Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good sound advice
After having trouble getting my 13 month old daughter to sleep through the night, I read this book and within 2 nights she sleeps for 12 hours a night. Would highly recommend getting this book if you just want good sound advice!
Published 22 months ago by Rebecca Saxby

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic book but key info
Very basic book with little new to offer if you have already read Gina Ford or other baby books on sleep. But if you like a simple book that hits the very basics this is it. I was disappointed there was nothing new in here, really just the cry it out method with a different package.
Published 21 months ago by R.L


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good sound advice, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
After having trouble getting my 13 month old daughter to sleep through the night, I read this book and within 2 nights she sleeps for 12 hours a night. Would highly recommend getting this book if you just want good sound advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
This was a gift, for a lovely couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic book but key info, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
Very basic book with little new to offer if you have already read Gina Ford or other baby books on sleep. But if you like a simple book that hits the very basics this is it. I was disappointed there was nothing new in here, really just the cry it out method with a different package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than gina ford, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
If you're like me and are reading sooo many books just to get some sleep this is good although I think you read them all and take bits from each one. She's a bit less rigid than gina fords routine but it has some good ideas which we have used and they have worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vague, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
We wanted something to tell us at what age we can employ techniques. It groups everything into 3 month stages. His is useless, trying to pit a baby down to routine a week or two old, the same as you might start trying at 2 months old. Yet again no answers to questions you'd think experts would know by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting., 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
An awful book, by an awful woman, this shouldn't be titled "Sleep solutions", it should be titled "What NOT to do". Seriously, most of the so called "advice" is in direct contradiction with everything WHO says about feeding and sleeping, and some of it is just plain out dangerous. Putting your child on the side, with a towel tucked under her back and a muslin tied to the cot? SIDS, anyone? How about thread-worms? This woman is like Gina Ford on steroids. Don't buy this book and most certainly don't follow its "advice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhh bliss, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
Your probably doing most of the techniques anyway but it's great to have a little reassurance and guidance when your oh so tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Ms E. Hill "Trekker" (Cardigan, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
Having read a fair amount of the book "Sleep Solutions", I
feel I have to write to express my dismay and shock!

Besides the very questionable methods of controlled crying and cold
turkey which, a large amount of evidence shows, may be linked to many
negative effects for the child - and parents - the book blatantly
ignores all recommendations to reduce the risk of SIDS! Sleeping on
the tummy, sleeping on the side, having a muslin in the cot, sleeping
alone... have all been proven to raise the risk of SIDS but are
advocated in the book.

Besides that, formula feeding is shockingly advocated and several
passages suggesting that a mother may not have enough milk or it may
not be good enough for the baby while formula is the solution are not
only misleading but terribly wrong. Furthermore, the book seems to be
a guidebook to breastfeeding failure. It is impossible to maintain good
levels of breastmilk if feeding on a schedule as is it impossible if
you deny regular night feeds - a professional should know this even if
trained at a time when such knowledge had strangely become lost to the
western world.

If you love your baby and became a parent out of conviction, you
should never feel bad about your baby's primal needs. Babies do not
aim to manipulate, they follow their instincts. Does the author force
herself to stay in bed at night if she wakes up thirsty or needing to
use the toilet? Sadly she is advocating just that for infants that
have no understanding of what is happening to them.

For real advice, read books like "The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding".

The author would do well to update her advice, or rather, go backwards. The
things like "attachment" or "natural parenting" are nothing new,
they are what the less "developed" world takes for granted and
what even we supposedly advanced westerners used to do before even
parenting was industrialised. She goes so far as to suggest that leaving a baby to sleep with the parents will cause psychological problems for the child, indirectly she is thus suggesting that the majority of people from poorer countries where it is the norm to share a room and a bed must be disturbed?! Strangely, the children in such countries tend to grow up with better connections and more respect for their parents.

Elizabeth Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite helpful, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
May be quite helpful to other readers, but I have not found it that helpful for my three month old son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor advice, especially for breastfeeding mums, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years (Paperback)
The only positive I took from this book was finding out how many times an average baby speeds to feed and sleep in 24 hours, but guess what, my baby told me that all himself by, yes that's right, crying when he was hungry and sleeping when he was tired - what a revelation!

What I didn't like -
- the author telling you that it's best to leave a baby to cry itself to sleep. Totally unnecessary. Babies need comfort. Ok there is a difference between a grumbly cry before they go off to sleep and a full on shouty cry, but the author actually says its ok to let your baby 'shout' out before going to sleep. There is no need to do this at all as there are plenty of gentle sleep training methods around if that's what you want to do, and in the early months far better to comfort a baby rather than ignore it. I really think the author has only experienced and researched the short term advantage gets to her methods rather than the long term impact.
- for mums who breastfeed the current up to date advice is to feed on demand to create a good supply, especially it the early days.I think this book would work a lot better for bottle fed babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleep Solutions: Quiet Nights for You and Your Child: From Birth to Five Years
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews