Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be silent about...
Despite its title, this is a book not to be silent about! Exploring the sayings of the desert fathers of the fourth and fifth centuries might at first glance seem to be a dry and unrewarding task, but Williams unearths hidden gems for a 21st century audience. Focusing on gaining God in one's neighbour, respecting difference, fleeing from our false ideas of self and...
Published on 2 Jan. 2004 by Dai

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A short book reporting on a conference.
Not being an accademic I found that I had to read this book with a dictionary to hand which in itself was good as it taught me a lot of new words. The content was not as I expected as it only touched on a small amount of the wisdom of the desert but it was very sensatively written and I enjoyed the question and answer session at the end. I admit that I didn't understand...
Published 24 months ago by S. K. North


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Silence and Honey Cakes., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
The book is simply written, and so can easily be understood. It brings the reader back to the original thoughts of the very early Church, and the foundations of catholicism and monasticism. It highlights the main elements of the attitudes required by those who wish to follow Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wisdom of the desert, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
The wisdom and charisma that goes with the way this book has been laid out epitomises
the profound fulfilment that is found in the desert of silence. This is one book that has
opened the eyes of my heart to see God's glory revealed on the cross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
Good information; good excerpts from the desert fathers and Mothers; would like a little more of their theology, but I suppose it is difficult with such a diverse set of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and thought provoking, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully written and thought provoking. If you are searching to deepen your faith this book will help you along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very deep and still readable, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of those thought provoking books which I will return to in the future. An excellent book from an excellent author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Christian handbook, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
really clear exposition of living a true Christian life, and how important it is to live it together in order to grow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A short book reporting on a conference., 8 May 2013
By 
S. K. North - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
Not being an accademic I found that I had to read this book with a dictionary to hand which in itself was good as it taught me a lot of new words. The content was not as I expected as it only touched on a small amount of the wisdom of the desert but it was very sensatively written and I enjoyed the question and answer session at the end. I admit that I didn't understand some things at all and became annoyed at one point when the author was explaining the difference between the individual and the person which seemed to me just accademic rhetoric, probably because I worked with people with learning disabilities and was taught that we are all individuals and the argument just complicated something that appears quite straight forward. I do, however, greatly admire Dr Williams's immense capacity for academia and would heartily recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning more about the discipline and advantages of silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
Wonderful book Perfect companion on your Christian journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silence and Honey Cakes, 2 April 2012
By 
JA Raeburn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert (Paperback)
Book arrived in good time and condition - thank you. A wonderful book, needing deep thought to penetrate its profundities. Archbishop Rowan Williams is under-valued, his quiet wisdom under-rated in this sound-bite society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert
Silence and Honey Cakes: The Wisdom of the Desert by Rowan Williams (Paperback - 19 Nov. 2004)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews