Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful
I have an old copy of this book from my family and despite it being written in the 80s, it is such a treasure! Its built around the Church's set readings for Advent and then has thoughts and reflections from Delia, and has been very carefully and contemplatively put together.

If you want a book to help you focus on Christmas and help you avoid yet another year...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by J. E. Heald

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Feast For Advent
Perhaps a 3* rating is rather hard. So full of religious references that it was difficult to take in. Shared this with like-minded people who admitted that it was more 'deep' than we expected.
Published 17 months ago by artline 200


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, 20 Nov 2009
By 
J. E. Heald "Jud" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have an old copy of this book from my family and despite it being written in the 80s, it is such a treasure! Its built around the Church's set readings for Advent and then has thoughts and reflections from Delia, and has been very carefully and contemplatively put together.

If you want a book to help you focus on Christmas and help you avoid yet another year of feeling you missed out in preparing yourself in your Christian faith for the big day, all because of the chaos of life that goes with the lead-up to it, this is it. When it was written is irrelevant; the words are timeless and blessed, and you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast for Advent, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Advent would not be the same without reading this beautiful book. I purchased it this year for a friend as I have been enjoying it for many, many years. Delia Smith gives an honest insight into the true meaning of Advent, just like a good winter stew - it warms one up from the inside and leaves you with something to mull over long after the evening draws to a close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading for Advent, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this book in Advent 2007 – and found it very helpful then. I decided to read it again this year and have been so pleasantly surprised to find that I have found much more to ponder on each day. The lay out is just what I like, with a main reading about which Delia comments on followed by a Psalm as a prayer linking to the subject and then a passage for meditation. Delia definitely has provided a feast – with so much to think about but in a concise and readable way so I look forward each day to my “quiet time” with her book. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to spend some extra time preparing for Christmas in a Christian and meaningful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meanings for Christmas, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The format of this book is fantastic. Each day of advent and of Christmas has a small piece of scripture followed by a reflection. Each week has a different theme which starts off about darkness and the search for a saviour and nearer Christmas focuses on each of the main protagonists of the yuletide story and examines their part. The reflections, though simple, are always profound.

Forget about the commercial secular dystopia of modern mid-winter festivals- this book offers an oasis that's full of the mystery that is Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for the mad rush up to Christmas, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Feast for Advent (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me as a guide for keeping focused on the real meaning of Christmas. I found it helpful so would recommend it to any Christian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent little book!, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been a fan of Delia Smith's cookery books & now i'd consider myself a fan of her Christian writing too. this was recommended to me & i know why! this is a well written, & enjoyable book starting on Advent Sunday & going right up to Epiphany.
it's a lovely way of spending time each day focusing about the reason for Christmas at the very time that it's often forgotten in all the festive preparations.

i've already bought this for friends as it makes a lovely gift too.

can't think of any negatives & am keen to read more of Delia's Christian writing, i also bought the Lent book so just waiting for that to start later in the year.

will definitely be reading this again in Advent & Christmas 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Christmas, 13 Jan 2010
By 
J. Orford (Herts, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Feast for Advent (Hardcover)
A delightful book which enters into the real spirit and meaning of Christmas - easy to read, beautiful photographs, and it continues for a week after the holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars advent, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An honest and real approach to advent for christians. not holier than thou ; honest and true, an awakening of the inner spirit.

lovely, and i look forward to purchasing `Feast for eater".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast for Advent by Delia Smith., 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very inspiring and thought provoking book for anyone with a Christian faith who wants to learn more about their relationship with the Lord Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for Advent, 13 May 2010
Really pleased with the book, am keeping it for next Christmas but on browsing through its just what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Feast for Advent
A Feast for Advent by Delia Smith (Hardcover - 30 Sep 1994)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews