Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for children & also adults revising French basics
I borrowed this book from my local library along with 6 other basic french books. This book was far superior due to the format and logical approach. I am using this book to refresh my basic understanding of French, however I can see that it would be fun for children learning French for the first time - the colorful pictures set the scene for when to say what, to whom; and...
Published on 17 Jan 2004 by kathrynsmint

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted
Although the book does have some good content, like the glossary at the back, unfortunately it is not structured enough for a beginners other than very small children.

It seems to flip from one topic to another and left my student (a 9 year old) unable to actually use the words to form sentences. Neither is it helpful at providing exercises to practice and help...
Published on 4 April 2011 by C. Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for children & also adults revising French basics, 17 Jan 2004
I borrowed this book from my local library along with 6 other basic french books. This book was far superior due to the format and logical approach. I am using this book to refresh my basic understanding of French, however I can see that it would be fun for children learning French for the first time - the colorful pictures set the scene for when to say what, to whom; and the puzzles are good fun. I have now decided to buy this book, and look forward to using the CD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Usborne, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Serena (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
As I am homeschooling and my French to say the least is... interesting. This book has made a HUGE difference. The word lists are easy to read and the picture comics fun to look at. The language is all child friendly and for pronunciations we simply use Google Translate along side on the computer. (NOT a plug, I have no affiliation with Google or any of the companies) but it has helped when I can't work out how to say some words! The book is easy to read, good sections, from starting to introduce yourself, age and basic 'how are you?' And leads on to time, places to months and seasons. There are re fresher puzzles and quizzes dotted about, testing areas and questions with a big glossary of all the French words at the back.
Unlike a lot of 'Learn French' books, that give the child hundreds of words, this one tells them how to put it all into sentences, and the correct of using you, them, we, us, she, he and lots ect... So they can start learning all the joining words and the where, why, how, where and communicate properly in French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of French for beginner's, 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
French for beginners was a fantastic learning source for me. It has great pictures and really Innovative learning ideas. It even has a fantastic audio Cd included which really helps you with the pronunciation of french words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted, 4 April 2011
By 
C. Fletcher "Curly Girl 99" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
Although the book does have some good content, like the glossary at the back, unfortunately it is not structured enough for a beginners other than very small children.

It seems to flip from one topic to another and left my student (a 9 year old) unable to actually use the words to form sentences. Neither is it helpful at providing exercises to practice and help to learn, so I soon found I had little use for it at all.

A shame because there has been alot of effort put into the drawings so that they appeal to children, but just needs designing a bit better and more thought to be put into the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back-to-school book for improving, 11 July 2011
By 
This review is from: French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
It does seem to be aimed at children, so lots of cartoons and bright colours (I became very fond of young Pierre). The language focuses on the 'tu' form rather than the 'vous' form, which is an important distinction for adults! The book also contains a brief pronunciation and grammar guide, but mostly works on phrases for informal situations and chatting with friends. Lots of puzzles and encouragement to form your own sentences. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really nice book, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
This is a nice way for kids to pick up French vocabulary and to get enthused about the French language. Wonderfully illustrated, as you would expect any Usborne product to be, it is highly suitable for encouraging both older and younger learners with learning French vocabulary. I'm not sure whether it will really teach you to speak the language as such but it is worth considering as a way to pick up words or the odd set phrase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beginner's french, 3 April 2011
By 
Mrs. Patricia E. Banks "patricia Banks" (fetcham Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) (Paperback)
A very good book for all ages either to learn French for the first time or to brush up on school French as a prelude to improving French conversation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like this book, 12 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I own French for Beginners and often read through it to remember my French. I am learning French at school so this is a very helpful book to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but the CD doesn't work for me, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Huw Sayer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently bought Usborne Books' "French for Beginners Pack" and feel I have to complain about the CD quality.

Although the book and the flashcards are really good - the CD is a disappointment for three important reasons:

1) The English voice is much louder than the French Voice - even with the volume up it is hard to focus on the French speakers (the French should be dominant to help the learning process)

2) For some reason the English translation of each phrase comes after the French - that in itself means you are not thinking about the meaning when you hear the French - it would be better to give the English first and then the French

3) Furthermore the delay between the French and its English translation is so big that the English sounds as though it is relating to what comes next (so "Un" - long pause "One" very short pause "Deux - makes it sound as though "one" = "deux") - again this long pause is not helped by the dominance of the English voice.

I have contacted Usborne and look forward to hearing their response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this book is easy to follow and vocabulary is explained, 24 Oct 2014
By 
S. Jessica (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I teach french, this book is easy to follow and vocabulary is explained.

Lessons are really short, i can do 2 or 3 in an hour, and there are no exercices... so you have to complete with something else, its a good book to start but i wouldnt recommend it to any teachers its not complete enough.

(i have noticed 2 mistakes for the moment and i havent finished the book, but it hasnt be written by a native french.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides)
French for Beginners (Usborne Language Guides) by Angela Wilkes (Paperback - 1 July 1995)
£5.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews