Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love makes the world go round
Draws on the use of anecdotes to reflect on the concept of love and how it "works" over long distances as globalisation increases rapidly. In the West, the fascination with other worlds entails no longer just sailing there, but appropriating its human capital within the West. This means having "servants" as the Phillipines relies on remittances to keep...
Published 8 months ago by Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars distant love
Lecturers and authors, Ulrich Beck and Elisabeth Beck Gernsheim, offer an academic take on a social phenomenon which is certainly on the increase in recent years. That of long distance relationships. Given how brainwashed people are these days with regard to pursuing a career at all costs,even if the cost is their relationship with the family or partners, then it's...
Published 10 months ago by Jago Wells


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love makes the world go round, 24 Sept. 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Draws on the use of anecdotes to reflect on the concept of love and how it "works" over long distances as globalisation increases rapidly. In the West, the fascination with other worlds entails no longer just sailing there, but appropriating its human capital within the West. This means having "servants" as the Phillipines relies on remittances to keep itself in operation. However this has en emotional impact upon children and families as women are the greatest export.

The different facets of love are how someone is accepted within a family structure from Poland or Thailand - meaning how they are accepted within the UK - plus a reflection on the reasons why they left. There is no "science" of love - an oxymoron - thankfully this steers well away from oxytocin and voles. It focuses on how relationships are maintained through the use of Skype, whilst focusing upon the notion of personal identity and the meanings attached to it.

The focus is on how "love" has become a commodity, within the book, looks at the exchange value arising between the affluent north and south, rich and poor, people who buy companionship. The book touches upon the issues of surrogacy, rentawomb and how the children negotiate an identity; who belongs to which country, where, who are the parents and why. It appears money and power are the defining factors, although group ostracism in terms of the sister who appears Asian and is termed derogatorily.

What was missing for me were the personal stories, and perhaps a use of IPA, drawing on Studs Terkel would have made it powerful and packing a final punch.

However this is a highly provocative book and throws up a great deal of thought and reflection on this concept, highly readable and written to engage the reader within the debate, rather than establishing a set of pronouncements from on high. If you are involved in Development Studies or Gender then this is highly relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There is to be a wedding and the happy couple will come to live in England, 26 July 2014
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As I was facing the prospect of someone I know having to conduct a long-term relationship across the hemispheres, I thought I should prepare myself with an academic framework for handling my concerns. Perhaps it might even offer some advice which I might be able to share without intruding into someone else's business.

And lo, within a few days of the book arriving, the situation had resolved itself. There is to be a wedding and the happy couple will come to live in England. And I hadn't even finished the book.

There is much here to stimulate reflection and this will no doubt open up this field of study. How much of the division in the world is caused by the stress of conducting relationships at distance and how can this be minimised?

One paragraph should be in front of all monotheistic faith leaders - "The juxtaposition of the world's religions and their interaction produce a multi-monotheistic entanglement in which the one and only God of other religions, the universalist aspirations of the different faiths, are brought into direct contact with one another. The potential for conflict and perhaps even violence is self-evident." And should be assumed and mitigated against.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars distant love, 24 July 2014
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lecturers and authors, Ulrich Beck and Elisabeth Beck Gernsheim, offer an academic take on a social phenomenon which is certainly on the increase in recent years. That of long distance relationships. Given how brainwashed people are these days with regard to pursuing a career at all costs,even if the cost is their relationship with the family or partners, then it's certainly an opportune time to look at how some relationships can cope with that dislocation from the home structure.It will certainly be the case in the future,that more and more people will have no choice but to take on jobs which are away from the partners just to pay the sky high mortgages and living costs. The authors do not describe these people as 'mugs' although perhaps they should! Instead they offer more an empirical approach and as such, somewhat diminish the end product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Globalizing the Personal, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a considered and at times provocative study on what essentially constitutes a growing number of intimate and personal relationships in the 21st Century. While it deserves a broad and general readership, I suspect that the book's themes will only be of immediate interest to those studying the socio-political impact of globalization. It is one of very few books on the subject, is readily accessible and always thoughtful and nuanced. It provides 11 studies covering amongst them cultural misunderstanding, migrant mothers, baby tourism, transnational family networks and perhaps the most poignant a study on the pressures of distance and closeness on relationships. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and very readable, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoy the work of Ulrich Beck and this is an interesting academic study of long distance relationships.

It looks at the phenomenon from a number of angles- the economic, the social and emotional- and is a great, studied 'snapshot' of our current times, ladened as they are with economic pressures and cultural expectations more often than not imposed on us by a ubiquitous media. A good book well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In depth review of modern long-distance relationships, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Ms. C. R. Stillman-lowe "Cathy SL" (Reading Berks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book presents a serious academic look at this topic. It is extensively referenced and comes recommended by reviewers from the London School of Economics and Political Science and the University of Manchester. If you would like to read a fresh and thoughtful perspective on love in our time of globalization, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great read, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one lovely book, nice quality paper, great quality printing, and I was absolutely hooked by it...couldnt put it down.
If this is the kind of thing youre interested in, you cant do much better than take a look at this!

Very highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We are all global citizens now..., 25 May 2014
By 
T. S. C. (Somewhere in NW England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At first glance, a really good book. We all live now in a globalised world, which of course has its good points and inevitable bad points. Most of us online will have a number of friends in other parts of our own country, and probably many of us have friends dotted around the world here and there. This book covers this and love between all different kinds of people. Original at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This academic text is very readable, apt for the layman amongst us, and dare I say “scholarly”. This was an odd comment in the book, somewhat aggrandising, and a potential embarrassment perhaps, particularly when the comment about polemicism was introduced in being critical of other writers, i.e Kelek. I thought this was a bit naughty, and was a view not really justified in the way it was posited. Qualitative observations are often more important than pure objective, scientific, comments.

The book collates different perspectives concerning the modern concept of world families, and is empirically evident for all if we attend to this idea. There is little new in this book that any intelligent person is unable to grasp from the media.

The concept of family has become a rather amorphous and nebulous concept, but this book does assimilate previous held theories against new and exciting developments in sociological thinking.

The authors highlight the extent to how globalisation and the Internet have made interesting comparisons of close and distant love, and the repercussions for either maintaining love at a distance, or the potential for its demise.

I particularly appreciated the many examples and case studies of multi cultural relationships that are maintained at distance, which brings the discourse together, and made easy sense of the text.

In terms of referencing, there is too much from previous books from the authors which I find unsettling, which doesn’t say much about peer review, hence a 3 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distant Love, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
southcoastreviewer (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Distant Love (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was an unexpectedly academic book, for a subject matter that is usually treated in areas closer to the heart than to the brain. I have friends that are (very) successfully conducting a long-distance relationship - they live in different countries - and was intrigued therefore to see what this book had in store for their future, and what is considered the effects of such relationships to be.

There is a lot of thought-provoking matter in here, once you get past the conjecture and trifle. I didn't find this to be an easy read, but it was an interesting one. If you have any friends or family in a similar situation, you will find much to think on, and much to agree with, in this book.

An interesting, if not ground-breaking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Distant Love
Distant Love by Elisabeth Beck-Gernsheim (Paperback - 22 Nov. 2013)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews