Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunning for God by John Lennox
An excellent clearly written rebuttal of the 'wackier' ideas of R Dawkins, C Hitchins et al on the subject of Christian theology & the gospel accounts of the life of Jesus Christ! Lennox holds degrees (from Oxford University) in Maths, Philosophy & Science etc and like Alistair McGrath has debated ably with the 'new' atheists on the above issues. He has also written a...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. P. M. O'BRIEN

versus
71 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars God's Gunslinger Runs Out of Ammo, Tries Hurling Turnips
I gave John Lennox's previous book "God's Undertaker" a fairly positive review, because although he ultimately fails in his objective of showing that belief in the gods remains a respectable intellectual position, at least he made an effort in putting forth the very best arguments that theists had to offer in the Religion vs Atheism debate. In truth, the arguments were...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Shane


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunning for God by John Lennox, 2 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. M. O'BRIEN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
An excellent clearly written rebuttal of the 'wackier' ideas of R Dawkins, C Hitchins et al on the subject of Christian theology & the gospel accounts of the life of Jesus Christ! Lennox holds degrees (from Oxford University) in Maths, Philosophy & Science etc and like Alistair McGrath has debated ably with the 'new' atheists on the above issues. He has also written a companion book (from a Maths & Science perspective) called 'God's Undertaker' which is equally impressive. A 'must' read for thinking Christians everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, helpful and instructive., 7 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
As a non-scientist I have failed in my attempts to read Richard Dawkins books and the books of those refuting his claims and restating Christian beliefs effectively. This book by John Lennox has helped me enormously to gain an understanding of the essential aspects of the science v religion debate. His arguments are clear and convincing; his academic status is beyond question and yet a non-scientific layman is able to read this book and learn from it. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lennox dissecting the arguments of the New Atheists, 29 Sept. 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
I first met John Lennox through his two debates with Dawkins; he was OK but not brilliant. Then I got his book God's Undertaker which was excellent, in that book he deals with the science issues in the current debate with the New Atheists. Then he published a short but stinging critique of Stephen Hawking's book (The Grand Design), who has now thrown his hat in with the New Atheists.

In this book Lennox also deals with the arguments of the New Atheists. It is based on his lectures/debates in the past few years. This book will be hated by the New Atheists and loved by Theists. The New Atheists have very loud mouths; but very poor arguments. Lennox continues to dissect their arguments in this book. Chapter headings are:

1. Are God and faith enemies of reason and science?
2. Is religion poisonous?
3. Is Atheism poisonous?
4. Can we be good without God?
5. Is the God of the bible a despot?
6. Is the atonement morally repellent?
7. Are miracles pure fantasy?
8. Did Jesus rise from the dead?
9. Final reflections.

The book is also endorsed by Alvin Plantinga, a leading Christian philosopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid., 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
So these past few weeks I've been reading from both sides of the story - Dawkins/Hitchens/Dennett etc, and Craig/Lennox/Platinga etc.

This book isn't massive, but it is solid. Not a lot of fluff talk.

Good points on the dangers of unwarranted generalisations when it comes to religion - grouping the peace-loving Amish with Islamic extremists etc.
Critique of warning against "mild and moderate religion" and then expecting a discrimination between mild to moderate atheism.
Critique of equating organised Christendom, and things humans are responsible for, with God himself.
Points on the Christian faith itself repudiating violence + religious exploitation etc.
Don't forget the 20th century
Very solid point on moral groundings, and the apparent incongruity between Dawkins claim that evil does not exist, then reprimanding a number of things he considers evil.
Smart bit of David Hume.
And Dawkins Old Testament exposition - makes clear a number of blunders.

There's a bunch of other stuff in there, all quite good. This book should be read more than once, take a few notes.
It draws from a range of sources, getting in there with Neitzsche, Sartre - all the good stuff.

It's not even expensive, get yourself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
This is not a closely-argued scientific work as is "God's Undertaker".This book is about the fundamentalist nature of atheism as represented by certain individuals. These individuals operate a kind of atheist inquisition, such that any scientist trying to build a career errs from the razor's edge of naturalistic orthodoxy at his or her professional peril. I am far from being the peddler of religion which you may by now be taking me for, but I can nevertheless spot a Stalinist tendency when I see one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for both Christians and those still searching for ..., 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Sean Quinn (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
Next time you hear somebody try to say you need to choose Science or Christianity, this book calmly and with forensic intelligence, rebuts that non choice and shows the Dawkins fundamentalist disciples with all their intolerance for what they are. Great book for both Christians and those still searching for answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle but incisive and scholarly rebuttal of the some of more noisy New Atheists' "philosophies", 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can say little more than my headline except to add that John Lennox also includes a strong, logically-reasoned argument for the reality of Jesus' resurrection which could also be usefully shared with the more open agnostic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new atheists of today are a poor representation of the movement, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent work from John Lennox. I get the impression the motive behind this book is a discontentment with the format of a lot of the 'GOD' debates he has participated in, their strict format does not allow for a full exploration of both parties arguments and as a result I believe a lot of the debunked atheist arguments presented in this book were not fully formed or explained. All to often in this type of debate we get 'hot headedness' impairing even the brightest minds from explaining there points of view effectively.

It is true however that John has a strong philosophical logic that is extremely refreshing, often showing the oppositions arguments to be on a foundational level logically incoherent.

I found this fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunning for Atheists, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism (Paperback)
Prof .John C. Lennox does it again in his latest outstanding book. I have followed his debates with interest on YouTube and would advise people to do the same. This book is a distillation of his debates with some of the biggest names in modern atheistic thought; and then some. It gives a wider understanding into why we need theism yes i did say theism. If anything Lennox proves how subtle, yet dangerous atheistic thought can be and has been in the past. Definately gave me food for thought. Highly Recommend this to anyone who is open minded to this kind of debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are the new atheists in trouble?, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for those interested in the debates between Prof John Lennox and the new atheists i.e.Dawkins, Hitchens etc.
For me Lennox superbly challenges the arguments of the new atheists by the use of sound reasoning.
In the book Lennox deals masterfully with the 'old chestnut' posed by David Hume that miracles are by definition impossible.
Very readable and not too intellectual.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists Are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews