Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting and comprehensive introduction to sociology.
Anthony Giddens' 'Sociology' was first published in 1989 and this 1194-page, 6th edition(2009) is probably the best yet. Clearly written and extensively revised with a new chapter on war and terrorism, this intellectually stimulating, comprehensive and jargon-free introduction to sociology is an ideal guide for A-level students, undergraduates and the general reader who...
Published on 28 May 2009 by Jazzrook

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sociology
the book is ok, but i did not like the layout which i guess is a personal preference- it does the job
Published on 4 Dec. 2011 by jobs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting and comprehensive introduction to sociology., 28 May 2009
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
Anthony Giddens' 'Sociology' was first published in 1989 and this 1194-page, 6th edition(2009) is probably the best yet. Clearly written and extensively revised with a new chapter on war and terrorism, this intellectually stimulating, comprehensive and jargon-free introduction to sociology is an ideal guide for A-level students, undergraduates and the general reader who wishes to make sense of our complex social world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 27 Nov. 2006
By 
S. Wijesekera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to Sociology, but also provides plenty that would be of interest to someone with more familiarity on the subject. The book is structured like a textbook, but is very readable, unlike most textbooks I am familiar with. Giddens has also added a few interesting new chapters including on terrorism, so it is very current.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Aug. 2011
By 
Anirban Mukherjee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
One of the very well written text books I have ever come across. The subject helps - discussing society is obviously stimulating and relevant to all of us. I picked the subject purely out of interest (may decide to do a formal course in the future) - and while it also covers several theoretical approaches etc, it rarely bores you as many textbooks do.

It is a book which you can just start at any chapter that interests you - easy references to other chapters, for further details, are provided throughout. Each chapter/topic is kept within 50 pages - which I found was crucial to holding easy interest. Its a 1000+ pages, so there's enough material. The different theoretical approaches are never more than 20% of a chapter (a separate chapter is dedicated to leading theoretical thinkers). Chapters cover practical aspects of modern society, discussing trends and variations across time and geography, and tries to make sense of them through theories, famous experiments and studies, and other data. Most of it is fairly easy reading.

Topics include stratification & class, poverty & welfare, global inequality, race, migration, religion, media, education, work, crime, politics, terrorism, social interaction, socialization, ageing, families & relationships, health, sexuality & gender, organization & networks, cities, globalization, environment, (phew!).. Take your pick and enjoy.

Perfect book for someone interested in learning about the subject (not sure how appropriate for students focusing on an exam). Written by a recognized expert in the field, it was a delight to find a book so well thought out and organized. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sociology book, 21 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
It is worth every penny spent on this book, as it will be used over and over again. such an interesting, easy way to be introduced into sociology. I recommend for anyone who wants to know how the world is sociologically understood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 29 April 2007
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
I am a social work student and I purchased this book for my sociology module. The book is informative and easy to understand. I think this book will be very useful for future information and I intend to dip in and out of it during my degree. I recommend this to students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giddens "Sociology", 7 July 2010
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
Delivered quickly and in excellent order; really good introductory book for sociology- is a very easy read too and each chapter is not too long. Would recommend as a starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic., 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
this is definitely the best introduction to sociology i've ever read. fully-covered and updated in almost all fields of social issues with concrete and concise explanation upon every topic. if you are beginner of sociology student, this is must-read. this is the bible of sociology. it definitely deserves a seat in your bookshelf for good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good study book!, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
Good book for students and for all sociology lovers!
Good book as expected from author.
Easy to read! Good quality material, explanations, and examples.
Very helpfull for assignments writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
Excellent book, clear concise readable and suitable for everyone to use. I have all Giddens other works and this is super to get an overall view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very convenient, 27 April 2010
By 
Naoki Hayashi "Sumie-Artist" (Setagaya, Tokyo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This book is very convenient to get basic overview of "Sociology", especialy for me as beginer of this discipline. Each thema, theory or problem is argued simply but its very interesting and impressive. Even each part is compact, this book covered all of sociology, so it's very hard to finish reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sociology
Sociology by Anthony Giddens (Paperback - 13 Mar. 2009)
Used & New from: £7.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews