Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't wait..., 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
After reading all the four Alex Rider books, I was fascinated. I never thought that an ordinary teenager could fight villains for their country, and for the rest of the world. As a kid, we often like to watch "007 James Bond" films and admire how superb an agent could be and how cleverly their gadgets and weapons work. But in the Alex Rider books, he was never given a gun. The interesting point of these books are that how a 14-year-old boy could manage to solve out the whole mystery, fight off the bad guys without firing a single bullet. They also showed that guns and waepons were not really necessary in real life case(as kids often wish to shoot whoever they hate), and that killing is not really suitable for a tennager (Alex Rider never manage to shoot Yassen, he just don't like taking away the life of something lively).
As a new Alex Rider fan, I strongly recommend these books as they were exciting and sometimes humourous, too. And I would also prefer to read the newest book coming up, "Scorpia". It is the following of the story of "Eagle Strike" as the dying Yassen told young Rider the story of his father and persuaded him to go looking for "Scorpia" in Italy. Oooh...just can't wait to see what comes next!(:P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Rider: The Next James Bond, 3 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
These are fantastic books from the acclaimed writer of the ITV1 drama Foyle's War. I'm a huge fan of James Bond but I have to say Alex Rider is far superior to him.
The reasons being are:-
1. He's a teenage spy which I think is well more cool than some middle-aged past it spy like James Bond.
2. He has well more cool gadgets than James Bond like e.g exploding chewing gum, a torpedo dart built into the spine of a Harry Potter book that knocks someone out for 30 seconds and a bicycle with an ejector seat saddle.
3. And finally he has way cooler missions than James Bond like e.g saving the world and his own county every time by;-
(a) stopping some madman setting of nuclear bombs from the U.S Military Defence System.
(b) stopping all the kids in his country being killed by a new type of computer game
(c) rescuing all the famous people in the world's kids from some boarding school on point blanc run by an evil headmaster.
and finally (d) stop Europe being destroyed, by nuclear bombs, by some Russian wanting the Soviet Union to rise up again.
So I thoroughly recommend you buy these books they are well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The action packed Alex Rider set, 15 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
After reading all four books in the Alex Rider series, I am impressed. Anthony Horowitz is an amazing writer. I loved every page of the four books, Stormbreaker, Point Blanc, Skeleton Key and Eagle Strike. They were by far my favorite books. From early on the books captivate you and hold your attention to the very last. Alex, is a good spy, but doesn't enjoy it. Alex is roped into spying for MI6 after the death of his uncle Ian Rider, who mysteriously dies in a car accident. Alex later learns of his uncle's exploits and must follow in his footsteps to avenge the loss of his uncle. He is sent to investigate Herod Sayle, who is producing computers and giving them to schools across England free of charge, in Stormbreaker. Alex is sent to investigate many different cases. In preparation for his missions he is given gadgets that rival those of James Bond. With acne cream, so acidic it burns through metal, and a game boy with four different games that let you scan the room for bugs, and other such games, Smithers, Alex Rider's Q (from James Bond) gives Alex many different gadgets that always prove useful on the missions. All four books are packed with excitement and mystery that keep you wanting more. These four books are an amazing set and make great gifts to children of any age. These are by far the most action packed books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex in action, 2 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
The Alex Rider books is full of suspence. He's like a young James Bond, but much better! These books are not scary, but full of action and you don't always know what's going to happen next. I think the books suit best for 14 year old boys/girls. I have read four books (1-4), I hope the fifth book is coming soon (it's a bit slow here in Norway!) and I hope it's as good as the other four.
Ingvild
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Teenager Spy Hero, 20 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
I am a 15 year old boy. I read the first Alex Rider and could hardly wait for the next 3, which I ordered right away. My 17 year old sister then read the first one, and tried to pinch the others while I was reading them. (very irritating!)
A very exciting story about a sort of teenage 007, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 5 books i've ever read!!!, 2 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
These 5 books soon to become 6 are the very most detailed and interesting books i've ever read. They trigger off emotions and memories every single second. In someways you become in love with the characters and are really upset if anything happens to them. Alex is my favourite character. You feel sorry for him. I mean he's had to go through so much and has been reluctant to do any of it. The one downside is the reviews on the back of the book that say about miniature James bond and every school boys fantasy. I've asked a number of my friends and we've all thoroughly enjoyed the series. I've literally just finished scorpia and was searching to find the date of the release for the next book in the series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These books are great, 28 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
Hey, my name is James and i am a child of thirteen years old. I have read almost all of anthony horowitz's books, i have read all in the alex rider series. I own all of these books and they are all brilliant. I couldnt put any of the down however much i tried. I am an extremely slow reader but it only took me about three days to read each of these books. I have also read all of the nick diamond books, which i highlty recommend. All of the books are very realistic and in all of his adventures, Alex visits a lot of real places and real monuments etc. All of the stories are very believable and the imagery is fantastic, giving you a perfect picture of all of the characters and places in your head. It is easy to get to know the characters and the story may be predictable due to how well you know the characters. Anthony Horowitz is my favourite author and i love every one of the books of his that i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they're great, 29 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
I've read all four books and they are great they are meant for anyone and everyone i've lent them to all my mates and they all enjoyed them. he is a great writer and in can't wait for scorpio to come out. If you ever come across these books its a definate thumbs up. they are about a 14 yr old boy called Alex Rider who discovers theres more to his Uncle Ian Rider than he realises. He also realises even the kindest of people can have another side to them. Alex tackles many challenges and it makes you want to work for the MI5/6. They're great for 12-15 years olds even some adults would enjoy them I no my Mum and Dad did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rider review, 28 Jun. 2004
By 
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
Alex Rider is a 14 year old teenager but when he finds out his uncle is more than he seems his world changes. Alex works for MI6 he is sent first to cornwall where a person called Herod Sayle is making computers for every school in the UK but Alex finds more to the gift. Herod Sayle has put a type of smallpox which will kill children all over the UK as soon as the computers are sent online the smallpox would realease.Whats more is the Prime minister would dop it all and Alex is the only person that can stop him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 1 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Alex Rider (Paperback)
I have read all five of these books. They are very very good. I have never ever come across a boring section in one. it is very hard to put down i once fell asleep still holding one because i didnt want to put it down. These books are a definate thumbs up must buy or else you are a fool!
SO GO SO BUY THIS..... NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alex Rider
Alex Rider by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2003)
Used & New from: £10.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews