Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, regardless of knowledge on the subject matter.
This is a very approachable book, regardless of knowledge on the subject matter. It is refreshing to read an account from someone who has not only studied in great detail middle eastern events of the last century, but who has also lived alongside Palestinian and Israeli people. I notice that reviews to date are scoring either 5 or 1 stars. This marmite split is typical of...
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by A. Sims

versus
47 of 146 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of doctored quotes and lies
This book is a Big Lie. Israel was born of racism AGAINST Jews. Had Israel existed ten years sooner, hundreds of thousands of the Nazis' victims might have been saved. Israel's 20 percent non-Jewish minority has always had equal rights.

The sources are circular, many from known Israel-bashers. Colin Chapman features three times: the author of "Whose Promised...
Published on 8 July 2009 by Jonathan Hoffman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, regardless of knowledge on the subject matter., 29 Jan 2010
By 
A. Sims (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This is a very approachable book, regardless of knowledge on the subject matter. It is refreshing to read an account from someone who has not only studied in great detail middle eastern events of the last century, but who has also lived alongside Palestinian and Israeli people. I notice that reviews to date are scoring either 5 or 1 stars. This marmite split is typical of the opinions put forward at Israeli-Palestinian Debates. I would question how many of the 1 star reviewers have ever spoken to someone of different opinion, with a view to finding a common ground; that is achieving peace for both peoples. I especially like White's proposals for peace, a topic which many shy away from through utter confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview to the situation in both Israel and the Occupied Territories of Palestine, 11 Feb 2010
By 
J. Rider (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction. Those reviewers who say otherwise seem to be speaking from the viewpoint that any criticism of Israel is anti-semitic and should not be listened to. Ben White has concentrated on giving an overview of the history and present situation in Israel and the OPT. He has not gone into great detail. There are examples he gives which could have been far more damning to the Israeli government if he had given more detail. For example, when he is reporting the case of Captain R who killed a 13 year old Palestinian girl and fired 17 bulletts into her body, he does tell us that Captain R was cleared of any wrong doing and was awarded 10,000 and promoted, but ommits all the horrible details which are on a recording (see [...] for a copy ) including the words ""This is commander. Anything that's mobile, that moves in the zone, even if it's a three-year-old, needs to be killed. Over." Anyone here who is objecting that Ben White is giving too negative a picture of Israeli policy towards the Palestinians should read more widely and face up to what has happened in the past and is still happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other reviews, 9 May 2012
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
Having read the book, read the other reviews on the book, spent time in Israel and living and working in a refugee camp in the West Bank, I found Ben's analysis to be concise and factual. I think many of the negative reviews say more about the personal opinions (and the unwillingness to face reality) of the reviewer. Sadly, even with the 67 green line, Israel is a racist and apartheid state. It systematically breaches both international law and Geneva Conventions while the world turns a blind eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one book you need to start learning about Palestine-Israel, 4 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This book is an excellent "guide for the perplexed". It is perfect for those new to the subject. I personally will be buying copies and foisting it on friends and relatives. At the same time I was surprised how much a learned from it (particularly about the Palestinian citizens of Israel).

It is not a history book per say, but it is a highly readable journalistic summary of the main events in the history of the occupation, with a big emphasis on the Nakba (the ethnic cleansing of half the population of the Palestinians from their homeland in 1947-48 by Zionist militias and terrorist gangs). The second half of the book is about the reality on the ground right now. It combines interesting (and often shocking) facts and figures with anecdotes from individual Palestinians on the ground: many of whom were recorded in conversations with White himself.

It is all highly readable and only about 120 pages long. It includes an excellent "Frequently Asked Questions" section, a solid bibliography recommending further reading, and a huge list of action, news and information websites.

The book also avoids the infernal BBC curse of "balance". It is not balanced: it is against occupation, against ethnic cleansing and against apartheid. But at the same time, it is not polemical, and never less than factual and humane.

The book fills a perfect gap. I've lost count of the times people have asked me "can you recommend one book to start learning about Palestine-Israel?" For the first time, I now have a definitive answer.

p.s. White defends his book from Hasbara attacks on his blog (Amazon policy prevents be pasting a link but do a Google search for: "Response to Jonathan Hoffman's article on my book, Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book, 14 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
"What people call impartiality may simply mean indifference, and what people call partiality may simply mean mental activity" (G.K. Chesteron).

Anyone who has invested as much time, intellect and passion into a subject as this author has to the Israel/Palestine issue cannot possibly fail to reach conclusions and to put them forward.

Yet, given the zeal and aggression and blinkeredness of so many who write on this subject, the curious third party seeking the reality could be forgiven for scratching their heads in confusion.

This book is directed at just such a third party. Fortunately for him or her, they find in White not simply considerable intellect, but rare and valued integrity; not simply deep-seated passion, but deeply-held compassion; not simply a search for truth, but a striving for peace; and not an aggressive bias, but a view held with conviction.

What this book does perfectly is give the reader a snap-shot of everyday life for the Palestinian, away from the cameras and the Palestinian rockets and the Israeli tanks. It also draws the reader's attention to an unacceptable reality: one that contravenes international law and is the subject of strong condemnation from human rights groups, governments, and humanitarian organisations alike.

It does not seek to be the last word on the subject, but to uncover for the lay person that which is often overlooked.

Furthermore, its "frequently asked question" section is stunning in its coherence, persuasiveness and well-judged brevity.

What struck me most was learning that in places Jews and Palestinians are working together to resist in a peaceful and non-confrontational way what cannot be rationally denied as a state of apartheid.

This book will anger the closed-minded, but enlighten the curious third party. Buy it. Read it. Analyse it. Then form your own view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
An amazing work. So concise and brief that you can review it quickly, but at the same time it is so rich that you would wish you have few hundred copies to distribute around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overview of the power relationship between the state of Israel and Palestine, 21 July 2009
By 
J. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This book gives a very useful overview of the power relationship between the state of Israel and the Palestinians. It is a timely reminder that Israel's actions against the Palestinians are and always have been deliberate and planned. This important fact can get lost in other writing when it concentrates on details. Thoroughly readable and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ !!, 28 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
It can be seen from the review that many apologists of Israel didn't like the book. Though I very much doubt that they have actually read the book in the first place. I would strongly recommend to read it for everyone and make conclusions for yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging book characterised by passion, integrity and academic rigour, 15 July 2009
By 
Miranda Warner (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This book distills a great amount of research into both the historical underpinnings of the Israeli/Palestine conflict and the current situation into a succinct and readable manner. It also presents on-the-ground experiences of life under Israeli occupation, giving a human face to the facts and figures, and offers balanced responses to contentious issues. Perhaps most importantly this book does not merely paint a picture of a shocking and disturbing reality but also offers the reader opportunities to act and to be a part of the struggle against Israeli apartheid.

At every point White backs up his assertions with well researched evidence, and throughout the book it is clear this his goal is to inform and empower the reader rather than to incite hatred. White's idea of the struggle for peace in Israel/Palestine focuses on equality, justice and human rights for all inhabitants. He writes that seeking an end to the current regime and seeking justice for Palestinians is not
'about wanting to make Israelis feel unwelcome in what is also their home. Put simply, the struggle against Israeli apartheid is about Palestinians having the same rights in the land as Jews do...' How such writing can be considered vitriolic or anti-Semitic is hard to grasp.

This book is a both a balanced presentation of the situation and a call to action. My hope is that many will read it and heed its message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, concise and deeply shocking., 14 July 2009
By 
Micah (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
Please, whatever you do, ignore the shameful 1 star reviews that have appeared so far for this book. Do not be fooled by this woeful zionist propoganda. This book is a stunning piece of work that concisely summarises the Palestinian tragedy. Ben White has clearly gone to great lengths to research and compile the case against Israel and their barbaric government.

The usual insults of anti-semitic are always thrown at people like Ben White but to those of us that look at the situation for what it is, such inane accusations hold no water. I am not an Israeli, nor Jewish nor a Palestinian. All I am is someone who longs for justice, and the Palestinian tragedy demands justice more than anything else. Just a little bit of research, and it is clear that Ben White has done a lot, into the history of Palestine (750,000 Palestinians expelled by 1949 with over 400 Palestinian villages destroyed) reveals the true extent of the etnic cleansing that has occured.

Sir Gerald Kaufman, an MP in the British Parliament, is a Jew and was bought up as a zionist. However in a recent debate in parliament, after explaining that his grandmother had been shot in her bed by a Nazi, he had this to say "My grandmother did not die to provide cover for Israeli soldiers murdering Palestinian grandmothers in Gaza. The present Israeli government ruthlessly and cynically exploits the continuing guilt from gentiles over the slaughter of Jews in the Holocaust as justification for their murder of Palestinians." He conluded that the Israeli government "are not simply war criminals, they're fools."

Read this book with an open mind and you will be left stunned by what has actually happened to an entire nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide
Israeli Apartheid: A Beginner's Guide by Ben White (Paperback - 20 Jun 2009)
8.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews