, one could hold simple conversations with others of a like mind. Unfortunately due to illness I have been unable to explore the entire book with it's internet links, but I am glad I bought it, and look forward to exploring it more fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 114 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who needs conversational Latin?, 22 Mar 2004
By 
T. Thurston (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
The Amazon synopsis for this book says what's wrong with this book: "This title deals with everyday situations in which children may find themselves while abroad." And therefore it's almost completely useless. As far as I know, no-one actually learns Latin to speak it on holiday. This book appears to be a Latin version of a book designed for learning French or German. So you learn how to ask someone's name, to buy an ice-cream, to go swimming, etc. There is almost no grammar in it at all, and it will not help you (or your child) read even the simplest of the classical authors. All that can be said for it is that it's attractively put together, with bright lively pages, but so is "Minimus", which I recommend instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great fun and a good start, 16 Oct 2006
By 
Bernard M. Abel "bearliners" (Langley, Berks, Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Salvete

I must say that this little booklet delivers more than I thought.

I was worried to find another boring to death Latin textbook that will cram your head with grammar and will give you almost nothing else..

Well, good news.. This one does not ! AT LAST a book promoting living latin.. a latin colloquial enough to be able to use..

Ok.. with who ? first yourself, nothing wrong in discovering a LIVING language.. it s nice to bring back to life The universality of Latin..

2nd. once you ve realised what a treasure latin is, you may want to share it with people around you, not only to read Plautus or Ovides, or harrius potter but simply, for the pleasure of challenging your brain by bringing back to life a language that was once, The Universal langage of the western world..the language used in colleges and university until the beginning of the XX century, a language strong enough to get Cicero into trouble, sexy and erotic enough to be read in some X rated pages from ovides in the "ars amatoria".. or scientific enough for Pline the elder to write about the vesuvius explosion, the one that destroyed Pompeii..

I think that it is about time that we all realise that Latin is not dead... just temporaly asleep.

This book is a lovely and fun wake up call..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment for adult beginners, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
As an adult beginner, you may not like this as a book written for children. It has bright, lively cartoons of characters speaking the same phrases that you can find in any beginners' conversational, modern language book, but in latin. But, if you want just fifty pages of simple, fun learning about how to say, for example, "do you speak Latin? Yes, I speak a little Latin", then this is the book for you. The website has some interesting extension information about the Roman world. As other reviewers have said, you won't get a thorough introduction to the language from this, but you will learn a little vocabulary and grammar. As an adult, you can have a little entertainment, and a break from the serious beginner books, and who says you can't?

p.s. It is irritating when publishers advertise how you can speak the language on your travels, though. Okay use the same format as modern languages, but bother to change the advertising copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
I am learning Latin and have decided that I need to start from the very basics, as I was finding it hard, to conjugate verbs, and remembering all the declensions. So although this is aimed at children, I have found it very useful, and I am ready to move into the adult world of Latin.

I would definitely recommend this for children learning Latin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting!, 5 July 2011
By 
bookbug (Nr Corby, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
For a beginner this is a useful way of picking up some "colloquial" Latin. Proof reading is a bit suspect as it gives a link on page 3 to learning Irish for beginners!Substitute Latin for Irish and you are back on track!It is produced in comic strip style with grammar and vocab boxes with exercises and answers in the back of the book. You get on line access to a full Latin dictionary and it covers numbers dates time colours months seasons greetings etc. Quite a pleasant way of introducing what is often perceived as a stuffy and obscure language. For the price it is very good value but be warned - the comic strip format may be considered a bit dumbed down by some people - Personally, at the age of 70, I found it quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as descrfibed, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Straightforward and well laid out.My daughter has done 1 year of Latin at school and is finding this book great. However, the way it is laid out and presented makes it accessible to anyone who hasn't studied Latin, too - me, for example. It is a really great little buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for the novice, 5 April 2011
By 
R. Smith "grebe123" (Harrogate) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Bought it as I was starting Latin at evening class and had never done it before. A very useful book indeed - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
This book is rubbish in my opinion. unlike a dictionary which helps define how the word is supposed to sound it leaves you guessing.

My Son read it and pronounced the words differently from me. You can go to a website to get help but what s the point in that? Not be taking this book on holiday unless I take my laptop and pay to roam also.

Save your money folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides)
Latin for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) by J Shackell (Paperback - 29 Oct 1993)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews