Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2009
A Brilliant book for first timers who are not looking for too rigid a routine. Very helpful, practical and sensible advice.

So good I bought it for all my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Fantastic book!!
Really helpful and informative!!
A must have for every mummy!!
Would highly recommend this book to anyone!!
A huge thank you Rachel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
There are two unmentionable words when you are in hospital around the midwives. One is bottle. And the other is routine.

However having compared families that feed their babies on demand and ones that try and introduce some kind of routine, routine really is a no brainer. Both you, and your baby, end up much happier as you have a pattern of events that you stick to every day.

Unlike Gina Ford who more or less slices up your day in fairly small segments, the joy with Rachel Waddilove's book and her routine is that there is flexibility. The feeding / changing / play etc times are done in 1-2 hour bands.

So the evening feed isn't done at 10pm sharp, rather it's done anytime after 10 with you waking your baby up if s/he is still asleep at 11pm. Similarly there is no cast iron rule to start the day feeds at 7am. If your baby has for example been up at 5, then rather than try again at 7, you then attempt to keep going until 9:45/10 thus getting your baby used to one morning feed instead of two.

As a result, Rachel Waddilove's book is a good alternative to Gina Ford for parents who still want some structure but can't regiment their lives to the nearest minute.

The book isn't filled with as many practical tips as Gina Ford's. But the fact remains, six weeks on and we have a baby who, while not quite sleeping through the night, is feeding at between 4-5am. I'm convinced that following Rachel Waddilove's schedule played a big part in getting us there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
This is the most practical book. The only book you'll need and I've bought them all! Good sound reassuring advice. Don't hesitate to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
This speaks such common sense. Goes with flexibility of having a baby. If only baby would read this! A must have for mums to be .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
This is a practical easy to read book, that every new mother needs. Especially if you want a great sleep routine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Best book ever! Good sound advise, with recommendations for a routine in the day with some flexibility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
excellent book for new mums. Brought this for my wife who would be having a bay soon . Unputdownable .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
loved this book and think anyone expecting a baby would find the advise in this book very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2008
My baby is now 4 months old and I don't know what i'd have done without this book - it covers everything you need to know about the first few months from crying and sleeping to feeding and illness. Having followed the routines laid out in this book, I really advocate the whole routine concept - my baby knows when food is coming and when it's time for a sleep. And don't be scared of being tied to a routine - Rachel's routine is flexible and you don't have to feed bang on the suggested time. I think the author really knows her stuff. I've been dipping in and out of this book and am sure I'll continue to do so for several months still. If you're expecting your first baby, I'd really recommend this book. Without it I would have had no idea when to feed or how to encourage my baby to sleep well. Buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)