Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa this is good
Really good, way better than expected. The CD's so helpful and it's surprising how quickly I learnt. I thoroughly recommend it as a starting place for complete beginners. After making your way through this book you can easily move on to more complex books. The colourful pictures keep you entertained and 'make learning fun' as they say. Go buy it!!
Published on 26 July 2009 by L. Quartly

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
We were slightly disappointed with this book, bought to brush up on my pre-hoilday Italian, and to teach the children some basic phrases. It's not very systematic, has no phonetic pronunciation and tries to do too much in a small space, both visually and aurally. The CD is not bad, but beware the english narrator with poor pronunciation - better when he leaves the...
Published on 13 May 2011 by mrslilycat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa this is good, 26 July 2009
By 
L. Quartly (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really good, way better than expected. The CD's so helpful and it's surprising how quickly I learnt. I thoroughly recommend it as a starting place for complete beginners. After making your way through this book you can easily move on to more complex books. The colourful pictures keep you entertained and 'make learning fun' as they say. Go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great language builder, 21 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very visual and basic book but its great for building vocab in an easy way. I'm still very much a beginner at Italian but find the pictures and scenarios an easy way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great starter book, 14 Sep 2009
My 9 year old daughter loved this book. Its great for a starter book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italian for beginners, 20 July 2009
By 
Mrs. V. H. Blues (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting way to study the language. Only problem is it wont let you go back to review any thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 13 May 2011
We were slightly disappointed with this book, bought to brush up on my pre-hoilday Italian, and to teach the children some basic phrases. It's not very systematic, has no phonetic pronunciation and tries to do too much in a small space, both visually and aurally. The CD is not bad, but beware the english narrator with poor pronunciation - better when he leaves the examples to the real italians! Having no page links between the CD and the book doesn't make navigation easy. A good example of needing to see what a book is like before you buy it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this language book - MOLTO BUONO, 9 Nov 2010
This book is really great. I am very happy with it, especially as I know what to expect, considering the fact that I already have the exact same book in French, German and Spanish. It's fairly "easy" for me to pick up the language, as I just need to remember the format from the other books, which I am already used to. A useful and very fun way to learn another language. I highly recommend this book in any language you care to take up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 29 May 2012
By 
Mrs. M. M. Cross (devon uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great fun if you have no experience of learning a new language. The cd is broken down in to 24 sections. If necessary you can put each section on repeat until you learn it. I found it useful for the basics especially when used along side the book. It doesn't include everything you need and some sections go too fast. It is only for beginners as it said on the front. However it was useful and the only one I purchased before and during my 6 month stay in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 17 Feb 2012
while this book is good for vocabulary it is not very helpful in learning to use it. it could be improved by adding some text to read and perhaps some practice excercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and fun beginners guide to Italian, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I thought this book was a bargain when you compare it to other language books and cassettes.
Perhaps not suitable for preparing for a business trip, but would suit a family or someone who lacks confidence in language.
The book is well illustrated and a delight to work through, the tape is excellent for helping you go at your own pace.
The book also recommends useful weblinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Not great. More for children I think. Still it is a start, which I suppose its what the book is about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italian for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides)
Italian for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) by J Shackell (Paperback - 26 Oct 1990)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews