Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars equality and disability
A lovely book which includes disability,wheelchair etc,inclusion and equality in its pages. A little boy in the classroom loves this. He has a sister who is in a wheelchair and also coincidently looks just like the child in the book.Both his Teacher and his Mum share this book with him and other children most days,what a pity we did not have this book when his sister was...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by meggy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite book about disability
The book has nice pictures but is... boring (at least my children think so). We know other much better books about disability and friendship between siblings.
Published 14 months ago by M Kowalczyk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars equality and disability, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
A lovely book which includes disability,wheelchair etc,inclusion and equality in its pages. A little boy in the classroom loves this. He has a sister who is in a wheelchair and also coincidently looks just like the child in the book.Both his Teacher and his Mum share this book with him and other children most days,what a pity we did not have this book when his sister was with us !So good for the other children to gain more understanding through pictures and a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just because, 7 Oct 2010
By 
Strawberrysundae "strawberrysundae" (Bath and north east Somerset, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
I bought this book because I was looking for a book about a child with a disability to read to my own children (ages 3-7). I also wanted to find a book for my husband to read to his key stage 1 children in 'Book week' ( a mainstream school that has a hearing impaired centre and receives other children with varied special needs).

This is a perfect book for reading to 3-6 year old children from several perspectives.
Firstly the illustrations are beautifully and warmly done making it very visually appealing to any age group.
Secondly the content of the story is of a fun, imaginative and of positive upbeat nature. Clemmie, who the story is about, is presented not as a disabled 'victim' but as a beautiful strong princess who communicates everything through just 'being' who she is. No doubt there would be incredible challenges behind the life of these children but the beauty is that is not what they see -they see possibilities not disabilties. Toby, her brother who tells the story, shows us that Clemmie doesn't need verbal language or even movement to fill his whole life with love, fun and laughter.

This book is inspirational at it's core and should be used as a building block for any person to remember to treat every life as and a gift and an adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Because, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
A wonderful children's book and so easy to read. My niece loved having it read to her. A wonderful gift for any child. Wholeheartedly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT AND OVERDUE!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. R. S. Greenan (Eastbourne, E Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
This book is BRILLIANT. It's great to see such a fun story sensitively addressing the questions in children's minds. It is brilliatly inclusive and is great to read alone or share. The illustrations are excellent and the words will have you chuckling out loud.

I bought a copy and then 5 more.....for my kids schools and friends because I think it's a story that needs to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Because -Rebecca Elliott, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
A beautifully written and exquisitely painted book for all ages. Finally a book which has a disabled child as a main character. Delightful and a MUST for all schools & children's bookshelves. I can't recommend this book enough it made me smile from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
This is a very cleverly written book with wonderful illustrations and should be on every childs bookcase. I look forward to reading the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
I bought this book as one of our children is severely disabled. The whole family love it. It captures just how my other children see their disabled sibling - just for who they are, they don't see the disability. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soft and positive message for preschoolers, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Board book)
I bought this book to introduce the disabilities theme to my 3-6 students. I think it's a great first book on the subject and the children absolutely love it. The message is delivered in a soft and positive way. I feel that now we are ready to go deeper into the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have this, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
Brilliant book to introduce the idea that difference is normal. And just because the answer in parenting is often "just because".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product as expected, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Because (Paperback)
Prompt delivery and in excellent condition.
This book will fit in perfectly with PSHE curriculum in EYFS. Looking forward to sharing it with the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Because
Just Because by Rebecca Elliott (Paperback - 20 Aug 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews