Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2002
This book by John Drane is a masterpiece. Drane approaches the subject from an evangelical christian point of view. He is not scared to examine points of view that he disagrees with, but at the same time he will let no current social convention come between himself and what he believes the text of the New Testament to actually mean.
This book does not just cover the theology of the New Testament but also looks at the socio-political climate that the New Testament was written in and that the first christians lived in.
Whilst the books simplicity makes it best for the A-Level student or the general reader, it is also good for the undergraduate university student as an easy read and enjoyable quick introduction to the New Testament in order to provide an initial orientation to the subject matter at hand.
This is a book that I freely recommend to anybody wanting to take initial steps into the delightful world of the New Testament.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
John Drane has impeccable credentials as a conservative theologian and an evangelical Christian, and yet (unlike some other "evo" authors) he can write in an honest and even-handed way about more liberal opinions than his own.
This makes Drane a particularly valuable resource for theologically conservative students who need to know about controversial modern views in Bible scholarship, but do not want to feel that their text book is necessarily endorsing them or taking a condescending approach to the divine inspiration and historical authenticity of Holy Scripture.
This book is not primarily about doctrine - it is first and foremost a book about the Bible, designed to help a Christian reader understand what the Bible is really saying. In doing so it takes for granted the basic principle of Bible exegesis that you cannot work out what the Bible is saying to the Church today without understanding what it was saying (and why) to the Church of the 1st and 2nd centuries.
This would thus be an invaluable book for any first-year theology student or for the general reader wishing to know more about the historical and cultural roots of the New Testament and the early church. Although other writers have produced more stylish and attractive prose, Drane is wonderfully clear, interesting and easy to follow. More intricate explanations are in self-contained sections carefully boxed beside the main narrative, so that they can be skipped by the more casual reader without interrupting the book's flow.
The book's monochrome illustrations and diagrams are not of outstanding originality or beauty, but they are invariably well chosen and helpful. Moreover the physical binding of the paperback edition I am using is robust and has a nice feel to it.
Strongly recommended.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2006
In contrast to the next reviewer down, I find `Introducing the New Testament' invaluable to my studies (I'm just finishing the first year of a degree course with the London School of Theology). John Drane's easy-going style even when dealing with sometimes complex theological issues, coupled with the wonderfully user-friendly book layout (see my review of Drane's `Introducing the Old Testament') make this an excellent title. There is more than enough scholarly information here to begin serious NT studying while still being easily accessible enough for more casual Bible study.

I have been fortunate in being able to compare this revised edition with the previous edition: there has been a small but significant "sharpening up" of the text and the above mentioned layout has changed (and improved) greatly, and there is also (at least one) completely new Special Article - `The gospels as Graeco-Roman biography' (P168). It's surprising how much difference - and how greatly positive that difference is - between first and revised editions of this book.

As I said in my review of `Introducing the OT', this title should be considered mandatory to anyone even vaguely interested in Christian or biblical things.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2008
For practical purposes this is quite the best introduction to the New Testament I have come across. I read Theology at Oxford University in the 1980s and am a practising Catholic. The book gives a thorough survey of modern and not-so-modern scholarship, and presents the arguments for and against "orthodox" views in a fair, albeit somewhat Protestant way.

Why only four stars? First, because the author insists on bringing in his private views on modern political issues like colonialism, the position of women and so forth, which is unnecessary and irritating to readers like me who broadly share his theological views but not his politics.

Secondly, because the book joins the growing tendency towards repetition. It is also crying out for an editor who has a strong grasp of English grammar and style. If it runs to another edition, I volunteer!
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
This book provides a clear, easy to read account of the New Testament. The author gives a substantial overview of the social-political-religious context of the writing of the NT which is not bogged down in scholarly language. As an A-level Theology teacher, I needed a book not only to enhance my own background reading, but also one which I could recommend to my students as being accessible and interesting to read; this book fits that criteria.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2001
I used this book for the New Testament section for A Level Religious Studies and found it extremely useful. In his book, John Drane not only translates the meaning of passages in the NT but also takes time to explain the socio-political situation of the time. This I feel gives the reader a thorough grasp of the texts they are studying. In addition I felt that the book is very accessible to both student and lay person alike.
Cross-references featured in the book make it simple to find summaries and additional information on particular passages and maps of the areas featured in the NT pasaages give the reader a clear idea of the distances between the sites of different events.
All in all, this book provides quite a detailed introduction to New Testament than some other introductory books I have read on the subject (e.g. 'Teach yourself The New Testament') and is very useful for day to day referencce.
I would strongly recommend it to those with an interest in the subject.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2005
I bought this book in my first year of my undergraduate studies in Theology, and although its very pretty, some great pictures and diagrams, it really lacks some scholarly emphasis and material. Having said that, thats what it is designed to do.
It is excellent in unfolding some of the issues, but as the title suggests, it really is an introduction. Some of the illustrations used to feel more reminiscent of a school book, so its really no good for university or serious bible study, but recommended for A-Level or beginners in the topic.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Bought this as the required reading for a distance learning course in New Testament theology. Well worth the money. A clearly presented and readable introduction to the topic, with pictures to keep you going when you get a bit bored!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
This book is very good for theology student but can confuse the normal Christian who is looking for spiritual book.
I enjoyed it very much
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
This book is very informative. Pieces together all those things you may have learned at school and discusses there significance. A brilliant book from a historical prospective. Bought the Old Testament as well and it is very helpful in understanding all those disjointed historical and biblical events learned at school. Would highly recommend both these books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)