Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life of a stretcher bearer.
I chose this book as I am researching my family history and my great uncle was a stretcher bearer. It gives a real insight into what they went through and I recommend this book to anyone who is also researching the First World War.
Published 12 months ago by P Sutherland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
I am very interested in the Great War I feel guilty saying this
but I felt there was not enough information or story after the first few chapters
Even though they were very brave men
Published 4 months ago by Robert Hartwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life of a stretcher bearer., 29 Jun 2013
By 
P Sutherland (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer! (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book as I am researching my family history and my great uncle was a stretcher bearer. It gives a real insight into what they went through and I recommend this book to anyone who is also researching the First World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top, unarmed, to do battle with the wounded, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
Reading this brought home the dangers and daily expectation of being pushed in to no-mans land to retrieve, comfort, give first aid to those troops who had gone before and been shot, maimed, dismembered. To go over the top unarmed, to be shot at while bringing a comrade home. To sadrifice your life or be willing to to save someone elses. These are the unsung heroes of the RAMC. Memories written when the mind tiries to forget the horror of the Somme, Ypres and then to the italian front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
I am very interested in the Great War I feel guilty saying this
but I felt there was not enough information or story after the first few chapters
Even though they were very brave men
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
Bought as a present, told of dangers they had to face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not explicit enough for me, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
This is supposed to be a diary of a stretcher bearer infact only about half is. The rest is written by Dale de Vac and I found some of his comments very patronising. All the stretcher bearer talks about is the places he went to very little about the soldiers he helped ...not explicit enough for my liking .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars strecher bearer, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer! (Kindle Edition)
good book I enjoyed this book very much you don't realize what they done for their country these unsung herose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening read., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
A rare insight into another aspect of the first world war that often is forgotten. The distinction of regimental stretcher bearers and RAMC stretcher bearers is enlightening. A good book to have if you are interested in ww1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer! (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a valuable account of what it was lime to be a forefathers of the RAMC.

It would have improved with greater detail which would have allowed a clearer understanding of how hot really was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer! (Kindle Edition)
This book is OK, but not what I expected. It tells the life story of Charles Horton and includes his service as a stretcher bearer in the Great War but as a book about that War itself it is disappointing. The account of his war service is only about half to two thirds of the book and the rest is a biography of a survivor of that terrible time in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches (Paperback)
As my Grandfather was a regimental stretcher bearer I found this book very interesting, though I do realise that it was a little different for my Grandfather. I do get so see what life may have been like for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches
Stretcher Bearer: Fighting for Life in the Trenches by Charles Horton (Paperback - 22 Mar 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews