Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, expertly evidence-led and balanced
Nolan addresses a hot topic in a thoroughly balanced fashion, backing up his claims with hard data throughout. This short book presents its argument concisely, but clearly and, above all, fairly. Although he is arguing to redress the misjudged and sensationalised claims of the mass media, he nonetheless manages to construct a strong, sobre, evidence-led and balanced case...
Published 14 months ago by R. WEST-SOLEY

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Begs Another Question ?
An impressive and well-researched book, where Prof Nolan discusses at length his central question of China is buying up the world, in which he presents an in-depth and detailed analysis with many examples. It is at all times impressive in this regard and of course the author answers his own question unequivocally at the end, I couldn't help but wonder if this is the most...
Published 22 months ago by Duncurin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, expertly evidence-led and balanced, 2 July 2013
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nolan addresses a hot topic in a thoroughly balanced fashion, backing up his claims with hard data throughout. This short book presents its argument concisely, but clearly and, above all, fairly. Although he is arguing to redress the misjudged and sensationalised claims of the mass media, he nonetheless manages to construct a strong, sobre, evidence-led and balanced case. This acknowledges the economic miracle of China's recent growth, but holds this up against the almost insurmountable, entrenched position of big businesses in high-income, developed economies. As such, it's a brilliant myth-buster, and excellent reading for anyone curious about the truth behind those 'China buying the world' headlines.

Some awareness of economics concepts might be useful in getting the most from this book, but it's certainly not beyond the casual reader, or generally other non-economists with an interest in the social sciences or international development. Nolan certainly knows his way around the big names of global business, and you'll finish this book with a much clearer understanding of major operators in global concerns, systems integrator firms and supply chains. A rich set of data presented as a concise read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars China everywhere?, 5 May 2013
By 
Ioannis Glinavos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a degree of frustration with picking up things and finding that everything is "made in China". China also features heavily in the press as the growing monster that will sooner or later eat the world. This book helps offer some well needed perspective about China`s operations, reach, expansion and their consequences. It highlights that the west is in a symbiotic relationship with China. It is a good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quick delivery, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is China Buying the World? (Paperback)
came on time, interesting read showing both sides of the argument on chinas economy. some good statistics included in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book offered a more balanced view of China's rise. Nolan cuts through the more hysterical reporting that we're used, his extensive experience of China is put to good use throughout. Fundamentally we are reminded that China is developing unlike previous rising powers in a world already dominated by the west, as a result it will take a long time before it truly becomes an economic superpower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced argument is what's needed - not scaremongering!, 15 Oct 2012
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It doesn't take long to read this book. It is a concise, highly accessible and extremely informative analysis of China's economic position and potential. It is lucidly written, very well argued and straightforward in its approach to the topic. The author, Professor Peter Nolan, clearly knows his subject and shrewdly ignores any literary gimmicks. Analysis and argumentation are based on data and facts - not hype or political bias. He shows that whilst China may possess the world's largest foreign exchange reserves this does not necessarily translate into global economic dominance. Global economics are not as simplistic as some (media, academic and political) pundits portray. In effect China is not `buying the world'. His approach is academically rigorous - and all the better for it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and very readable..., 25 Aug 2012
By 
redbigbill (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This slim volume from Cambridge publishers Polity by Professor Peter Nolan, recognised worldwide as an authority on Chinese business (both inside and outside of China) takes a rather less hysterical view than many recent books about the rise of the Chinese economy and it's massive investments in raw materials and resources from all over the globe.

Yes, China is buying up mineral resources and investing in fertile lands for food production but that is really no different to what the West has been doing since capitalism was invented, although many of the West's takeovers were violent rather than financial.

However much many in the West may disagree with their methods, the Chinese Communist Party has an obligation to better the economic and cultural life of it's citizens hence it's international shopping spree which is carried out with the economic benefit of it's population in mind, rather than just the economic benefit of privately owned corporations and banks etc.

China is buying up resources and raw materials to feed both it's population and it's industries, it is not attempting to buy up or muscle into the technological might of the West's top 500 corporations. In fact it is welcoming inward investment by FT top 500 World Corporations to manufacture and produce the end products of it's burgeoning raw material imports.

Interesting to note that although China has the world's second biggest economy, only 29 of the world's biggest 500 corporations are actually Chinese owned! The West absolutely dominates the major global industries such as Aviation, Automobiles, Trucks,Shipbuilding, IT, Chemicals, Packaging,Plastics, Machine Making and others.
China has made giant steps, especially with her oil companies, aviation, train and rolling stock building but most of this has been done with the help and sometimes direct participation of Western Technology.

China is becoming a very profitable market for many Western corporations and banks and will continue to grow as China brings more and more of it's people into what can be considered 'high income' sectors. German giant VW employs more than 53,000 workers in China, McDonalds has 1300 stores creating more than 80,000 'mac' jobs and hope to employ another 50,000 by 2013 in another 700 restaurants. (Moma mia - I wish a few of them would come and invest in the UK so our kids could find jobs?).

Professor Nolan combats much of the politically motivated scaremongering that has spewed forth from many right wing US (and other) commentators who have no interest in presenting a balanced portrait of China in today's global economy. China faces huge political hostility, much of it due to the failure of Western capitalist globalisation to provide ever rising living standards for it's peoples as the past three decades have seen much greater inequalities of wealth distribution and growth only achieved at the cost of massive personal and state debt - all stoked up by a long term asset bubble with house price inflation at it's heart on both sides of the Atlantic. This was bought crashing to the ground by the 2008 banking crisis which has forced the Western form of 'democracy' to turn more populist and claim that following neo conservative, free market economic policies are the only option. Well, they could not possibly admit that the Chinese Communists had maybe got it right in the long term, could they? The 1% and their supporters on the right have spent the last generation trying to convince us that anything to do with, communism, socialism, democracy (other than voting for a candidates chosen. bought and paid for by the 1% with virtually no difference in policy aims), trade unions, community, fair play and justice are dirty words with no place in today's society. Reminds me of the fear and loathing ramped up against the Japanese when they decided to spend some of their surplus of trade yen buying US, European and Asian companies in the 1980's.
OK for us to buy( or steal in times gone by) their assets but not vice verso.

Another thing I found super interesting in this book were the figures showing how aggressive take- overs, mergers and consolidation has greatly reduced the number of major players in each industrial and financial sector over the past 20 or 30 years, more and more power and wealth being concentrated into less and less hands, more worryingly much less subject to any form of governmental or democratic control. Just as old Karl predicted!

Professor Peter Nolan is Professor of Chinese Management at the University of Cambridge and writes in a simple, clear, easy to understand manner which I found an absolute joy to read, unlike some political/economic tomes that require frequent trips to a dictionary. If you have any interest in learning about large, global corporations, their role in the world economy and how this affects us and the Chinese then I would suggest you will find no better reading than this concise and enlightening book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth behind the scare mongering, you cannot buy what they will not sell., 31 Aug 2012
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very readable and short account of China's real role in the world economy. Backed up by a wealth of economic data and hard facts.

Everyone is afraid of China. Western business is terrified of the growth of the Chinese economy. Job loses in small and medium businesses are blamed on unfair competition by the communist state, that can enforce low wages and low standards of health and safety that push up costs in the developed world. The developed world is no longer competitive and China is buying up all the resources of Africa and Latin America to fuel their growth. That is what the western media would have you believe.

This book shows with hard economic data that these views are nonsense. Globalisation has brought about concentration of the global economy in the hands of a few multi-national global companies in a oligopoly. It is these multi-nationals that own the world and they own China as much as they own the developed world. In fact they use their political influence to prevent China taking over companies in the developed world and actually Chinese companies such as Huangwei have been treated badly, by the US in particular. Only the Lenovo take-over of the IBM PC subsidiary has been a success story as a Chinese takeover. Everything else has been an issue of "national security".

So to answer the question, China is no China is not buying the world as it cannot for both political and economic reasons (it does not have enough cash or resources) and this is a smokescreen for the huge global corporations to shift the blame for economic stagnation in the rich nations. It must be China's fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Begs Another Question ?, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Duncurin (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An impressive and well-researched book, where Prof Nolan discusses at length his central question of China is buying up the world, in which he presents an in-depth and detailed analysis with many examples. It is at all times impressive in this regard and of course the author answers his own question unequivocally at the end, I couldn't help but wonder if this is the most relevant question. Nobody can fail to have seen the rise in China's economic prowess and though few will attain mastery of this like the author I wonder if the real story lies elsewhere.
If we were to conclude for instance that, yes, sooner or later China would own the world, what impact would it have for us here in the UK? This is more the focus I was looking for. Moreover if we were at China's mercy when competing for resources, energy or food, it begs the question then as to whether other counties would treat us any better.
We have seen how China was excluded from buying an American oil company. A similar debate took place in Canada over Petronas who were also unwelcome and Rio Tinto as part of an ever-lengthening list where foreign companies are not welcome when running the slide rule over firms that may be deemed to have strategic relevance but, in truth, I suspect it's that 'johnny foreigner' isn't welcome. Though of course the UK is not innocent in all this, it seems to me that we have sold off quite a few of our 'national treasures' to foreign firms. Even our best pal, America has something of an uneasy business relationship with us; as evidenced by the presidential boot on [British Petroleum's] neck, to extraditing bankers and businessmen or even finding Concorde too noisy and the bumper on an E-type was too low (or was it too high!) or even not wanting to share secrets from the Quebec agreement - when our scientists had contributed!

Truth is, I suspect we can only really count on ourselves, and this is the discussion that I would have liked. So, I wonder if we can tempt Prof Nolan to a follow up volume? To get him started, how about what would have happened if Tony Blair had had the courage to keep British forces out of Iraq and Afghanistan and what would happen if we departed the unsettled EU and traded more with Canada, Australia and the Commonwealth or courted Indian finance to revitalise some of our wonderful world-beating companies as Jaguar has done. Can't help but wonder if therein would lie much more interesting questions? Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is China Buying the World?
Is China Buying the World? by Peter Nolan (Paperback - 6 Sep 2013)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews