Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Presentation and Content
This is an absolute must for anyone beginning to learn Spanish. Unlike other books, it does not try to market itself as the best way of learning a modern language. It just provides the goods. It has colourful and stimulating pictures to help you remember new vocabulary and test yourself. It does not overload you with too much vocabulary at a time. It is backed up by an...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by worcesterman

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spanish for beginners
My order for this book was based on previous reviews, some of which mentioned that a CD also comes as part of the package.

My book has arrived this morning (speedy service, as usual, from Amazon) but no CD. Having checked online with Usborne (the publishers) I now find that you can buy the book with or without the CD, and I feel Amazon should clarify that,...
Published on 24 Aug 2012 by Tallulah 10


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Presentation and Content, 28 Nov 2010
This is an absolute must for anyone beginning to learn Spanish. Unlike other books, it does not try to market itself as the best way of learning a modern language. It just provides the goods. It has colourful and stimulating pictures to help you remember new vocabulary and test yourself. It does not overload you with too much vocabulary at a time. It is backed up by an excellent CD which you can go over and over, repeating each section until you are word and phrase perfect. It also begins to explain simple present tense verb conjugations and helps you to learn them without overwhelming you with technical descriptions of grammar. My only regret about this excellent, fairly priced book is that there is no book 2, book 3 or book 4. There are a lot of people out there marketing over-priced language courses and trying to pull the wool over your eyes. This is good, simple, honest, and well-priced material which is a pleasure to use for adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful repetition, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
I'm just working slowly through 'Spanish for Beginners' and thoroughly enjoying it. The pictures and the repetition of phrases helps it stick in my mind. The way the grammar is introduced slowly and then built upon makes it easier to understand and remember. The interactive style combined with the web links makes for interest. As a first Spanish book it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 19 May 2010
By 
S. Smith "meesterboom" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
The comic like format of this book makes it ideal to dip in and out of. Ideal for beginners and as a refresher when you need it. The basics are covered and a little bit more in a lighthearted way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
For someone who has never learnt Spanish before this book is really helpful. Simple phrases and pictures make this an easy and enjoyable learning experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spanish for beginners, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
My order for this book was based on previous reviews, some of which mentioned that a CD also comes as part of the package.

My book has arrived this morning (speedy service, as usual, from Amazon) but no CD. Having checked online with Usborne (the publishers) I now find that you can buy the book with or without the CD, and I feel Amazon should clarify that, although some reviews mention the accompanying CD, this version is the book only.

I am very disappointed because, without being able to hear the language spoken, this book is totally useless for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction which aims to make learning Spanish fun., 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to give me a brief introduction to Spanish to add to the enjoyment of Spanish holiday. It comes compete with a CD giving the pronunciation to words and phrases used in the lessons. Learning is reinforced with pictures and there is a basic introduction to grammar. This course aims to make learning Spanish fun. An excellent guide for the absolute beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spanish for beginners, 30 Mar 2009
By 
M. Glenn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
excellent --very useful on my recent holiday in la gomera.the family had fun using it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic, Simple and Fun, 16 Feb 2010
By 
K. Fenicka (Podkowa Lesna, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't really have time to go to classes and learn, but the book and the audio makes it quick and easy to learn the basics, which is what I need at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to learn together, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my grandaughter who is learning to speak spanish at school. She's only 5 years old so obviously needs some guidance and I've found that I'm learning at the same time as helping her. Bring on the Spanish holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and simple way to starting learning Spanish..., 3 July 2014
By 
Tony Tankengine (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Great and simple way to starting learning Spanish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides)
Spanish for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) by John Shackell (Paperback - 7 Aug 1987)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews