Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book for AS Sociology
Ken Browne's 'Sociology For AS AQA' is an ideal textbook for those embarking on an AS course, particularly if they wish to develop a grasp of sociology in sufficient depth to enable them to make the transition to A2. The text comprehensively covers all the AS modules in the AQA's latest specification, including Culture and Identity, Families and Households, Wealth,...
Published on 21 Sept. 2008 by Tabitha.B

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way too many paragraphs
Came in good condition and everything but there is way too much unnecessary information in this textbook. It just goes on and on and you don't even want to read it any more. Do not recommend to anyone!
Published 18 months ago by Figen Gungor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book for AS Sociology, 21 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Ken Browne's 'Sociology For AS AQA' is an ideal textbook for those embarking on an AS course, particularly if they wish to develop a grasp of sociology in sufficient depth to enable them to make the transition to A2. The text comprehensively covers all the AS modules in the AQA's latest specification, including Culture and Identity, Families and Households, Wealth, Poverty and Welfare, Methods, Education and Health, and includes sections linking education and health to research methods. As it covers the entire specification, it provides choices for both students and teachers, making the book excellent value for money. The book is well organised, and explains involved and complex social issues and theoretical considerations in a clear, concise and easy to read manner, backed up with photos, diagrams, cartoons and activities, and reference to examples drawn from everyday life which students can relate to. This is the 3rd edition of Browne's book and is, in my view, the best version so far, not least because it is now in full colour and has far more illustrations.
It is far superior to his previous textbooks in terms of both its clarity and comprehensiveness, and its ease of access for students, without the dumbing down which the previous review referred to. I fully recommend this text as a real complete companion for students and teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah for a fabulous text book!, 7 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book enough for teachers of Sociology. It fully encompasses the syllabus and has made such a difference to my planning and resourcing. What I really like about Ken Browne is how accessible my students find him and how relevant his examples are. It's so great to have a book that talks about the world as it is now, and he's well researched but also illuminates some difficult areas of the course. I've bought his earlier books and in my opinion he is the best writer for this course that I've read. It's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sociology for AS AQA, 19 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Browne's Sociology for AS AQA is a much awaited update, on what was already an excellent AS text book for Sociology. The use of colour pictures and text is really useful and the interactive websites are a welcomed addition for both teachers and students of Sociology. The activities included provide thought provoking debate and useful summaries of the material. The book simplifies Sociology theory and concepts into easy to read topic areas, and draws on examples from everyday social life. I highly recommend this text to any AS/Access level Sociology student, it's a must have read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and only book that covers the entire new specification, 20 Aug. 2008
By 
A teacher (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
I've been getting myself prepared for teaching the new AS course from September, and have been trawling through the latest batch of textbooks. I reckon Browne is now the best for AS-level, and is really very helpful for both teachers and learners, and is practically the only textbook covering the entire new AQA specification. It does this with flair, and communicates sociological ideas and concepts in a language that is clear, concise and accessible to students without compromising or diluting the integrity of the subject. It has a good depth and breadth of information too, and integrates research methods well with health and education, in keeping with the new AQA specification, and provides a wide range of learner activities to develop understanding. This book also avoids the dumbing down which is particularly evident in the new AQA-approved text, and delivers content that enables students to not only get top grades at AS, but also provides a sound basis for progressing to A2. The associated website is, unlike others, free, and provides some really useful stuff for teachers and students. I've used Browne in the past with my students, and I think this latest version is now the best book on the market. If you're teaching GCSE Sociology, you'll find Browne's 'An Introduction to Sociology' is pretty good as well. An Introduction to Sociology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling Psychology Students!!, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Ithought that this book was great! It is clear and concise and has everything written down in easy and understandable language! It was easy to get to grips with as a mature student returning to study after 17 years!! If your doing this subject either As or A2 level. it's a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sociology for AS AQA, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Kym Y. Rabone (U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
I purchased this book for an AS course. The book arrived after a week and was in immaculate condition. It is a very good textbook with a clear layout and is colourful. I realise that this edition has been revised but I was keen to use the same issue as the tutor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
the book came really quick, the price of it was also very reasonable, the overall condition of the book was pretty good recommended to all sociology student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as described, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Great for reference!
Arrived in good time and of good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Ms J. Roberts "Jean.R" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Great book for anyone new to sociology. Easy to read, concise without too much jargon. The book iteslf isn't too bulky either, handy for lugging around college or Uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way too many paragraphs, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology for AS AQA (Paperback)
Came in good condition and everything but there is way too much unnecessary information in this textbook. It just goes on and on and you don't even want to read it any more. Do not recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sociology for AS AQA
Sociology for AS AQA by Ken Browne (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2008)
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews